We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Rue Rothschild, Geneva 1202, Switzerland (Le Prieuré)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I believe it is difficult to find a hotel in Geneva with a good price/value ratio, that was the reason we chose this hotel. Were not disappointed though, the hotel is nice, rooms are new and clean, friendly staff...I still found it a little bit expensive for what it is but I guess that's just Geneva. Overall I would recommend this hotel for it's good location, nice rooms and very good breakfast. I would stay here again if I have to visit Geneva in the future.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the street but was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    111
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
97
24
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shiraz, Iran
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Jade for 3 nights. we ran into series of complications in our first contact with the front desk manager! The room was clean but smell very bad. The air conditioning system was not functioning very well. There were something wrong with free wireless that the signals were not stream ..
Overally we really had expected more than what it really was!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We thank you for your comment. Sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations. Your feedback is important to us so that we can improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Jade Manotel in Geneva and loved it.
Coming for a 20h Trip from Hong kong via Paris, we were pleasantly surprised to get a room early inten morning, right on our arrival.
The service was very friendly and efficient, the decoration great, contemporary with an Asian feel.
The ammenities are modern and well maintained. There is a small but pretty garden with a deck to have breakfast in the morning at the back of the hotel.
The hotel is located a few steps away from the lake side so very convenient but also being not directly on the lake shore, cheaper than most places in Geneva which was very welcome given the price of an average meal in this city.
Wifi was also free and parking was available and car rental agencies a stone throw away.
Air conditioning was much appreciated and the standard room is already very spacious with a small lounge area.
Breakfast was delicious with fresh pastries (best croissants we have had in a long time and we are French nationals) fruits, espresso machine for coffee lovers etc...
Very family friendly as well as far as we could tell as we saw a few during our stay.
Overall a great stay and we would not hesitate to warmly recommend this hotel to any of our friends and family wanting to make a visit to Geneva.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back facing the garden, it is very peaceful and the view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E.Business Manager at Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We thank you for your nice feedback and recommendation for your hotel Jade. We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked the Jade as a result of reviews on Tripadvisor, even though some were negative. Overall it seemed to have good reviews for the price.

We decided to go for an executive room as it was slightly bigger and this review should be based on that. We didn't see a standard room so can't comment on that.

The hotel is a short walk from the railway station - 10 to 15 minutes. It took us a while to find our bearings. So if you have heavy bags, can't walk far or easily get lost then either get a taxi or a tram. The trams are very easy to use they stop right outside the station - you need to get the no 15 heading for "Palais". Go for 2 stops only and the hotel is 2 minutes back towards the station. We had a free travel card from the airport that's valid for 90 minutes that covered the tram. Though we were never checked for tickets on trams or trains. They have a very relaxed attitude to transport. The hotel will give you a free travel card upon checkin which will cover you for free city travel during your stay.

The hotel is down a side street. The area is typical 70's concrete so can be a little drab. We didn't walk the area at night but we always felt safe. The Youth Hostel is just down the street so I wouldn't expect any hassle. We went in a couple of local shops for supplies and the staff were all very helpful.

The hotel itself looks nice from the outside.

We checked in hours before the 3pm check in time. No problem. The reception staff were very helpful, tolerated our poor French and then dropped into good English!! The staff couldn't have been more helpful throughout.

The room was well fitted out, clean, modern and roomy. The air conditioning worked but struggled a little at times but it was 34C outside so that's to be expected.
Nice twin beds pushed together and a nice sofa to watch the well equipped TV from. Lots of channels in all languages. The free wifi worked fine in the room as well.
The bathroom was well fitted and clean. Our our problem was that the shower sprayed around a bit maddly!
We didn't have breakfast - we decided to have breakfast sitting out in the old town which is much more fun and better value. There's a covered area out the back of the hotel where you can sit or have breakfast. We didn't eat there in the evening, not sure that they even have a restaurant, though they do give a 15% discount at their other city hotel restaurants so you get the impression that it's best to eat elsewhere in the evening. To be honest there are lots of great places to eat out in Geneva town itself. We ate twice at Buvette des Bains des Pâquis which is nearby and gives a great view of the Lake and is cheap.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We thank you to have taken the time to give a detailed and postive comment about our hotel Jade. We will forward it to our staff and would be very happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were only in Geneva for one night, but that night was very pleasant thanks to Hotel Jade. The staff were very accommodating, the rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable, and the amenities nice. Breakfast was also nice, and included all of the basics (sausages, eggs, cheese, cold-cuts, bread, coffee, etc.).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, its staff, rooms and amenities. We hope to welcome you back in our hotel for your next stay in Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A couple of general points regarding Geneva. Firstly Geneva isn't big; most areas are in walking distance, and there is a very good tram service if your legs get weary. Also, Geneva is expensive.

The Jade is listed as a three star hotel: what do you want from a three star hotel, if you're just staying in a city for a weekend break? I would suggest proximity to the sites and a good bed at a reasonable cost.

Proximity isn't really of concern here: the lake is a 10 minute walk and within 20 minutes you can be in the (more interesting) old part of the city. So, the Jade is fine. And a good bed? The hotel was clean, efficient and friendly. The room was a good size (not huge) but a good size; the bed was comfortable and the bathroom more than adequate. The room was absolutely short of nothing. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - even helping me out when - like a complete buffoon - I lost my free ticket (provided by the hotel) for travel on the local tram, train & bus services.

The cost, 200 CHF per night (approx. £135) was fair, when compared with other hotels.

I have stayed in hotels purporting to be four star which were inferior to the Jade..

Geneva itself is OK, it lacks the history of, say, Rome or the art and sophistication of Florence or the exuberance of Barcelona. But it's OK for a weekend; just not too much to get excited about.

Should I return to Geneva I would happily stay at the Jade; and can recommend it wholeheartedly.

Unfortunately, I fell foul of circumstances which must be pretty unique to Geneva (compared to most European capital cities) many shops and sites are closed on Sunday & Monday - so as those were the days we were there I couldn't visit the one thing I wanted to (The Patek Philippe museum); so, I'm afraid the entire experience has left me feeling just a bit flat.

Shame really, I was really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback about your last stay in Geneva and for your recommendations. We hope to see you again very soon at the Jade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Hotel was an easy find. About 10 - 15 minutes walk from the main train station with huge luggages. As with all other tourists staying with the hotel, we were given the Geneva Transportation Card, making all tram, buses and 3 boatlines rides free! There is a tram station near the Hotel about 1.5 minutes walk. Tram ride is about 3 - 5 minutes to the main train station.

We stayed at the room next to the lift just above the small stairs when approaching from the reception. Initially, we thought it was quite weird for a room location but that did not bother us too much, as we couldn't hear any noise outside the door during our stay.

The room was very pleasant! Very spacious with great amenities. Toilet was very spacious too! The only negative point about the toilet was the bath tub, where there was no shower curtains to block the water from spraying out of the bath tub area, but this seem to be quite a norm in Europe, oh wells!

The air con was strong, perfect for us! We have no other complains about the room and totally enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, E-Business Manager at Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We warmly thank you for your feedback and would be very happy to welcome you back next time you are in Geneva!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva

Address: 55 Rue Rothschild, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Le Prieuré
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Geneva
#15 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the principles of Feng Shui, an ancestral Chinese science which strives to optimise the flow of energy, the Hotel Jade offers a soothing experience of revitalising tranquility in the heart of the city! Just steps away from the lake. 47 air-conditioned rooms and junior suites. Mini bar, interactive TV. WiFi, Internet connection and Business centre, free of charge. Laundry. Car park. Free public transport card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.