We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, simple but decent facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Bristol, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, simple but decent facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent three nights in this genuinely centrally located hotel. Old town, the shopping district, Lake Geneva, restaurants, public transport hubs - all are just a couple of minutes walk in each direction. A perfect location to explore the city of Geneva from. The hotel itself is fairly basic, but we got a free upgrade to an apartment room (apparently because we'd booked through their website) which was very welcome. A simple breakfast was provided in the room daily, and our stay included a tram/bus pass to travel anywhere within the city (including as far out as the airport and CERN). Reception staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. Recommended, as long as you're not looking for something particularly fancy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Chris U

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at our family run hotel.
We try to upgrade guests who book directly with us but due to our high occupancy year round not always possible. We are pleased that you enjoyed the appartment.
Being in the centre is an advantage and we are pleased that you were able to visit Geneva properly with the free travel card.

Thank you again and maybe we can welcome you or your friends to Hotel Central in the future.
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    117
    72
    24
    15
See reviews for
56
104
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

One of the best things about this hotel is the location - it really is "Central" - just minutes from shops, restaurants, trams, buses, The Lake & The Old Town. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 nights in March and booked a standard room. The room was quite small with a tiny shower/toilet. As others has said, you open the room door straight into the shower room. The mattress was VERY firm and the lighting was low energy making the room look dingy. On the plus side the room was very clean, we had fresh towels every day and there's soap, shower gel & a hairdryer. We knew when we booked it was only a 2 star hotel and the price was reasonable for Geneva but If I stayed there again I would pay the extra for a superior room. Breakfast is brought to your room on a tray at a pre-arranged time to suit you. It consisted of fresh croissants, rolls, jam, butter, tea or coffee & juice. We had no complaints about the breakfast.. The hotel gives your a travel pass you can use on buses, trams & the ferry across the lake, we used this extensively (it probably saved us a fortune).

We managed a trip to the United Nationals building, you need your passport to gain entry and there's a charge for the guided tours - definitely worth a visit.

Restaurants are expensive compared to Britain but we expected this. Anyone wanting to buy an expensive designer watch will be spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear offonhol

As the frequent reviewer you are we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are trying to be environmently friendly but I agree the long life bulbs are often too soft and dimm.
If you stayed in one of our compact rooms even the standard room at a little more would have pleasantly surprised you.
Than k you again and we hope you had a Happy Easter.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The best part of the hotel was the reception staff. They were incredibly informative, kind and would go out of their way to help you with any questions that you may have. The hotel has a great central location within walking distance of the old town of Geneva. The rooms are basic but nothing special. They are very small and cramped but as long as you do not plan to spend much time at the hotel this is not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sean O

Wow did you make our staff happy!!
It is so nice when they get recognition for the great job that we think they do....
Most guests forget to mention the "software" of the hotel...which is so important!
Your message has ofcourse been passed on and we all look forward to maybe one day be able to welcome you back here.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

No questions about location, but these is all advantages. The room is small, the lights in the room is not enough. Breakfast is very modest. So I believe that for these money you can find bertter hotel, possibly a slightly further from the center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Rain_Moscow

Thank you for your comments.
We are a simple family run 2 star hotel very well located.
We try to keep our prices as competitive as possible, bbut I must agree with you Geneva is a very expensive city as you have mentioned in most of your reviews on the city.
We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back in a more comfortable room.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

'Central' is a very appropriate name for this hotel, as it is very well located in the centre of Geneva, near the Old Town. The location is its best feature, however.

I stayed in a Standard room. I was quite disappointed, as I had a high expectation of the room, based on the photos I saw on the web site. I think that the hotel does misrepresent itself somewhat by showing lovely photos online, but then giving you something completely different. I thought my room would be modern, large and airy. Instead I got a poky, cramped and badly arranged L-shaped room, where I had to squeeze past a wall to get to the bed, and the décor was straight out of the 1970's: plastic chairs, lino on the table, chipped furniture, etc.

The room was noisy, as the walls were very thin. I could hear voices, movement and plumbing noises from neighbouring rooms. The bathroom was clean, generally adequate, except for the tiny shower cabin, which made showering awkward and uncomfortable. There was a hair-dryer, which I did appreciate, though.

To be fair, the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. A continental breakfast was included, which was delivered to my room. The hotel provides free WiFi, which worked well.

Room Tip: Check with reception which room you will be given. The rooms are different to what the hotel display...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear LaPecheJaune

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your disappointment with your stay.
We are really sorry that it was not up to your expectations and very surprised that you felt that the pictures gave a false idea of our hotel. We have tried to put as many photos as possible on the website, but it is true that there are many. We renovate a couple of rooms every year but from your comments you probably stayed in one that was from the late ninetees when we took over the hotel.
We would love to be able to have you stay in one of our other rooms and please feel free to contact me personally for another stay with us.
Once again so sorry to have disappointed you.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

2 night visit in February of 2013. Excellent value & superior reception and staff. We rented one of the apartments -- it was perfect for our family. We were coming from USA to go skiing @ Zermatt --this hotel is centrally located - we saw the sights all within walking distance, including United Nations complex - etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear 83Don83

Thank you for your positive review.
We were happy that you and your family were able to experience one of our appartments and that you enjoyed it.
We hope you had some great skiing in Zermatt, I believe the snow was superb, and to hopefully be able to welcome you back at another occasion.

With best regards
Christine and Erik Gangsted
Owners Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Central Geneva for two nights (Saturday and Sunday) in early February. I had read about it both online and in a travel guide book, where in both places it was said to represent excellent value for money in a city known for its relatively expensive hotel rooms. And good value it was.

As some reviewers have said it can be a challenge to locate the hotel but if you follow directions accurately (we didn't!) you'll be fine. I've included some suggestions at the bottom of this review.

At check in, you'll receive a temporary travel card (covers the duration of your stay) that entitles you to FREE travel on buses, trains and boats within the specified area/zones. It's a great initiative and keeps local travel both easy and light on the wallet. And that's the way we got back to the airport when we left, though this time on the no10 bus from two streets parallel (lake side) of rue de la Rotisserie. I think the street was called Rue de Rhone and the stop was called Molard. It took about 30mins to get to the airport, at no cost.

The hotel room we had was getting on a bit in years, but spotlessly clean and there were no complaints about the bathroom/shower - everything worked fine and quietly. What wasn't quiet, for me anyway, was the noise from people returning home late Saturday night/early Sunday morning. It was 'happy' noise, at least. I whispered to my partner 'can you hear that?' and she replied 'zzzzZZZZzzzz.' So, you can see it didn't affect everyone's sleep!

That aside, a great stay. Simple but tasty breakfast, delivered to the room (as for all guests). You are asked to nominate a 30min timeframe during which to take delivery of the breakfast).

Staff were lovely and helpful. The hotel is very well located at the fringe of Geneva Old Town. There are a few restaurants in that area so take a walk around the neighbourhood and pick out what you like the look of. There's a Coop store (fresh produce/alcohol/supermarket) nearby at the square where the temple is (street is called Place de la Fusierie) and other shops around. And it's a lovely 5-10min walk to Lake Geneva and all that area has to offer.

I'd stay there again - definitely - but I'd probably be more keen if it was mid-week. Double-glazing on the windows would do the trick and I think I read a response from the manager to another review where he said double-glazing was underway. Oh, speaking of weekend versus mid-week, Geneva seems to pretty much shut down on a Sunday. Basically all shops were closed that Sunday, so that may have a bearing on when you visit.

Loved Geneva, by the way. It had a classy feel about it. We intended to go to Yvoire (French side of Lake Geneva) for the day on Sunday but from what we found out, we could catch the train to Nyon but the boat across was not running. Not sure if that was due to it being winter or Sunday, or both.

To find the hotel - if you are coming from the airport or train station (which are alongside each other), I recommend catching the no5 bus. It departs on the upper level outside the main door of the station as you get there from the airport departure terminal. If you arrive in Geneva by plane, you can collect a free ticket at a machine just before leaving the luggage claims (which is available for 80 minutes).
http://www.gva.ch/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-67/

If you arrive by other means (we arrived by bus from France) there's a ticket machine at the bus stop itself - cash or credit card. It cost CHF3 per adult to the hotel.

If you get off at the stop called 'Bel Air Cité', you follow the bus you have just left for about 30 meters, then take the first (right) little road up the hill that will lead you to rue de la Rotisserie. Go inside the small shopping arcade next to Aigle shop and make your way to n°2 (right after the Howell Shop inside the shopping arcade). The reception is on the 6th floor.

If you've already decided to take a taxi instead of the bus, I'm told it will cost about CHF50 from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear BradM007

Well that was really wonderfull to hear....we work hard to make sure that it all goes well and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
As for noise on w/ends...yes a bit of an issue now with the smoking ban and people who have had a little too much not understanding some people want top sleep...I am sorry they kept you up.
We wish you a great day and hope to be able to welcome you back another time.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.