We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Esperance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Esperance
Save
You added Bel Esperance to your Saves list
1 rue de la Vallee, Geneva 1204, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Recently stayed for 1 night. Charming, quirky, cute, clean, comfy, and wonderful location. Amazingly affordable for Geneva. Really glad I found this one. Would definitely stay again and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked the room furnishings. It's not fancy but that's not the point. It's clean and safe and right in the heart of old town. It was hot, though and with no AC - could have been much improved by a simple fan in the room. We kept the windows open and I didn't hear anything with earplugs but my husband slept poorly due to street noise, people coming home from bars, etc. We grabbed breakfast out, so I can't speak to the included breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    77
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
50
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at hotel July 18-23. Room was very small and very hot due to no air conditioning during hot days in Geneva. With windows open, noise from adjacent apartments was disconcerting. Breakfast was very average with poor choices. Would not stay here on next trip to Geneva although location in older part of city was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bel Esperance for one night as we passed through Geneva. The room was adequate, though felt a little bit old and in need of some upkeep (it was perfectly clean, though!). Good value for a double room, and that's the primary reason we chose to stay here. We may stay here again, but I'd probably see what else is available in a similar price range first. That being said, that location is fantastic, and owners are wonderful - very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Their hospitality certainly brightened our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

An excellent value in a very expensive city. Price includes private bath, an ample breakfast buffet, flat screen tv, and free WiFi that was easy to use. Granted the room was small, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. You will also appreciate the tiny elevator if you have lots of luggage or difficulty climbing stairs. Excellent location on the edge of the Old Town and just two blocks from buses that will take you to the train station or airport. Don't forget to ask the desk clerk for a free transit pass good for the duration of your stay. A rooftop terrace provides a nice view of Lake Geneva and the jet d'eau. Don't be put off by the fact that the hotel is owned by the Salvation Army. There is no proselytizing and almost no evidence of any sort of religious affiliation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It is certainly a novel experience staying at Bel Esperance. Run by the Salvation Army, this place is somewhere between a hotel, hostel and B&B.

It's reasonably priced for Geneva (CHF160 per night) and well located in the old town, with a large roof terrace, decent cold buffet breakfast and friendly staff. Our room was old fashioned and basic, but nice and spacious with an adequate bathroom. There are some strange things such as food being banned in the bedrooms and the hotel refusing to help with booking restaurants, but this is a good solid option in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children and stayed at the Bel Esperance in May 2013. We were given two adjoining rooms that could be accessed by a common door. The rooms are a little on the small side. However, if you are going to spend most of your time outside, they are adequate. The folks at the front desk were helpful. The breakfast was good, especially the coffee machine, and kept us going through the morning.

The hotel is located a few hundred metres from the Rive station. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. It is within walking distance to Lake Geneva. This hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Check that the heater is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Bel Esperance. The location for starters is superb minutes away from the Jet D'Eau and in the centre of Geneva! The Room was fantastic for the price, couldn't have asked for more. Great Breakfast and fantastic and accomodating staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Esperance

Address: 1 rue de la Vallee, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel'Espérance is a very charming hotel situated in a perfect place - in the city centre at the door to the old town and only some steps away from the lake.The Bel'EspéranceA pleasure to stay,happiness to come back! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Esperance Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Esperance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.