We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel the heart of Geneva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Alleves

Save Saved
You added Hotel d'Alleves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel d'Alleves
Rue du Cendrier 16, Geneva 1211, Switzerland (Saint-Gervais Les Bergues)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 104 hotels in Geneva
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel the heart of Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel "Hotel D'Allèves" is for those who prefers the location and a moderate rate and who are unpretentious. Perfect location, excellent Pizzeria right next to the hotel which made me feel that I am in Milano not Geneve. An excellent wine bar by the lake less than 300 meter from the hotel and much more.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms facing south, much quieter traffic although that area is generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
12
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed at d' Alleves on almost all my visits to Geneva since 1973... 100 visits if not more.
I would say that d'Alleves with its less than 50 rooms is a big boutique hotel...and it was well before the term was invented. Patiently, the now gone Mr d' Alleves did collect a great number of paintings and ancient carpets which you will find in the corridors and in each room. Everything is very nice even the paintings on the ceiling is some rooms.
All rooms are quite nice even though different in shape. The breakfast is very good.
Of course , being nostalgic I felt sorry no longer to find the reception on the side of the little tree shaded piazza at the back of the hotel. But I should not complain. The new reception is very nice and the staff very efficient.
So why not five stars ? Well I will revert to 5 stars instead of 4 when they replace the Jack Daniels and the Johnie Walker Red label in the minibar. OK they can keep the Jack Daniels , but please get rid of the Red Label. I have not met anybody lately who does not consider it as one of the worst whiskies . Let's wake up. The sixties are gone, and the Red Label should be gone too except in motels...
Sorry d'Alleves , but I mean it...and no, I do not agree with the previous reviewer who prefers plush hotels.... I don't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Location is great, just a minute walk from the lake and 7 minutes walk from the Central railway station. Althiough the room was spacious, the look was totally out of date and does not agree with the posh feeling of Geneva.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It was my second visit at this wonderful hotel - great location, best staff ever, beautiful rooms. Really feels like home away from home (but a clean and decoreated home...) I will defenetly come back again and again. Dana

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I travel to Geneva regularly on business and this is always my preferred hotel. The staff are welcoming, the location is excellent, the breakfast is good, and the rooms are quite spacious, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A very comfortable hotel with a super location in the city centre of Geneva. Very good service. The room was nice and spacious. Breakfast was also quite good, although as usual in Geneva, quite pricey. Still; all in all a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors (6th and 7th floors) have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Hotel D'Alleves is quaint, a bit small, but very comfortable. The rooms are nice, showers great. Location is super, central to the city, shopping, and tourist areas. The front desk taff is super, very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel d'Alleves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Alleves

Address: Rue du Cendrier 16, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel d'Alleves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel s Alleves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Alleves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.