We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too cramped and not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Too cramped and not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was an odd place, and too expensive for what it was.

The room was tiny and I couldn't believe when we checked out that there were two further levels of budget underneath the one we chose, the bottom tier must be a coffin.

The breakfast is just breads and spreads and you have to take it in your tiny room.

Maybe all places are expensive in Geneva but if that's the case, just don't stay in Geneva.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    117
    72
    24
    15
See reviews for
56
105
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Feb 2014 and found this hotel at a reasonable price considering other hotels in Geneva. The hotel is a 15 min walk from Cornavin railway station. free transport pass as it is the norm in Geneva. Since we were on honeymoon, they gave a room upgrade (with balcony). very thoughtful. breakfast was simple and delivered in the room. Christine gave us some tips on where to buy chocolates. Overall the price of this hotel (with included services) is why i gave the 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Get good, clear directions before starting out for the hotel. We were on public transportation and then walking from the stop, dragging our bags, so every step we spent lost (there were many!) was a bigger deal. It's off the main street, in the upper floors of a building not marked as a hotel, so you're not going to just spot it as you go past.

The "lobby" is a tiny room with someone to check you in, but it's not manned 24 hours, so be sure you have everything you need taken care of while someone's there. We booked our early morning taxi pick up the afternoon before, then hoped they'd show up (they did!) We left too early to be able to take advantage of breakfast.

The lay-out of the hotel is strange - seemingly random rooms off tiny hallways. Our room was tiny - with the bags in the room there was literally no room to turn around, and the bed was pushed up into the wall, meaning with 2 people in the bed, one person was unable to get out without the person on the outside getting out first. The bathroom was equally claustrophobic - but again, for one night, the price was right.

As others have stated, the noise from outside is a problem. It started early - before dark, so I'm not sure that I'd classify it as just night club noise, but simply the neighborhood it's in. And there are lots of good things about the neighborhood - you're close to pretty much everything, whether on foot, or by bus/trolley. The outdoor market was walking distance and we enjoyed walking through it, and also took the bus up to McDonald's for a nice, cheap meal.

We wouldn't stay for any longer than a night, or with any larger a group, but for one night, for the price, I'd say we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear travelmak..

Thank you for your lengthy comments.
Yes many positives with being in the center of town near to everything but also the noise of clubbers, dustbin collection etc.
The room category you had is our smallest category so if you wanted something bigger we do also offer that at SFr 30.- more per night....not bad for Geneva!
The hotel is made up mainly of converted appartments into rooms and that is the reason for the funny shapes.
Geneva has strickt rules on signage and I apologize for the small sign (2 in front of the hotel) but not much we can do about it.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to have been able to answer some of your queries.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

This hotel is excellent. The staff assisting are very accommodating and charming.

The location is amazing!!! The room has wonderful!

Only issue (which should not stop you from booking here) - there is a night club in the lobby - you can here slight noises from the music late and night and in the early hours. Despite this, I would stay here again

Thanks

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear Tim30549

Thank you for your nice comments which I have passed on to the staff.
Just to clarify your point of a "NightClub in the Lobby"
For those who do not know the hotel, yes there is a famous swiss Nightclub and restaurants on the ground floor of the building....the lobby is on the 6th floor and the rooms are on the 4th to the 7th floor.
We wish you an excellent 2015 and hope to be able to welcome you back again.

All the best
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Switzerland in general is an expensive country. As we were on budget, we decided to stay in Hotel Central and we believe the relation price-quality is very good for Geneva. The location of the hotel in excellent. The room was even bigger than we expected and we had nice views from our room. We also consider that having a breakfast in a room when the hotel does not have any kind of dining room is a very nice detail. It was coffee + croissant + bread with jam + orange juice, enough food for us. The staff was very friendly and they speak many languages there, Spanish included. The only "but" was the noise coming from the hall, but it was rather due to the other guests running and shouting, so not the hotel's fault. If you are on budget and you want to be in the center of Geneva, simply go there.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Must apologise for the rowdy other guests....
We wish you a happy and healthy 2015.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We were a travelling party of mum, dad, 2 teenage girls and 3 of their friends for seven nights over Christmas. We had Studio 45 (single room) and Apt 42 (3 bed apartment). Apt 42 is extremely spacious and accommodated our party for Christmas lunch with ease and comfort. Each girl had a large, comfortable bed and all reported sleeping very well. The sitting room easily accommodated the girls when they were watching movies and relaxing, and the dining table sat 8 with ease.

Studio 45 was a comfortable and spacious retreat for us to retire to every night!

Everything was clean, everything worked (dishwasher, washing machine, oven, microwave, toaster, shutters, etc.) and the bathrooms had great showers (2 in Apt 42) with plenty of hot water. Apt 42 has a fully equipped, full-sized kitchen, with full sets of cooking equipment, crockery and cutlery - this was important to us.

The wifi was the best I have ever experienced in any hotel anywhere in the world (seriously) - consistent download speeds above 12 MBps. When you have 5 young ladies all facebooking and instagraming, believe me, this is necessary!

The location of the hotel is excellent. Walk out of the hotel and up the hill and you are in the old city within one block. Walk down the hill and you are the same distance from Geneva's premier shopping street. Two more blocks and you are on the lake front.

Pretty much everything is within walking distance but Geneva also has good public transport for which the tourism office supplies you with a free pass for the days you are a guest of the hotel. The young gents at the reception office of the hotel provided these.

The hotel is set in an old but stylish and well maintained office building where the lower floors are business offices for accountants and lawyers and the upper floors are the hotel accommodation. In this respect the hotel does not have a conventional layout with a lobby, bars, restaurants etc. There is a small reception office on the 6th floor where the formalities are finalised and then the doors to the rooms open into the lift lobby on each floor the same way the business offices do. We have seen this format in Europe before, so it is quite normal and the format and experience is similar to short term apartments let from a reception office rather than a full service hotel.

Don't let this deter you - the experience was excellent and Christine and her colleagues could not have been more helpful. The couple of small issues we had (light bulbs blown in the fridge and above the oven) were fixed within minutes. We will definitely return - it ws fun.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a popular area, so go high in the building to avoid late night street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback.
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish you a wonderfull and healthy 2015.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

The location is good coz it's not far from the station but it's a bit hard to find when we first go there. But in fact it's just next to the bibliothèque.
And before entering to the building, you need to press the bell(the reception is on the 6th floor,there are lifts which you can take up to there.) The guy is nice and he also recommend us where to go and where to have good fondue which is really nice.
As for the breakfast is simple but okay. The bathroom are clean.
But at night, the people who lived next to us were noisy. And we didn't sleep well coz the noisy between rooms are easy to be heard.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, December 24, 2014
Hello YS H

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry you were disturbed at night by the people next door.
Please let us know next time immediately and we can contaxct the room to make sure they stay a little calmer.

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.