We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nightmare Hotel" Totally Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence St James

Save Saved
You added Residence St James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence St James
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Versonnex, Geneva 1205, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 105 hotels in Geneva
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Nightmare Hotel" Totally Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is very very terrible hotel, I don't even know why it's considered as 3 star hotel, it should be close and renovated..If you want to stay awake for the whole night because of the noise around your room 360 degrees then this is the hotel you are looking for and very very old rooms and furniture....totally not recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    19
    17
    20
See reviews for
18
26
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Terrible for me and husband. Old furniture, bathroom dirty, air con not working in summer and noise from main road when window open for fresh air. Staff unhelpful. Stayed one night then had to leave. Lido close and better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, it's in the city center if Geneva and just two minutes walk from the lake, the room size is big and rooms are well equipped, staff are too friendly and helpful.

The only issue with this hotel that's it's old and need to be renew.

I recommend it for every one but select the large studios.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent location, right in the center of Geneva, across the lake Leman.
In Switzerland, the food is expensive, so the possibility of having a kitchentertte is excellent, but cleaning is not very good. The rooms facing the main street are very noisy: the windows do not have good insulation. The carpets are very dirty; need to be replaced. The internet is free. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Location is superb, a block from the lake, a block from tram and bus lines, 10 minutes walk from the train station. Small kitchenette, everything needed for meals if you desired. Good wifi and hot water. The staff is friendly but english is not their second language, at least none that I met. The room was clean but small, and reasonably quiet for being on a busy street. Bathroom needed a good scrub to attack the mold on the shower walls. All in all, glad I stayed here for my business trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise, or try to get one of the rooms at the back (X6 and X7). Noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meirionnydd : Cymru ~ Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Firstly the positives - the location is fabulous, the hotel is clean, we had a massive TV and the staff are friendly and helpful and it is cheap for Geneva. But, this is the kind of place you book if you don't want to spend much time in the hotel.
We booked a room for 2 and we got a bedsit / apartment with 5 single beds. The decoration is very dated and we had a small kitchen which had a filthy oven which I refused to use.
The bathroom was small and cramped and the ceiling was covered in mould. The wardrobes were a bit manky, so I decided to fold my clothes on a shelf next to the bed instead. There was a random sofa by the beds which had no room to sit on because it was so close to the bed. There was no safe and the flimsy door meant I was worried that someone could break in easily, so I took my valuables out with me.
From the exterior it looks like a beautiful hotel, but inside it was more like apartments than a hotel, and I think there were people living in some of the other rooms. Perhaps we had particularly noisy neighbours, but we could hear all their conversations and my friend was awoken every night by the noise they made.
But, if you want somewhere cheap and close to the sights and centre of Geneva, then this is a decent option for what you pay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I were very satisfied with this hotel. It was very cheap comparing to other hotels in the city and location is great. Small kitchen in the room allows you to cook and it's fully equipped. There are 2 supermarkets just round the corner,turn left from the hotel and then second left again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence St James

Also Known As:
Residence St James Hotel
Residence St James Geneva
Address: 3 Rue Versonnex, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 105 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence St James 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HostelWorld so you can book your Residence St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.