We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the centre of Geneva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central
2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #50 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Virginia
1 review
“A jewel in the centre of Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We love this hotel. It is superbly located - close to the Old Town and from the 6th floor Junior Suite, you can enjoy the view of the cathedral and the rooftops of the Left Bank, a rare sight for a visitor! There is a vintage feeling about the place because of the history, but the bed and bathroom is outstanding for its modern comfort and cleanliness. The bed linens are crisp, the bathrooms are gleaming with marble and chrome. The staff work very hard to please and any visitor complaints about unfriendliness that I've heard, is just a misinterpretation of the local culture. They may not smile all the time like Americans do, but they are efficient, matter-of-fact and sincere. There may not be expresso coffee 24/7 but that's because they are not a cafe/restaurant. I was there during the winter and caught a cold. The staff treated me with the utmost kindness. There is an elevator in the square below to take you up to Old Town restaurants. The buses and trams are just a minute's walk. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    107
    68
    21
    14
See reviews for
51
92
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Despite the 70s decor, this hotel is clean and pleasant enough. Be warned of the strange layout though. The entrance hallway to my room also doubled up as the bathroom. The breakfast is delivered straight to your room, leading to the curious situation of having to accept your croissants over the toilet!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night in a triple room with an extra baby bed. The location is excellent and we had a great stay. We were welcomed really warmly and given some great advice for parking and getting around the city. The room was very comforable for a family with two small kids and breakfast was good. I would recommend for a families staying a night or two in Geneva. An excellent hotel in Geneva for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kristin106

Thank you for your lovely positive comments.....makes it all worth while!

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two bedroom, attic apartment (no. 44) for a week. The hotel (on the upper 3 floors of a 6 story building, with lift) was less than 5 minutes walk from lake Geneva and meters from the main shopping streets and restaurants. The rooms were airy with very high ceilings and exposed beams. Beds were super comfortable as were sofas / chairs. Daily maid service ensured high levels of cleanliness through the week and continental breakfast delivered to the room was just right. staff were friendly and professional. Our apartment package came with both free wi-fi and unlimited public transport (potential saving of 100's of Swiss Francs). two comments to note: Geneva is hot in Summer (we previously lived there for 3 years) and the apartment we had would have benefitted from air con. There were powerful fans provided, but sleeping was difficult without aircon; so, ask for a room / apartment / studio with aircon.. Also, as the name suggests, the hotel is very central to the city. With this comes external noise, so light sleepers take note.. Overall, a high class, non-chain establishment, from our experience staying in an apartment.

Room Tip: apartments 9 and 10 have aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kerri L

Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your positive comments.
As it is really only one or two months in the year with extreme heat we had not thought of investing in AC....maybe we should relook at this.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again.

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The room is very adequate for an overnight stay. Our suite was old but clean and the double bed was actually very comfortable but the bed for my son was so uncomfortable he ended up on the couch for the night. There was a small lounge area and balcony with lots of windows it was bright and airy. The bathroom was small but okay.
The location has its ups and downs. Its near lots of shops and we walked to everything we wanted to see from here. The lake is very close and the old town is very quaint and pretty. It is a fair ride from the airport though and beware the taxis charge like wounded bulls! The hotel is hard to find as there is work going on outide the building with scaffolding covering the entrance. The hotel is above shops and offices with only a small sign to show you to use the elevator to get to the reception via a small doorway. The main downside is that the hotel appears to be surrounded by nightclubs and the only reason I know this is because I was awake from 4am thanks to the surge of early exiting night clubbers singing and shouting.
Breakfast in bed was a nice touch - continental and not huge but perfectly fine.
When you book a boutique hotel you can overlook some imperfections like noise or even faults with the room if the service is outstanding but sadly the service here wasn't great. If you asked a question the staff gave you the answer. They were neither friendly nor rude but a friendly smile would not of hurt them. I think "surly" would be an apt description with the odd tut, they didn't make me want to overlook any other faults and they didn't make me want to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mandy C

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.
We were glad, after a few unexpecteddisappointing reviews, that you all in all enjoyed your stay.
Expectations are always difficult to judge and we would like to make it clear that we never aspire to be a boutique hotel but a simple good value for money, well located family 2 star hotel.
I have checked the spare roll away beds and yes there were 2 who need repair and I do apologize that your son did not sleep well.
As for the staf this is unacceptable as we pride ourselves of being a friendly family hotel....the staf have been shown your comments and hopefully this will not happen again.
We thank you again and wish you a happy summer where ever you are.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unfortunately this hotel was not at all what the pictures showed. It was a dump! Our room was dirty and small and we couldn't wait to leave. The beds were lumpy and sagging and we all slept bad. We only stayed one night and that was enough. I know Geneva is expensive, but spend a bit more and stay somewhere clean with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Paula H

We have noted your comments...
Our matresses are english sprung matresses from Slumberland UK and we are surprised and disappointed that you did not sleep well.
I have spoken to our housekeeper and she was also surprised of the latest 3 or 4 reviews as this has not been an issue before. We will double check more thoroughly our rooms.
Thank you again for your thoughts and we wish you a great summer.

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letbridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel which is situated in the business district although it is not far from everything including the waterfront, however don;t waste your money breakfast is served in the room to say skimpy would be an understatement. The rooms are so small you have to go outside to change your mind. Expensive for a 2 star.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Gwyn H

We have noted your comments.
I do not know what you were expecting for SFr 125.- for 2 persons per night including, as stipulated, a continental breakfast served in the room in Geneva.
This is our best value category, and yes small and compact as the room says, but we have other larger categories at a little more for much more space.
Check out our website and you will see that we have standard rooms at SFr 155.- incl AC, separate large bathroom etc....
The compact room is for those looking for a value for money solution in an expensive city!
Hopefully you will try our larger rooms next time.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.