We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - with conditions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central
2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #50 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value - with conditions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Central Geneva for two nights (Saturday and Sunday) in early February. I had read about it both online and in a travel guide book, where in both places it was said to represent excellent value for money in a city known for its relatively expensive hotel rooms. And good value it was.

As some reviewers have said it can be a challenge to locate the hotel but if you follow directions accurately (we didn't!) you'll be fine. I've included some suggestions at the bottom of this review.

At check in, you'll receive a temporary travel card (covers the duration of your stay) that entitles you to FREE travel on buses, trains and boats within the specified area/zones. It's a great initiative and keeps local travel both easy and light on the wallet. And that's the way we got back to the airport when we left, though this time on the no10 bus from two streets parallel (lake side) of rue de la Rotisserie. I think the street was called Rue de Rhone and the stop was called Molard. It took about 30mins to get to the airport, at no cost.

The hotel room we had was getting on a bit in years, but spotlessly clean and there were no complaints about the bathroom/shower - everything worked fine and quietly. What wasn't quiet, for me anyway, was the noise from people returning home late Saturday night/early Sunday morning. It was 'happy' noise, at least. I whispered to my partner 'can you hear that?' and she replied 'zzzzZZZZzzzz.' So, you can see it didn't affect everyone's sleep!

That aside, a great stay. Simple but tasty breakfast, delivered to the room (as for all guests). You are asked to nominate a 30min timeframe during which to take delivery of the breakfast).

Staff were lovely and helpful. The hotel is very well located at the fringe of Geneva Old Town. There are a few restaurants in that area so take a walk around the neighbourhood and pick out what you like the look of. There's a Coop store (fresh produce/alcohol/supermarket) nearby at the square where the temple is (street is called Place de la Fusierie) and other shops around. And it's a lovely 5-10min walk to Lake Geneva and all that area has to offer.

I'd stay there again - definitely - but I'd probably be more keen if it was mid-week. Double-glazing on the windows would do the trick and I think I read a response from the manager to another review where he said double-glazing was underway. Oh, speaking of weekend versus mid-week, Geneva seems to pretty much shut down on a Sunday. Basically all shops were closed that Sunday, so that may have a bearing on when you visit.

Loved Geneva, by the way. It had a classy feel about it. We intended to go to Yvoire (French side of Lake Geneva) for the day on Sunday but from what we found out, we could catch the train to Nyon but the boat across was not running. Not sure if that was due to it being winter or Sunday, or both.

To find the hotel - if you are coming from the airport or train station (which are alongside each other), I recommend catching the no5 bus. It departs on the upper level outside the main door of the station as you get there from the airport departure terminal. If you arrive in Geneva by plane, you can collect a free ticket at a machine just before leaving the luggage claims (which is available for 80 minutes).
http://www.gva.ch/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-67/

If you arrive by other means (we arrived by bus from France) there's a ticket machine at the bus stop itself - cash or credit card. It cost CHF3 per adult to the hotel.

If you get off at the stop called 'Bel Air Cité', you follow the bus you have just left for about 30 meters, then take the first (right) little road up the hill that will lead you to rue de la Rotisserie. Go inside the small shopping arcade next to Aigle shop and make your way to n°2 (right after the Howell Shop inside the shopping arcade). The reception is on the 6th floor.

If you've already decided to take a taxi instead of the bus, I'm told it will cost about CHF50 from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear BradM007

Well that was really wonderfull to hear....we work hard to make sure that it all goes well and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
As for noise on w/ends...yes a bit of an issue now with the smoking ban and people who have had a little too much not understanding some people want top sleep...I am sorry they kept you up.
We wish you a great day and hope to be able to welcome you back another time.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    107
    68
    21
    14
See reviews for
51
92
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Apartment 43 is fantastic! You can not go wrong! Location great, apartment great, space, amenities, price, comfort, cleanliness, breakfast - great, great, great, great, great, great!
The tv in one of the rooms doesnt seem to work but thats just picky. Great spot.

Room Tip: Apartment 43 do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear BradfromRedhea

Wow for us too....it is so rewarding to get comments like yours...makes it all worth while!
Thank you for the taking the time to write to us and we have immediately changed the faulty television...thank you so much for letting us know.
Pls do not hesitate to contact us for further help in the future.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for a week with my family in a 2-bedroom apartment. Excellent value, given the exorbitant hotel prices in Geneva. Breakfast is substantial and apartment is very clean. Extremely helpful staff in the office. Apartment owners and staff do they can in their control to make your stay comfortable. If you are a light sleeper, take ear plugs or white noise with you since noise from nightclub in the basement until the wee hours of the morning may be an issue. Did not seem to hamper my kids' sleep, though. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay in a central area of Geneva close to public transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear TrvelBug_CA

Thank you for your constructive and positive comments.
We are working hard to try and keep the noise from the Nightclub friday and saturdays at a minimum but fortunately with our new double glazed windows things have improved.
Thank you again and do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of help.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Central for 4 months in a three bedroom apartment. It is a fantastic location, the apartment was spacious, with fully equipped kitchen, and comfortable furnishings. Linen and towels changed daily. The hotel staff were all very friendly and accomodating. I have stayed in many hotels and apartments in Geneva and this one is a treasure. I would certainly recommend it for people wanting self contained accomodation.

Room Tip: Look at the website and select the room you want from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear aidblogger

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your long stay with us.
It was also a pleasure for us to have you with us and to be your second home for a while.
We are working hard on promoting our long or short stay appartments and studios and it is very satisfying for us as owners and for the staff to get your positive feedback.
Do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of help to you or to your friends or business partners.

With best regards, also from Christine and the staff,
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I would recommend the Hotel Central to anyone looking to stay in Geneva without emptying your wallet.

This is a good value for money B+B in the heart of Geneva. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the morning breakfasts are decent.

In an expensive city, this is a good hotel, with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Michael M

Thank you for your nice response regarding your stay.
As a frequent reviewer we were pleased that you found us value for money and that you had a comfortable stay.
Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of help to you or your friends during your next visit to Geneva.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Central is spaced over two or three floors of this multi storey block. It is directly behind the main Street in Geneva but yet still quiet so is in an excellent position to everything Geneva has to offer!
The bedroom was basic but clean,with a small balcony which had a great view at the end of the street looking at the mountains.
Room service was very good every morning with breakfast.
Overall,if all you need is just a room to stay in I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Bongonog

Thank you for your very positive comments....a little disappointed you only gave us a 3 overall when looking at your points per category which were nearly all more.
Anyway we were happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you and/or your friends back soon.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only one night so we took the bunk beds.

Convenient location, just behind the main streets with shops and a short 3-5mins walk from the bus stop although there is a slight slope. The room and shower are small but clean and sufficient for short stay. Amenities (towels, fan, shower gel/shampoo) provided. Bathroom is down the hallway, on the way to the elevator. The balcony is lovely with nice views (although we only had partial view since our room was facing an office building) but very close to your neighbours -you could literally climb from one balcony to another!

If you are sleeping on the lower bunk bed, you can't sit up. Mattresses are ok and there is a reading lamp. There is also a desk with chairs in the room as well. Breakfast is served in the room and the quantity is sufficient.

The owner of the hotel was very helpful, giving us directions and maps on where and how to go to the major sights. Do ask for the free bus card (helpful when you are tired) although Geneva is nice & easy to explore on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Twilightlilly

First of all thank you for staying with us and we were glad that we lived up to your expectations, even though you stayed in one of our smallest and most simple rooms.
As you only stayed one night the bunk bed room is acceptable but next time you could try a little larger room with normal beds, and only at a slight increase in price!!

Thank you again and best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.