We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in the center” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Central
2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 105 hotels in Geneva
Moscow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in the center”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

No questions about location, but these is all advantages. The room is small, the lights in the room is not enough. Breakfast is very modest. So I believe that for these money you can find bertter hotel, possibly a slightly further from the center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Rain_Moscow

Thank you for your comments.
We are a simple family run 2 star hotel very well located.
We try to keep our prices as competitive as possible, bbut I must agree with you Geneva is a very expensive city as you have mentioned in most of your reviews on the city.
We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back in a more comfortable room.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    98
    60
    18
    12
See reviews for
44
81
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

'Central' is a very appropriate name for this hotel, as it is very well located in the centre of Geneva, near the Old Town. The location is its best feature, however.

I stayed in a Standard room. I was quite disappointed, as I had a high expectation of the room, based on the photos I saw on the web site. I think that the hotel does misrepresent itself somewhat by showing lovely photos online, but then giving you something completely different. I thought my room would be modern, large and airy. Instead I got a poky, cramped and badly arranged L-shaped room, where I had to squeeze past a wall to get to the bed, and the décor was straight out of the 1970's: plastic chairs, lino on the table, chipped furniture, etc.

The room was noisy, as the walls were very thin. I could hear voices, movement and plumbing noises from neighbouring rooms. The bathroom was clean, generally adequate, except for the tiny shower cabin, which made showering awkward and uncomfortable. There was a hair-dryer, which I did appreciate, though.

To be fair, the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. A continental breakfast was included, which was delivered to my room. The hotel provides free WiFi, which worked well.

Room Tip: Check with reception which room you will be given. The rooms are different to what the hotel display...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear LaPecheJaune

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your disappointment with your stay.
We are really sorry that it was not up to your expectations and very surprised that you felt that the pictures gave a false idea of our hotel. We have tried to put as many photos as possible on the website, but it is true that there are many. We renovate a couple of rooms every year but from your comments you probably stayed in one that was from the late ninetees when we took over the hotel.
We would love to be able to have you stay in one of our other rooms and please feel free to contact me personally for another stay with us.
Once again so sorry to have disappointed you.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

2 night visit in February of 2013. Excellent value & superior reception and staff. We rented one of the apartments -- it was perfect for our family. We were coming from USA to go skiing @ Zermatt --this hotel is centrally located - we saw the sights all within walking distance, including United Nations complex - etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear 83Don83

Thank you for your positive review.
We were happy that you and your family were able to experience one of our appartments and that you enjoyed it.
We hope you had some great skiing in Zermatt, I believe the snow was superb, and to hopefully be able to welcome you back at another occasion.

With best regards
Christine and Erik Gangsted
Owners Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just returned from a four day trip to Geneva. We took a party of 21 students( aged 14 & 15) from West Bromwich to visit CERN and the United Nations Building.

The students were sharing 3/4 to a room, and the staff had their own rooms. The rooms were clean, tidy and more than sufficient in size. The continental breakfast was delivered promptly each morning. The proprietor and her staff were very friendly and welcoming. They were very knowledgable about the city and were able to give us precise information about the transport system, sites to visit and places to eat.

Considering this was a two star hotel you certainly got five star treatment. The hotel could do with a common room where all the group could congregate.

They only negative aspect of our trip was the "Jet 'd Eau" ( fountain in the lake wasn't working), but that was no fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the 5th & 6th floor, views are hindered by other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Narinder S

We really enjoyed having such a well behaved group and look forward to having more of your students back soon.
Shame about the jet d'eau....you will just have to come back in the summer.
Thanks again and your commernts have been passed on to my wife;Christine and the staff.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Central Geneva for two nights (Saturday and Sunday) in early February. I had read about it both online and in a travel guide book, where in both places it was said to represent excellent value for money in a city known for its relatively expensive hotel rooms. And good value it was.

As some reviewers have said it can be a challenge to locate the hotel but if you follow directions accurately (we didn't!) you'll be fine. I've included some suggestions at the bottom of this review.

At check in, you'll receive a temporary travel card (covers the duration of your stay) that entitles you to FREE travel on buses, trains and boats within the specified area/zones. It's a great initiative and keeps local travel both easy and light on the wallet. And that's the way we got back to the airport when we left, though this time on the no10 bus from two streets parallel (lake side) of rue de la Rotisserie. I think the street was called Rue de Rhone and the stop was called Molard. It took about 30mins to get to the airport, at no cost.

The hotel room we had was getting on a bit in years, but spotlessly clean and there were no complaints about the bathroom/shower - everything worked fine and quietly. What wasn't quiet, for me anyway, was the noise from people returning home late Saturday night/early Sunday morning. It was 'happy' noise, at least. I whispered to my partner 'can you hear that?' and she replied 'zzzzZZZZzzzz.' So, you can see it didn't affect everyone's sleep!

That aside, a great stay. Simple but tasty breakfast, delivered to the room (as for all guests). You are asked to nominate a 30min timeframe during which to take delivery of the breakfast).

Staff were lovely and helpful. The hotel is very well located at the fringe of Geneva Old Town. There are a few restaurants in that area so take a walk around the neighbourhood and pick out what you like the look of. There's a Coop store (fresh produce/alcohol/supermarket) nearby at the square where the temple is (street is called Place de la Fusierie) and other shops around. And it's a lovely 5-10min walk to Lake Geneva and all that area has to offer.

I'd stay there again - definitely - but I'd probably be more keen if it was mid-week. Double-glazing on the windows would do the trick and I think I read a response from the manager to another review where he said double-glazing was underway. Oh, speaking of weekend versus mid-week, Geneva seems to pretty much shut down on a Sunday. Basically all shops were closed that Sunday, so that may have a bearing on when you visit.

Loved Geneva, by the way. It had a classy feel about it. We intended to go to Yvoire (French side of Lake Geneva) for the day on Sunday but from what we found out, we could catch the train to Nyon but the boat across was not running. Not sure if that was due to it being winter or Sunday, or both.

To find the hotel - if you are coming from the airport or train station (which are alongside each other), I recommend catching the no5 bus. It departs on the upper level outside the main door of the station as you get there from the airport departure terminal. If you arrive in Geneva by plane, you can collect a free ticket at a machine just before leaving the luggage claims (which is available for 80 minutes).
http://www.gva.ch/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-67/

If you arrive by other means (we arrived by bus from France) there's a ticket machine at the bus stop itself - cash or credit card. It cost CHF3 per adult to the hotel.

If you get off at the stop called 'Bel Air Cité', you follow the bus you have just left for about 30 meters, then take the first (right) little road up the hill that will lead you to rue de la Rotisserie. Go inside the small shopping arcade next to Aigle shop and make your way to n°2 (right after the Howell Shop inside the shopping arcade). The reception is on the 6th floor.

If you've already decided to take a taxi instead of the bus, I'm told it will cost about CHF50 from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear BradM007

Well that was really wonderfull to hear....we work hard to make sure that it all goes well and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
As for noise on w/ends...yes a bit of an issue now with the smoking ban and people who have had a little too much not understanding some people want top sleep...I am sorry they kept you up.
We wish you a great day and hope to be able to welcome you back another time.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We (2a + 11y + 13y) stayed in the family room for 2 nights on our way back from skiing holiday. The location of the hotel is absolutely excellent – old town, transport, shopping. Please be aware that the hotel might be difficult to find if taxi driver doesn’t know the place. The sign isn’t that prominent and lost between shopping signs. The family room was ok and spacious enough (Geneva standard), had a small balcony. On of the two toilets was located literally in place of an entry hall as you open the room door. It is indeed a strange design but after all still was handy to have. We had a good laugh about this feature though! Breakfast was typical European (bread+croissants, juice, coffee, jam, butter). Hotel staff was very friendly an provided good local advise where to eat, what to see etc. The only negative I have to say is the street noise during Saturday night (people probably were going home from pubs), though this is the price you pay for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mikhail A

Great to receive your feedback and happy to read that you and your family enjoyed the stay at Hôtel Central.
The saturday night disturbance is very annoying but when people sometimes have one too many they become a little too noisy. We apologise on their behalf.

With best regards and hope to welcome you back soon
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Apartment 43 is fantastic! You can not go wrong! Location great, apartment great, space, amenities, price, comfort, cleanliness, breakfast - great, great, great, great, great, great!
The tv in one of the rooms doesnt seem to work but thats just picky. Great spot.

Room Tip: Apartment 43 do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear BradfromRedhea

Wow for us too....it is so rewarding to get comments like yours...makes it all worth while!
Thank you for the taking the time to write to us and we have immediately changed the faulty television...thank you so much for letting us know.
Pls do not hesitate to contact us for further help in the future.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva
Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#15 Family Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.