We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location, Pleasant Hotel and Warm & Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Top Location, Pleasant Hotel and Warm & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The title sums it up. For the price, everything was excellent. I had a lovely and spacious room with a balcony overlooking Geneva. Step out of the front door and you're in the heart of town with everything you need around the corner. Breakfast is simple but nice and delivered to your door at your preferred time. Staff and owners are warm & friendly and it truly does feel like a family hotel. I'll be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mikkel K

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Geneva.

With warm regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    124
    75
    24
    16
See reviews for
61
110
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were pleasantly surprised when we went there. Strongly recommended.
Few points to consider:
Plus:
a. Excellent Location.
b. Excellent amenities in the room (clean, tidy, comfortable bed)
c. Excellent staff , very friendly helpful and polite.
d. very good breakfast to begin the day.
e. Price include free transport tickets for entire duration.
f. Luggage can be kept in safe custody after the checkout.
g. Right in the old city, very near from the main station.
h. Most of the sights are on walkable distance from this location.
i. excellent restaurants just around this hotel where dinner or lunch can be enjoyed.
j. family owned hotel and the owners are very kind and passionate about their hotel and service. They pay personal attention and it makes the stay much enjoyable.
k. although it is right in the middle of the city, yet so quiet.

things to know to set right expectations:
a. Bathrooms are smaller,yet clean and well maintained.
b. Eelvators are small , yet two elevators are there.

Room Tip: pls ask for apartments if you are a family. i was not earlier aware that there are apartments on off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Hemant J

It was a pleasure to read your comments about our little family business.
It makes it all worth while!
Glad you enjoyed and we hope to be able to welcome you or your friends back in the future.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is too close to the station and easy to access and find out. Just to cross the bridge and the views from the hotel is awesome. The room was big enough for us, clean and tidy and had room service. We had a balcony which was the plus point. Beautiful river views and there was a house beside with horses and birds. My kids were almost there when we come back after sight seeing.
We were three nights over there. The breakfast was moderate but not appreciable. The only one thing we dint like was that the unbearable Chineese aroma through out the entrance and corridor. The corridors were not pleasing. But we were happy to reach the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Silz2014

Thank you for your comments and yes we did have a family who did a lot of asian cooking in their appartment on that floor. We are sorry it bothered you.
We are glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay and hope to maybe welcome you and your family back another time.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three of us were attending a conference for work and stayed at this hotel- strangely, we found it on Airbnb, which was a little bizarre since it was clearly a hotel. The location is absolutely superb- it is pretty easy to find and right in the middle of the old town with many restaurants, shops and landmarks in the area. The room itself was clean and bright, with a fully functioning kitchen. There was no view to speak of, but lots of natural light. Wifi was a bit iffy. The breakfast was also really nice, and they delivered it up to our room, at a specific time, which was a great way to start the day! My only qualm was that they had an espresso maker in the room, but only enough coffee for the first day- after that you had to pay, which I thought was a bit lousy on the customer service front. Overall, it was a great stay, and for the cost, it was right on the money.

Room Tip: We had the suit on the top floor (Room 44) which had high swiss ceilings- highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Esthersnippe

Thank you for your nice feedback.
There is a hotel in the building but also 2 floors of appartments which are promoted through AirB&B very successfully and with many returning guests.
Subject to AirB&B comments we have recently installed private espresso coffee machines in the appartments and leave a selection of 6 capsules per stay. As breakfast is included in the rate and brought directly to the appartment each morning with tea or coffeee we felt this was sufficiant. We sell extra capsules at SFr 1.- which is not a bad deal as a coffee in Geneva is around SFr 4.-.
I do not know how many AirB&B appartments offer this service as well as free public transport cards each day.
Any way thank you for your comment which we will follow up with time and we were glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We stayed her for one night on our way back from France. The staff we very friendly and helpful, both before and during our visit and made us feel at home. We chose an apartment on the 4th floor (no. 45), which had its own kitchen as well as a bath/shower room. I was very impressed to see an iron, as well as an ironing board for those who might be feeling a little creased after travelling! The overall feel was one of being in an apartment rather than a hotel, which is not a surprise given that some of the building is indeed still an apartment block, which made it feel less corporate and more friendly.

One small point - the four poster bed looks romantic, but is very high, which is not so good for those who want to sit on the bed but have short legs (like me). The easy chairs are very comfortable though.

It was raining in the evening, so we just went downstairs to the brasserie which is located in the same building. Maybe they should negotiate a deal between them in favour of hotel guests? By the way, the sound insulation was excellent and we hardly heard any noise from the building site opposite, let alone the nightclub.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, April 7, 2015
Dear minkusmum

We were glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us.
Yes I agree the fourposter bed is comfortable but a little high off the ground.
An idea would maybe to put a stool?
Happy that the staff made you feel at home...this is our objective!
Thank you once again and if we can be of help please contact us.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We are a family with two kids in primary school, and we spent a wonderful week in apartment 44 -- it was perfect for us. The apartment is part of with Hotel Central, which means there is daily maid service and light breakfast in the morning. The front desk staff is happy to answer questions, provide advice and solve problems.

On several evenings, we purchased groceries and cooked dinner in the apartment. This is a great way to reduce the cost of staying in Geneva because eating out can be expensive. We found that the kitchen had most of the things we needed to cook dinner. One thing we did need was a cork puller, and the front desk fortunately had one they could loan us. We wished there had been a small sharp knife for paring vegetables, but we used the large knife that was there instead. Remember to buy paper towels and napkins for your visit.

Like all hotels in Geneva, you get a transit card to use during your stay that works on the busses, trains, trams and water taxis. We made good use of the transit card during our stay.

The apartment is located right in the heart of the city. It is on the south side of the river (Rive Gauche) just at the bottom of the hill for the Old Town (Vielle Ville). It was only a couple minutes walk from the #10 bus stop Bel-Aire Cite to the hotel, and there is an elevator to get to the hotel reception on the 6th floor. There are many excellent stores and restaurants nearby and it is an easy walk to many of the top sites in central Geneva -- for example, the St Pierre Cathedral, Maison Tavel, Armory, Jet D'Eau, English Garden, Flower Clock and Mont Blanc bridge.

Like many boutique hotels in Europe, each room has its own character. Ours was on the top floor (one set of stairs to go up after the elevator), and the original roof beams and vaulted ceilings are visible.

There is a clothes washer/dryer in the apartment, and it works just like all the other ones I have seen in Europe -- which is to say that the dryer gets most of the water out of the clothes, but you will still need to hang clothes overnight on a rack to finish drying. The beds seemed a little hard to us -- we're used to a softer mattress at home so it took a while to get used to it, and we wished they provided more pillows on the beds (they provide one pillow per person - we requested and received additional pillows). We also wished there was a coffee maker -- there is a teakettle, but nothing for coffee. So we purchased an inexpensive french press for our own use and left it behind.

All in all, a great place in a phenomenal location that we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Some apartments have a small balcony, some don't. Ask ahead of time if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Dear webbzell

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your stay which makes it so much easier for Management to get a feel of what he guest requires and how to improve.
We have noted your comments on knife, paper napkins, coffee facilities etc and will in the future provide such amenities....good idea and thank you for letting us know.
Glad you overall enjoyed your weeks stay and hopefully we can welcome you or friends of yours back here in the future.

Thank you again and with best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We chose the hotel for it's location, which was fabulous, on the edge of the old town. The rooms are very small, but spotlessly clean, and the staff were very friendly. Ideal for a short stopover.Can be noisy late on weekend nights, but you're well above the noise, so not a big deal!

Room Tip: only saw 2 rooms, both fine, but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Dear noordhoek2015

Thank you for writing about Hotel Central.
We are lucky with our central location but it does ofcourse bring a bit of life and noise of the city center with it.
Glad you enjoyed the room even though small and we look forwartd to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.