We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Flacon

Le Flacon
Rue Vautier 45, Geneva 1227 Carouge, Switzerland
022 342 15 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 1,251 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. The service however was quite slow and overall not very attentive like you would expect in a restaurant of this caliber. We had to ask a few times to get menus and drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, let down by amateurish service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was really looking forward to this meal, but service was utterly appaling (and not just given their Michelin status).

The restaurant looks charming from the outside, and the open-kitchen layout is rare in Geneva and lends it a clean, metropolitan feel. So far so good.

After about 15 minutes of waiting however, we still hadn't been offered a menu. After asking twice to see the menu, they were brought over and handed out rather apathetically and the waiter left quickly (we practically had to beg for him to take our order afterwards).

So fine, service was going to be slow, we could tell. But we literally waited 45+mins between starter and main (not a crisis in itself, but normally a waiter would come and check on you once or twice surely?).

I basically think the restaurant is understaffed. Maybe some of the waiting staff were sick? But my gut feeling is that they're just not very professional waiters (something that many restautants in Geneva lack).

Anyway, the FOOD. The food was actually quite inventive (with a focus truffles), and presentation was definitely up to Michelin standard. We ate the beef millefeuille; the mackerel; the pork belly, and the chicken. Each one was excellent (although favorites were the beer millefeuille and the pork belly). Pork Belly was served with possibly the best potato puree I've ever tasted (light and fluffy, it had an almost foamy quality).

So there we have it. Decor and food are terrific, but the whole thing was let down by amateurish service.

I would recommend trying it though, just in case the waiting staff were indeed having a difficult night (or staff shortages). If you go in not expecting the service to be brilliant, you'll probably have a very good meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, SWI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Service needs improvement.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My sister ate at Le Flacon a week prior to my visit and had said that the service seemed slow e.g. booked for 9pm and left at almost midnight after having only a 3-course menu. Anyhow, she said the food was good and we put the long night she had down to perhaps a one-off experience. Sadly, I don't think it was. We also booked a table for 9pm. Upon arrival, the restaurant was heaving with waiters buzzing frantically around. At first our reservation couldn't be found but eventully I was able to make it out on a rather untidy scribbled map of tables. Unfortunately, there were people still seated at the table and looked like they were in no hurry to leave so we were invited to stand at a little bar towards the restrooms. At 9.40pm when I was about to give up the will to live in my 6inch heels, we were eventually led to a table - a different table - and it was 9.55pm when we got the menus to peruse. I think an hour in any restaurant before getting a sniff of a menu is a bit much. Surely while we were waiting at the small back bar we could have been looking at one there?
Anyhow, the food I have to admit was indeed good. Well presented, well seasoned, delicious. Full marks on that score. Thoroughly enjoyable. And getting a glimpse into the action is the kitchen very interesting. BUT - as was my sister's complaint - the pause between courses was just far too long. Hard to understand where the problem lies; the menu is extremely short, there were numerous chefs in the kitchen so kitchen staffing would appear not to be the problem, and the waiting staff in a constant state of "high alert" trying to get things done as fast as possible. Albeit the food lovely, the main impression I came away with was that it all seemed a little disjointed and not a smooth operation - half my time was spent eating a basket of dry bread and staring longingly into the kichen wondering "is that ours coming out now??" Shame. (Also, we were not offered our aperitif for the 40min delay in getting seated. A lot could have been forgiven or off-set against a simple gesture like that).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Loved the atmosphere. Truffle season and they had some great truffle options. Started with foie gras Bonbons then Rouget both dishes tasted great and really well presented. Service was also excellent definitely pricey but not unusual for Geneva and if you love great food worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must when you visit Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Serge Labrosse is at his best! Despite a limited menu the food is inspired, the ingredients remarkably cooked and the presentation faultless.

The service is good , unfortunately the wine list is very limited and there is something about their cutlery !

But once again the food is divine, when the Guru is at work!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Flacon also viewed

Carouge, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Le Flacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Flacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.