We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but convenient. Love the balcony.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central
2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 103 hotels in Geneva
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small but convenient. Love the balcony.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only one night so we took the bunk beds.

Convenient location, just behind the main streets with shops and a short 3-5mins walk from the bus stop although there is a slight slope. The room and shower are small but clean and sufficient for short stay. Amenities (towels, fan, shower gel/shampoo) provided. Bathroom is down the hallway, on the way to the elevator. The balcony is lovely with nice views (although we only had partial view since our room was facing an office building) but very close to your neighbours -you could literally climb from one balcony to another!

If you are sleeping on the lower bunk bed, you can't sit up. Mattresses are ok and there is a reading lamp. There is also a desk with chairs in the room as well. Breakfast is served in the room and the quantity is sufficient.

The owner of the hotel was very helpful, giving us directions and maps on where and how to go to the major sights. Do ask for the free bus card (helpful when you are tired) although Geneva is nice & easy to explore on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Twilightlilly

First of all thank you for staying with us and we were glad that we lived up to your expectations, even though you stayed in one of our smallest and most simple rooms.
As you only stayed one night the bunk bed room is acceptable but next time you could try a little larger room with normal beds, and only at a slight increase in price!!

Thank you again and best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    103
    65
    21
    12
See reviews for
47
90
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wife and I spent 4 nights in here to do sightseeing in Geneva and surrounding area. We stayed in a small double-bed room with ensuite.

We had no problem finding the building after getting off at Molard stop using airport bus No 5 (re: a few minutes’ walk) but it was a bit difficult finding the correct entrance to the hotel reception. From outside the building on the street one could see those sign plates and Central was indicated as 6, but if you went inside a few extra steps and headed for entrance 6 you won't find Central as it was entrance 2 on the rhs and then one could see Central indicated as floor 6 by the lift. A hotel sign just outside entrance 2 would be helpful?

The lifts were small. It'd just take 2 people with cabin bags but at least there were 2 lifts. Checking in was efficient even with a new trainee. We were allocated Room 24 on the 5th floor facing the street (rue de la Rotisserie). We were given the Geneva Transport cards but had to ask for a city map. As many others have already pointed out, with this type of rooms one enters the bedroom through the bathroom which some would find it odd and undesirable. The room was small with not too much space but clean enough. Lighting was adequate but the bedside lamp was badly located. There was no aircond. A floor standing fan was left in the room. There was no window. A double French door leads to a tiny balcony. The maids would keep the French doors slightly opened during the day to freshen up the room/bathroom, a good idea as air circulation the bathroom was not good (no sure what should be done during the winter!).

The bathroom could present an issue in that the shower cubicle was small and the curtain may not block out all the water, especially for a large or a not so attentive person. The basin was also badly located right underneath a largish bathroom cabinet making access to the taps/basin difficult (re: splashing water on the floor, risk of knocking your head ..). But these were smallish issues when compared with the shower tray drainage and toilet waste flushing. The shower tray would fill up rapidly with water and probably would over flow after 10 minutes (ladies showering and washing long hair please take note). The toilet has macerator flushing system and creates 2 or 3 loud vibrating noises with every flush (not good for night use).

A typical continental breakfast was delivered to your room every morning at a set time stipulated by us (from 7am on). It was fine with us. The cold water from the bathroom tap was drinkable and of very good quality (important when travelling to have this!) Housekeeping was fine and always done fairly soon after we left the room in the morning. We were out sightseeing and on day trips most of the time and therefore the smallness of the room wasn’t too much of a burden to us. There were some crowd/street noises during Friday night/early Saturday morning (as expected in city centre!)

We did a full day trip ourselves by trains to Gruyeres, Montreux (partly with Golden Pass train which offered fantastic views on the way down from the mountain), also walked from Montreux to Chillon Castle in 45 minutes along the superb promenade with beautiful lake views), Vevey and also the old town of Lausanne. An excellent day trip for the 80CHF fare especially the weather was good. We also caught the No 8 bus (from the Rive stop 6-7 minutes from the hotel) to Veyrier Douane stop (1 of the last stops for no 8) and took the cable car up Mt Saleve for around 10Euro to see the wonderful birds eye view of the whole of Geneva lake and also the backdrop of Mt Blanc.

We met the hostess Christine a few times and she was very nice and helpful. We didn’t get to meet her husband. The hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of the city near the shops and sights, 2 minutes from the tram and bus stops, an extra minute to the promenade, the bridges and boat stop. Around 10 minutes to the old town. Really handy.

We enjoyed the stay in Geneva vey much with all the walking around and boat trips across the lake etc. Hotel Central was very well located to make our trip easy and fun. Christine and the others were very friendly and they spoke very good English too. It is important to appreciate that Geneva is an expensive city and one needs to bear that in mind when comparing rates vs qualities. All things considered, we’d recommend Central.

Room Tip: Room not facing the front road (rue de la Rotisserie) would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear SC168

Wow what can I say....you should have a prize for taking the time to write such a comprehensive description of our facilities and of your experience in Geneva.
It is wonderfull for a hotellier to get such constructive feedback which is most helpfull.
We are glad that you overall enjoyed your 4 days with us in our small family hotel in Geneva.
Finding the hotel has always been a challenge but as we do not own the building we are finding it difficult f to make them understand this situation.
For a few weeks now we have been working on a new image, loge, website etc and since a few days we have been allowed to put a large professionally made sticker on the glass doors downstairs with the hotel logo....just as you recommend!!
Yes the bathrooms are small and tight especially for bigger people....we are receiving a specially made glass shower door for room 23 to see if that is something to do in all the small rooms....none of the rooms are standard dimensions so quite an expense but definitely worth it in the long run, especially now after reading your views.
I am glad you met my wife Christine as I am not so often there as we have a few family businesses to look after.
Great to hear about your excursions which we will profit from to promote to our other guests.
Thank you once again and I look forward to maybe meeting you next time you are coming to Geneva.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to shopping, the lake, restaurants, transportation...other than your own car. We neglected to inquire about parking when booking our room. We did find and pay for parking, but it was an unexpected glitch in our plans.
The room was clean and adequate...fine for a night or two.
I would have been happy to have paid more for a bit more breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Caroline W

As a frequent reviewer we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Central in Geneva.
Free parking is possible in front of the hotel but only from 7 pm to 8 am daily except sundays and Bank holidays. It is true parking is expensive in Geneva but we offer free public transportation during your stay so no real need to bring the car.
Breakfast is continental, simple, served in the comfort of your room and free. There are many bakeries and tearooms in the area if you require more.

Thanks again and safe travels
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

At the center of high end shopping area and near to bus and tram stops with free pass. We had tough time to find place to buy bottled water after 8pm as everything was closed. But we did not venture towards the old city area.

The room is nice, with kids on bunk beds. Quite expensive but expected for Swiss hotels. A bit dark, and quite old electric plug fixing, so had hard times to plug our electric equipment. Liked the 2 bathrooms they have, very convenient.

There is an aircond and minifridge, quite surprising. All in all, nice place in Geneva central.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments and yes we do have a wonderfull location.
As for the opening hours of shops...unfortunately not yet as easy in Switzerland...but for your next stay do not forget that the tap water is very safe and can be drunk. Otherwise we do sell water, soft drinkls and beers at the reception of the hotel.
Take care and hope to see you again here in Hotel central
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel. As a couple with a small kid the 2-bedroom apartments they offer are just ideal. Value for money is unbeatable in a place like Geneva and so is the location in the middle of everything.

Breakfast in the room is nice and the pizzeria just around the corner has good food and service.

We will certainly return.

Room Tip: choose one of their apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi

Glad to heat you enjoyed your stay again with us.
Do not hesitate to contact us for further help if necessary.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

On the edge of the old town, ten - fifteen minutes walk from the train station, near the lake and a supermarket. A budget hotel with budget size room. Fine for a night or two, staff helpful and friendly. No dinning room, breakfast is served in your room. The strange thing was you entered the room via the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Jill L from Dorset
Thank you for taking the time to comment our hotel.
It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our small family hotel.
Yes we decided not to have a breakfast room after a guest survey where the majority felt that they would prefer to be served in the privacy of their room.
Some of the room are from converted apartments, hence the unusual way of sometimes entering the room through the bathroom.
We look forward to welcome you back one day.
With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We got a very nice apartment, fully equipped in walking distance from the train station. The night and morning staff was very friendly and helpful, giving good advices.
The apartment was very spacious, but only partly air-conditioned.
Still, we were sorry we could stay there only one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear sloew00 Haifa
First of all thank you so much for your comments and we were pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Do not hesitate to contact us if we can help you during your next stay in Geneva.
With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 2, rue de la Rotisserie, Geneva CH-1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.