We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Longemalle” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Longemalle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Longemalle to your Saves list
Hotel Longemalle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, place Longemalle, Geneva 1204, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Longemalle”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I second what other people say - this hotel struck me as rather more style over substance.

Plus points:
- good location
- staff very friendly
- from the smell of paint in communal areas I think some bits are being redone.
- wifi worked well when I was there.
- Room was very clean (although some of the communal areas very dusty after the painting work).

Downsides:
- very little soundproofing
- I too had one of the bedrooms which looks out straight onto a wall.
- Little choice at breakfast
- No safe in the room (they have one at reception which resembles Fort Knox, great for your jewels, not so great if you just want to stash your laptop whilst you have breakfast).
- No tea and coffee making facilities in the room (as a Brit this is a big issue!!!)
- Unable to provide me with an iron, they expect you to use their hugely expensive ironing service. Very kindly said I could borrow the hotel's only iron, but after waiting an hour I gave up.
- Was very overdecorated but on closer inspection done very much on the cheap - flimsy net curtains in horrible polyester, wobbly tables etc.
- Took quite a lot of wrangling and discussion between the staff to find me a non-smoking room, so beware they are likely to give you a smoking room by default.

My overwhelming impression was that you pay £200+ per night here for something less than a Travelodge/Premier Inn in the UK would provide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
7
19
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night to explore Geneva. The location is excellent, perfect for exploring the old town, shopping and the lake area. The staff was very friendly and treated all guests very nicely. The rooms are very charming, with antiques and a very comfortable bed. It was extremely warm and they had put air conditioning units in all the rooms which you don't often find in older hotels. I would absolutely stay there again. Some reviews claim the rooms are small, I prefer to,say charming. And in terms of value for money for a large city in Switzerland I would say it was outstanding.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Let's start with the good bits: The location is really excellent, honestly slap-bang in the heart of the city, short walk to the lakeshore and perfectly located for a stroll around the luxury boutiques. Still not too noisy, good enough for a decent rest. Also, the exterior of the hotel is pleasant - beautiful classic building.

The public areas also do have their charme, I suppose, albeit they seem to me already riding the very thin line between timeless classic and plain outdated. Style-wise, certainly more advisable for the overseas vacationer on a cultural tour of Europe than for the business traveller from neighboring countries (also since the WiFi available was next to useless). Breakfast was okay, albeit lacking a bit of variety.

But - big, big but. I know, by Geneva standards, this is not the most expensive hotel, but still, this place will set you short of around 300 Euros, and for that price, what you get here, with all due respect, is pure insolence. I gather from the other reviews that the quality of rooms fluctuates a bit. Mine was actually quite sizable, but the condition the room was in was a bit of a shock - paint flaking off the walls, bed chipped, lamp shades barely clinging on to the lamps, seriously cold draft from the window. The bathroom looked like it had not been updated since the '70s (yes, including those lovely '70s bathroom colors - some may consider that classic...), with chipped tiles in the shower and God knows what kind of grease on the shower door. The room was clean enough at a casual glance, but I was brave enough to touch the top of the wardrobe once - inch-thick layer of dust. Wow.

Staff wasn't much help, either - when I complained about the room, the succinct reply was that there were no other rooms available. Next morning, they failed to arrange a taxi as asked, and until this date I have also not received my loyalty bonus miles, which I had asked them to arrange. Proper failure across the board.

In fact, I do think the place does have a certain charme - reminded me of those eerie, faded-glory hotels you sometimes encounter in former colonial cities, where the old grand hotels rot away while the business community has moved on to steel and glass. Thing is, though - for this type of charme, you usually pay, say, 30 Euros, and not 300. For this price, the condition is simply outrageous.

Room Tip: Since sizes seem to vary considerably, be sure to pay attention to this - if you should decide to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had booked tickets for the fireworks display and this hotel was a five minute walk which made it very convenient. The attractive exterior and lobby area made the hotel seem grander than it is. Our room on the fifth floor had a small balcony (a couple of chairs wouldn't have gone amiss) overlooking the 'square' and to your right the lake, so a nice view. The room was furnished with old mismatched furniture, some of it painted. Actually, I found it quite charming but the room was very small with an equally small bathroom, though it did have a bath. There's no sound insulation - I thought my partner had entered the room, when I realised it was the chap next door just moving around. And there really is no toaster at breakfast! There's an egg boiling machine but no toasty goodness to go with your egg. We paid around £150 per night - c'est trop cher n'est pas - which included breakfast but that was nothing to write home about. The staff were very pleasant, though I felt sorry for the man at breakfast who was rushing around trying to do ten things at once. I wouldn't stay here again, not because it was ghastly - it wasn't - but for that sort of money I think you can do better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A fairly affordable hotel for Geneva standards, the main quality is its location, in Geneva's shopping area. Everything else is fair, though not above average.
Rooms are fairly comfortable, though small, service fairly good, breakfast fair.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Unbeatable location, in the heart of Geneva.
Upon arrival, I was assigned a very small single room, with a "fraction" of a window. As I was not satisfied, the following day I was given a proper room! So beware, rooms there can be tiny!
Apart from this poor start, the only other problem I faced was that the air-conditioning system in this hotel is unusual. The equipment is placed inside the room and the unit automatically turns off when a water container is filled with the condensed water. Therefore, I had to keep calling maintenance assistance to empty the water container.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small and "quaint" but comfortable. There was no view from the window ( opened close to a wall) -upside of this was it was very quiet at night. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very average, but served in a pleasant room overlooking the street. Best feature was the location- very central, and easy walk to the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Longemalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longemalle

Address: 13, place Longemalle, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Longemalle 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Longemalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longemalle Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Longemalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.