We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud but comfortable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral Geneva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Rue Pellegrino Rossi, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Pâquis Navigation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loud but comfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The room itself was quite comfortable but the walls were quite thin and between our neighbouring room chatting into the small hours and leaving their TV on all night and the sounds from the res light district outside it was hard to get a good quality sleep.

On the plus side it was easy to get to and from for transport and close to the lake.

Wifi was available but did not reach the room well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    153
    68
    25
    17
See reviews for
19
123
52
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is off the red light district, so seeing some women of the night is likely. Also it is a bit loud at night outside as it is a bustling area at night. However it was perfectly safe as the Red Light area of Geneva is tame compared to most cities. It was worth the cheaper price over similar hotels.

The rooms are reasonable. Nothing fancy, but comfortable enough. The hotel is quite small, but they had computers free to use and the reception tried to help out with all needs.

Unfortunately the air conditioner broke. The night receptionist tried her best to fix it including calling up her manager late at night and getting out a set of tools, although she was unsuccessful. I am glad she tried her hardest, but this is what you get with small hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel Admiral is excellently located, within walking distance to the lake (around 3 mins) and the main train station. Geneva is very expensive, so you are lucky to get a decent hotel with the location and breakfast included. We paid around 85 euros for one night. This is not by any means a luxurious hotel, but has everything you need, a comfortable bed, TV, mini bar, free wi-fi, nice bathroom and clean towels. The room was incredibly hot, with an air conditioning unit that didn't function greatly... but Geneva is just a very hot and sweaty (humid) place in the summer so maybe not the fault of the hotel. This place is basic but comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night in April 2010 after driving from Spain through France and then a detour into Switzerland. There isn't a lot of parking near the Hotel so I dropped my partner off to book in while I looked for somewhere to park. So I am driving round a Red Light District ( yes I know what your thinking ) while my wife has booked in and is waiting for me on a street corner ( I know I know ) doesn't look good does it. However once I had found a parking space and met up with my partner we went to our room for a nap before hitting the town. We walked for miles trying to find a restaurant that wasn't fully booked without success so we headed back to the Hotel only to find a really good Restaurant directly opposite. To this day whenever we ask each other what is the best meal we have ever had and where it is this restaurant we both come up with. Shame is we can't remember the name of it. We loved it here and would return again if ever we are in Geneva.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Jamal B, Manager at Hotel Admiral Geneva, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to read from you a delayed review and we hope to host you again in our property
The restaurant located in front of the hotel is named " La certitude "

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I visited Geneva several times and each time stay in different hotel. Hotel Admiral is the best from all that I was before. Friendly staff on reception, rich breakfest, free WiFi, air conditioned rooms, good location near rail station. Good choice for short business visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked this hotel like a few hours prior to reach Geneva... Reading several reviews we were not too sure what to expect as Paquis area has also shabby hotels... It is the red quarter area of Geneva !
Our 3 night stay in Hotel Admiral was a nice experience, much nicer than expected as we only pay 260 Euros (for 2 people with breakfast included), got a twin bed room on a high floor. The room was ok, not very large, but with clean bedsheets and towels, a kettle and tea bags, a small TV. There was no air con, so we had to sleep with our window open at night while we could hear people talking in the street or clients in the opposite restaurant... with ear plugs, the nights were just fine.
Breakfast buffet was small but very complete, more than many 3-star hotels in Europe; croissants, bread, cheeses, ham, turkey, smoked salmon, fresh fruits, yogurts, tea, coffee, chocolate, jam, toasts, orange, apple juices...
Of course, we cannot compare with a Palace Hotel, but for the price, it was a good deal.
The elevator is small, TV program is poor, internet wifi is free and works, the reception staff was ok, even helpful with public transportation, late check out, etc.
So we definitively plan to stay there again when we are in Geneva.

Room Tip: Ask for an elevated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Jamal B, Manager at Hotel Admiral Geneva, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for having stayed with us and for your constructive review,

Please note that each room in our property has its own air conditioner, in fact the A/C is behind the curtains and its remote control is in the drawer.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you among us in a near future

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

On the plus side this hotel is centrally located for the train station and the sights of Geneva. On the down side both our rooms faced on to the street at the front of the hotel which was extremely noisy. As a result I found it very difficult to sleep. The hotel itself is OK but dated and I am afraid did not live up to the reviews. Breakfast is worth a mention as that was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Geneva

Address: 8 Rue Pellegrino Rossi, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel, recently renovated, perfect central location, all rooms non smoking with air condition and free Wi-Fi wireless internet. A rich buffet breakfast is included in the price as well as all tax and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Admiral Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.