We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vietnamese food in Geneva!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bat Dat

Bat Dat
Boulevard Saint-Georges 71, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 1,251 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
geneva
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese food in Geneva!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I walk by this restaurant most evenings on our way home but we never thought to stop and have a meal...until tonight! Food was excellent and staff was very pleasant. Highly recommended to all lovers of flavorful Vietnamese Food. A must try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I really had a craving for pho so I deliberately checked the reviews and took some time to go here a the restaurant was difficult to find as it was actually back of the building and so I had to walk around the block or so. The decor of the restaurant is lovely, bright, and quaint. I ordered pho and my friend had the plate of the day. The pho really lacked depth and flavor. I have had better pho at other restaurants much cheaper. The plate of the day sounded better than it looked. The beef was too salty and the salad was wimpy looking. The food was not so stupendous that I would not go back. Also did not like being charged 2 CHF for tap water. Most restaurants do not do this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Délicieuse cuisine vietnamienne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Super restaurant. Very good spring rolls. Beef minute is sumptuous (meat of choice). Customers are very welcome for over 10 years. One of the best addresses in Geneva.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent and authentic Vietnamese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We are a family living in Geneva (and we have visited VietNam a number of times) and love to eat at this restaurant as often as we can, it is one of our favorites in Geneva. They cook real and exquisite vietnamese food, using quality ingredients, like one of the best beef meat from Switzerland. The prices are not cheap but in line with the quality. They prepare traditional and delicious Vietnamese recipes, and not cheap chinese food as you can find it in some other restaurants that call themselves Vietnamese and thus create a confusion.
The neighbourhood is not particularly dangerous, i have to disagree with another review on this. Only the parking is a problem in the area.
I recommend Bat Dat warmly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food and Vietnamese experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food is great whatever you choose. If eating at lunch the "a la carte" dishes shall satisfy you more than the daily offer. Do try the "soupe tonkinoise", again à la carte, this is outstanding! The staff change often and rarely speak french, but you get your message through and the dishes ordered are the right ones! Think to reserve as this is a popular place. In summer there is a small terrace outside, but be aware it is partially in the shade so clothing must be appropriate. Do try this restaurant if looking for an exotic meal and do not wish for Thaï or Chinese. This is quite different and very tasty. The location is in the middle of town, close to the art galeries district and other art Museum (MAMCO), so it could be your lunch stop when visiting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bat Dat also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Bat Dat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bat Dat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.