We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned, but good location and large rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence St James to your Saves list
Residence St James
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Versonnex, Geneva 1205, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Geneva
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, but good location and large rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Aparthotel has furniture from the 70's, but the good location nearby the lake and the spacious rooms let you forget about the the in-room environement.
Reception lady correct, but not too friendly, which does not surprise in Geneva, where many people dont make you feel welcome, but just " another stupid tourist".
Price wise very ok for the space you get, but renovation of the place badly needed !!

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors, much quieter !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    23
    15
    22
See reviews for
19
29
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were there for a short stay. The room we had was really large although we only booked for a standard double bed room for 2. More like family room as there are 3 beds (fold down beds) at the main room and a small room with another 2 beds. There were no double beds, only singles. bathroom was small but OK. Furnitures were rather old but functioning well. There were big fridge, kettle, kitchen, iron and ironing board. there were complimentary tea and cofee sachets. Room was slightly dusty. The view were back street of another building. For the price, and if you're not fussy, i think it's ok.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is very very terrible hotel, I don't even know why it's considered as 3 star hotel, it should be close and renovated..If you want to stay awake for the whole night because of the noise around your room 360 degrees then this is the hotel you are looking for and very very old rooms and furniture....totally not recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Terrible for me and husband. Old furniture, bathroom dirty, air con not working in summer and noise from main road when window open for fresh air. Staff unhelpful. Stayed one night then had to leave. Lido close and better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, it's in the city center if Geneva and just two minutes walk from the lake, the room size is big and rooms are well equipped, staff are too friendly and helpful.

The only issue with this hotel that's it's old and need to be renew.

I recommend it for every one but select the large studios.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadora, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent location, right in the center of Geneva, across the lake Leman.
In Switzerland, the food is expensive, so the possibility of having a kitchentertte is excellent, but cleaning is not very good. The rooms facing the main street are very noisy: the windows do not have good insulation. The carpets are very dirty; need to be replaced. The internet is free. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Location is superb, a block from the lake, a block from tram and bus lines, 10 minutes walk from the train station. Small kitchenette, everything needed for meals if you desired. Good wifi and hot water. The staff is friendly but english is not their second language, at least none that I met. The room was clean but small, and reasonably quiet for being on a busy street. Bathroom needed a good scrub to attack the mold on the shower walls. All in all, glad I stayed here for my business trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise, or try to get one of the rooms at the back (X6 and X7). Noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Longemalle
Hotel Longemalle
#67 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atel - Calvy
Atel - Calvy
#70 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Metropole Geneva
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cigogne
Hotel de la Cigogne
#18 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Midi Hotel
The New Midi Hotel
#57 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence St James

Address: 3 Rue Versonnex, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence St James 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence St James Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.