We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Geneve Centre

Save Saved
You added Novotel Geneve Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Geneve Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de Zurich 19, Geneva 1214, Switzerland (Pâquis Navigation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #41 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not the best location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is located by the red light district.
Coming out of the hotel u walk a little u see some men standing on the street turns together in pears and otgers on the other side talking to each other. They keep on shifting places, which u feel they are a part of some illegal thing and that makes u feel un secure. As if someone follows u back to the hotel..

Otherwise the hotel inside is good, with nice simple breakfast in the morning u have.

The rooms are clean and beds are ok but pillows can be more comfy.. If upgraded.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are fully aware of the visual effect our location can have on a Geneva visitor.

Nevertheless, our clients’ security is our first concern which is why we constantly work in collaboration with the local police force and have our own security teams.

Every international city has its challenges and we’re happy to notice that our professionalism helped you rise above them. We’re looking forward to having you with us again and we thank you for your comment.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    325
    164
    58
    17
See reviews for
168
136
63
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We Stayed for three night of a family trip and we were overall very happy with the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located close to the main train station and my room had two very good beds. The bathroom is of a good size, with a separate shower and bathtub, with amazing water pressure. Check in was friendly , check out was quick. Free internet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

As we are very dedicated to insure you a pleasant experience we thank you for your comment and hope to see you again soon.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hotel has nice location. 5 minutes’ walk to embankment. Large room. Clean. Good breakfast. Reasonable price. There is no swimming pool but sauna and hammam.
I liked everything except room planning. Toilet is located just at the entrance. It has no sink. To get to the bathroom you should go to the room and turn left. Not very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the relaxation facilities and the Breakfast.

We hope to be able to continue to serve you well on your next visit to Geneva.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for three night of a business trip and was overall very happy with the hotel. The breakfast as excellent, the hotel is conveniently located close to the main train station and my room had a very good bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Whether for business or leisure our goal is to provide you with the best possible hotel experience so you can benefit to the maximum of your stay in our city. We thank you for your comment and hope to welcome you again soon.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

An average hotel conveniently based minutes away from the main train station. As many reviews before me state, the hotel is based in the red light district. During the day, men loiter on the corners of the street. They seem harmless and I was politely acknowledge by them but I can see how this might be off-putting for some people arriving from the station. The ladies seem to come out a little later but again, they seemed harmless. I noticed that they seem to congregate around the left side of the hotel as you walk out of the entrance, so you might avoid them if you turn left.

The staff are all polite, though checkin seemed to take too long (I was already registered with Accor's Le Club loyalty programme and booked online, so it shouldn't have taken more than a minute or two).

The room was fine. I was in room 507, there are stains on the carpet, some mould around the sink and showers, some signs of wear and tear to the furniture but it was ok. The bathroom is of a good size, with a separate shower and bathtub, with amazing water pressure. The bed was fine, if a little firm. The linen is typical of Novotels: clean but not the most comfortable and the pillows felt as if they'd seen better days and could've done with replacing. Throughout the night the heating would click, which was disturbing and there was quite a bit of commotion which could be heard throughout the night from the street outside. I'm assuming it had something to do with the ladies on the corner.

Wifi was free with my room and signal strength was good and speeds were fine for general web browsing.

Breakfast was good. There's a wide selection of fruit, salad, meat, yoghurts, pastries and some hot items. Fresh coffee was nice and the dining area was clean and well looked after by polite and impressive staff.

Unfortunately my key stopped working, not due to a card malfunction but to an incorrect setup on check in. This was frustrating as I got trapped in the lifts! (they require the key card to work).

Check out was very prompt, unfortunately the member of staff failed to ask how my visit was. If only he had, it would've prevented a less than glowing review.

Overall, this is an average hotel which could do with paying attention to some of the finer points.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments, they will allow us to better our performance and help us in our quest to always serve you as best as possible.

We’re glad to notice that - despite a few technical issues that we are currently reviewing - you enjoyed our excellent WIFI connection and had a nice time at breakfast.

We hope to see again soon.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had good time in the Novotel. Good serviсe, kind atmosрhere at the reception desk, good cleaning of the room, fresh breakfast and excellent sauna.
May be I want one tning to be improved: not every pillow is comfortable and new.
Thanks a lot, Yury, Stephan and Marina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall do our best to review the pillows in order to make sure that your next sojourn at our hotel will prove absolutely perfect.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel and we had a good surprise by being upgraded to an executive room (includes soft drinks from minibar and pay per view TV, ...). The staff was nice and competent and the room quite big and clean.
The only problem is that the SPA (sauna and hammam) only opens at 10:00 in the morning which is too late if you want to enjoy it in the morning.
Unfortunately, no swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. For your safety and comfort the spa opens mid-morning so we can offer you the best service which can, sometimes, be an issue for early birds. We hope to see again soon so you’ll be able to enjoy it.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Centre

Address: Rue de Zurich 19, Geneva 1214, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Geneve Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Geneva, close to Lake Geneva and 15 minutes from the UN headquarters. The hotel features 206 rooms, a restaurant, bar and 6 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. In addition to the fitness centre and spa, with relaxation room, hammam, sauna, solarium and massage room, guests enjoy free public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Novotel Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneva
Geneva Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Geneve Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.