We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Rue Rothschild, Geneva 1202, Switzerland (Le Prieuré)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Geneva is expensive and especially when there is a major conference like EBACE. Leaving price aside, the hotel and the service is truly excellent. This is not a 3 star hotel, but certainly at par (from service and room amenities) like any other 4 star hotels. Location is excellent and again service is friendly and very efficient. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    112
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
32
98
24
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We only stayed one night before leaving from Geneva airport. The hotel is very centrally located and convenient to everything. It is a nice hotel with very comfortable beds, our room was very clean, looked recently updated/renovated and was an ok size, not very tiny like we've seen in so many other European hotels. The only thing to watch out for is that in case you have a car Parking is extra and fairly expensive (cost us 30 swiss franks in 2010), while the garage is around the block.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a super hotel, but with some reservations which are not the hotel's fault at all.
It is a 10 minute walk from the station and is not in the best part of town although only a short walk back from the lake. It is a bit over-designed with an Eastern theme, but extremely comfortable, clean, nice bathroom, coffee, kettle, free wi-fi, etc.
The receptionist was charming and incredibly helpful. The hotel gives you a free transport pass for your stay, so I took the tram and bus back to the airport in the morning for my meeting. The receptionist wrote out the tram and bus numbers and almost walked me to the tram stop.
On check out, I had mislaid my boarding pass and the receptionist let me use her computer to print a new copy - a novel experience as her computer was set up in Turkish!

The reservations? This is a noisy city - even on the 5th floor, the street noise was pretty bad - there's a taxi rank opposite the hotel and the drivers shouted at each other into the small hours. The locals seem to still practice yodelling as a means of communication (sorry to the Swiss, but the constant shouting in the street was amazing). And that's when the boy racers took over with their Ferraris howling up and down the lakeside until 2 in the morning.

So, super hotel, but a noisy city centre location in an area that is a bit threatening with gangs on street corners and ladies of the night a couple of streets away (OK, I need the exercise).

I haven't mentioned the cost of Geneva. The minibar has a 50g Toblerone for £4. Also - see separate review of Little India Restaurant - this is one very expensive town!

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is very noisy - even with the windows closed. No noise between rooms though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in an executive room with our 2 children on a sofa bed. The room was nice, spotless and had extra features like a Nespresso machine, fast wifi and a very good choice of satellite television channels (very important with the kids). The rooms were a reasonable size and very quiet. The location was also quite good- about a 10 minute walk from the train station.
Breakfast was very nice with a large selection of breads, cold meats, yoghurts and fruits as well as eggs and sausages. When you consider how expensive Geneva is (VERY!!) then this hotel was great value.
A big thank you to Ruyman at the front desk who was always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A warm welcome awaited when I checked in for a 3 night stay in March 2013. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Staff are attentive and polite. Was offered a choice of rooms - front or back. Chose back but sure either would have been fine. Room was immaculate. Very quiet. Perfect. Only improvement would be a kettle instead of the esspresso machine, however that is a minor niggle - everything at the hotel was great. Breakfast a little on the expensive side for what you you get - but the same could be said about Geneva on the whole! Location is great, an easy 10 minute walk from main station. And even less (5 mins) to the lake. Great. I would highly recommend this hotel and this is where I will stay again if ever I go back to Geneva.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The first room we were given absolutely STANK of smoke, even in the bathroom. Given that all rooms are non-smoking, (there is a sign on the door and in the room), we were not impressed. We went to complain and were told it would be sorted. A cleaning lady duly arrived armed with a can of air freshener!! We were not impressed! We asked for a different room, but were told they were all taken...we went out for a walk and came back to see if the room smelt any better, but no. I checked on the website and saw that the hotel was advertising rooms for that very night.Mmmmm. We went to complain again, and, hey presto, a cancellation had occurred!! We were given an executive suite, which was smoke free and well appointed. I paid for a non-smoking room and that is what I expected. A shame as this hotel is well located and great value for an expensive city. A pity our experience was not better...we were only in Geneva for one night for my birthday celebration, the hotel knew this and I expected better treatment. I hope the hotel contacts the previous guest who obviously thought it was acceptable to ignore all the rules and ruin this room for all...they should be sent a very large dry cleaning bill.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Relatively good value hotel in Geneva - which tends to be very expensive. A small boutique hotel, closer to the UN end of town than the centre (which can be quite convenient). It is modern, well appointed with a slight Asiatic element in the foyer etc. The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and with everything you'd expect and in the right places. The staff are efficient and helpful. The serve-yourself breakfasts are good with a decent variety of high quality fruit etc. The hotel is a short walk to Geneva's excellent tram system and the hotel provides a card that gets you free use of public transport. Hard to fault.

Room Tip: Away from the street as some late night revelry can cause intrusive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva

Address: 55 Rue Rothschild, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Le Prieuré
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Geneva
#15 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the principles of Feng Shui, an ancestral Chinese science which strives to optimise the flow of energy, the Hotel Jade offers a soothing experience of revitalising tranquility in the heart of the city! Just steps away from the lake. 47 air-conditioned rooms and junior suites. Mini bar, interactive TV. WiFi, Internet connection and Business centre, free of charge. Laundry. Car park. Free public transport card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.