We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Route de Pre-Bois, Geneva 1215, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Osprey, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We found this hotel to be a perfect fit for our needs! We arrived by train and there was a transport van at the adjacent airport to pick us up and take us (3 min) to the hotel. We used the transport to go into Geneva for dinner. The room was spacious, clean, nice bathroom, and air conditioned! We did not get to have the breakfast, but the transfer van did operate it's first run at 5:45 to get us to the airport for a 6:55 flight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    238
    160
    52
    16
See reviews for
70
156
68
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed with my sister at the Holiday Inn for 4 nights. It was very convenient to the Geneva airport. There was a free hotel shuttle that picked us up at the airport and brought us to the hotel. (Our only complaint about the shuttle was that it didn't run every 20 minutes like the sign said; it was more like every 30 to 35 minutes). The hotel itself had a friendly, English-speaking staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a free computer with Internet access you could use in the lobby and the wireless was free in the lobby, as well. We were able to get a free pass for public transportation from the hotel so we didn't have to pay for a bus pass. The hotel was near a bus station and we were easily able to take the bus into the city.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Good location just out of town but were given ticket for free use of the tram. Free car-parking which was a bonus. Good variety for breakfast. Very helpful man on the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandern, Germany
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel is what you would expect from Holiday Inn Express. The disadvantage of the place is that there is no direct bus into town, and you have to change at the airport or the Nations Unies. The bus service is during time on a 15' basis, at night and weekends it is even less.The area is the airport, border area and not much happening there. A place to avoid if you have business in town.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I had a lifetime terrible experience in Holiday Inn Express hotel Geneva.This hotel is near to airport and they provide free shuttle from airport to hotel.But the staffs are inexperienced and not well mannered.I stayed here during my Switzerland trip for a night and at night me and my wife found that AC is not working properly and the room temperature was so high.After calling the reception,the staff refused to come and check first.Then he came to our room and said open the door and window and sleep!!I didn't expect this solution from Holiday Inn Express!!That staff even refused so say his name!No other staff was available in that hotel at night!A sleepless night..... nobody care for customer's happiness in this hotel. Better to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Geneve
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Aside from that, I guess the tidyish rooms (with practically no electrical sockets) are ok if you're happy living in a plastic shell in the middle of nowhere in a depressing industrial estate next to an airport.

The hotel seems to employee exactly one employee, who's in charge of reception, those weird internet tickets (which must be handed over by hand, simply handling the credentials over the phone is against their religion).

Finally, there's obviously no room service, no restaurant and the Japanese place next door seems to be closed 4 nights out of 7.

Would I stay again? Well if the other option was to slowly die from some kind of stomach cancer, then maybe yes.

It's too shiney and clean to be called a dive, but that's what it is.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

It is close to the airport, so it is convenient. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are no frills, so don't expect any. But you get a free shuttle to and from the airport. You also get a free city bus pass; very handy in an expensive city. Plus, you get free breakfast. No, there are no jets flying inches from your window. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport

Address: 16 Route de Pre-Bois, Geneva 1215, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Express By Holiday Inn Geneva Airport. Ideally located next to the Geneva Airport and Palexpo Congress Centre, the hotel is only 15 min from City Centre and Lake Geneva: Free transportation ticket available at reception. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport every 20 min. from 05.50am to 11.30pm. Start your day with our free continental buffet breakfast, served every morning from 06.30am to 10am. Companies in our direct neighborhood: Jet Aviation-Tag Aviation-Skyguide-Eli Lilly-Cambridge-Charmilles-TCS-IBM-Lexmark-IATA-Dell. With its fast, efficient and convivial service at very attractive prices, the Hotel Express by Holiday Inn Geneva Airport has a bar, a lobby with free Wireless Lan access, television, a business centre with internet access (charge), a breakfast room, two meeting rooms and an underground and external carpark (CHF15/24 hours). All our rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower and separate toilet, a working desk, high speed internet access (CHF 10/day), a telephone, an interactive television set and a tea and coffee maker. Within few minutes walking distance, you will find various restaurants, a fitness centre, a casino and a shopping mall Our friendly reception staff is at your disposal if you need to rent a car or if you want to buy a city tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Geneva Airport Hotel Geneva
Holiday Inn Geneva Airport
Geneva Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.