We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found the staff so helpful and very friendly - nothing was too much trouble and they all made me feel extremely welcome! The hotel itself was for me in a perfect location - very close to all shops and the Lake. The rooms were cozy and very clean with nice decor.
Breakfast was simple but tasty and filling (the tea was even nicer than in England) and brought to your room at whichever time you wanted (between 7-9am).
I will definitely be staying at this wonderful hotel again and look forward to the same warm welcome as I experienced the first time.
A really lovely hotel!
Thanks to all the staff at Hotel Central ... you guys are the best!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jordan A

Thank you for your nice thoughts on the hotel.
I have passed on your positives to the staff and they thank you very much for letting them know how you felt.
We hope to welcome you back another time.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    119
    73
    24
    15
See reviews for
57
106
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
heerenveen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been March 5 at the Geneva Motor Show .
For two days we stayed we had booked a hotel " Hotel Central". But an error in the booking office or the hotel there was no room gerecerveerd . But we had the recervering or in paper. After apology from the staff and the boss, we have agreed to a smaller room and it absolutely free . look then you will be happy again . Yes maybe we'll go over two years here have going again.

Thank Hotel Central for good sevice .
greetings Dirk

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dvv1

Mistakes happen but not everyone happy to accept that.
We were so pleased that the last minute solution appealed and that you were able to stay with us.
Thank you again for your understanding and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

All the best
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nites in this hotel. Even though the room is small but it was expected as Geneva is an expensive city. We paid CHF125 room with breakfast & it was a good deal for us. Location is near to almost everything. Walking distance to Lake Geneva & the Jet d'eau water fountain. Shops, cafes,restaurant & even the bus/tram station to Geneve Cornavin is 3 minutes walk from our hotel. We took bus number 3 to the the train station which is only 2 station way from Central hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure since we didn't get a chance to see the other room type. However, we were satisfied wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Junelistiani

Thank you for your nice comments and we were happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Send our regards to Malaysia, a country we have visited and like very much!

All the best and maybe if you need to come back to Switzerland we can be of help again.
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an odd place, and too expensive for what it was.

The room was tiny and I couldn't believe when we checked out that there were two further levels of budget underneath the one we chose, the bottom tier must be a coffin.

The breakfast is just breads and spreads and you have to take it in your tiny room.

Maybe all places are expensive in Geneva but if that's the case, just don't stay in Geneva.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear BiancaCuffia

Thank you for forwarding your impressions of Hotel Central, even though we were disappointed to read them.
Yes you were 3 persons and stayed in a twinn room with a pulldown bed which is not very spacious but what is believed good value in Geneva at less than SFr 64.- per person including continental breakfast. we were unfortunately fully booked and if we could have would have upgraded you to a larger room....the room is comfortable for 2 but I agree a bit tight especially for breakfast for 3.
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay but hope that this will not deter you from trying another category of room in our hotel at your next visit.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed in Feb 2014 and found this hotel at a reasonable price considering other hotels in Geneva. The hotel is a 15 min walk from Cornavin railway station. free transport pass as it is the norm in Geneva. Since we were on honeymoon, they gave a room upgrade (with balcony). very thoughtful. breakfast was simple and delivered in the room. Christine gave us some tips on where to buy chocolates. Overall the price of this hotel (with included services) is why i gave the 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi TravellerJude4

Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you back here again.

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Get good, clear directions before starting out for the hotel. We were on public transportation and then walking from the stop, dragging our bags, so every step we spent lost (there were many!) was a bigger deal. It's off the main street, in the upper floors of a building not marked as a hotel, so you're not going to just spot it as you go past.

The "lobby" is a tiny room with someone to check you in, but it's not manned 24 hours, so be sure you have everything you need taken care of while someone's there. We booked our early morning taxi pick up the afternoon before, then hoped they'd show up (they did!) We left too early to be able to take advantage of breakfast.

The lay-out of the hotel is strange - seemingly random rooms off tiny hallways. Our room was tiny - with the bags in the room there was literally no room to turn around, and the bed was pushed up into the wall, meaning with 2 people in the bed, one person was unable to get out without the person on the outside getting out first. The bathroom was equally claustrophobic - but again, for one night, the price was right.

As others have stated, the noise from outside is a problem. It started early - before dark, so I'm not sure that I'd classify it as just night club noise, but simply the neighborhood it's in. And there are lots of good things about the neighborhood - you're close to pretty much everything, whether on foot, or by bus/trolley. The outdoor market was walking distance and we enjoyed walking through it, and also took the bus up to McDonald's for a nice, cheap meal.

We wouldn't stay for any longer than a night, or with any larger a group, but for one night, for the price, I'd say we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Dear travelmak..

Thank you for your lengthy comments.
Yes many positives with being in the center of town near to everything but also the noise of clubbers, dustbin collection etc.
The room category you had is our smallest category so if you wanted something bigger we do also offer that at SFr 30.- more per night....not bad for Geneva!
The hotel is made up mainly of converted appartments into rooms and that is the reason for the funny shapes.
Geneva has strickt rules on signage and I apologize for the small sign (2 in front of the hotel) but not much we can do about it.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to have been able to answer some of your queries.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

This hotel is excellent. The staff assisting are very accommodating and charming.

The location is amazing!!! The room has wonderful!

Only issue (which should not stop you from booking here) - there is a night club in the lobby - you can here slight noises from the music late and night and in the early hours. Despite this, I would stay here again

Thanks

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear Tim30549

Thank you for your nice comments which I have passed on to the staff.
Just to clarify your point of a "NightClub in the Lobby"
For those who do not know the hotel, yes there is a famous swiss Nightclub and restaurants on the ground floor of the building....the lobby is on the 6th floor and the rooms are on the 4th to the 7th floor.
We wish you an excellent 2015 and hope to be able to welcome you back again.

All the best
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.