We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Find in a Expensive City of Geneva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Esperance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Esperance
Save Saved
You added Bel Esperance to your Saves list
1 rue de la Vallee, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Bourg-de-Four)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Geneva B&B and Inns
Aurora
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Reasonable Find in a Expensive City of Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a real find as so many hotels in old Geneva are typically expensive and this hotel has a great location to the water front and old town. It very clean and breakfast was varied and well stocked. Night sleep was good, however the beds could be more comfortable. Location to restaurants, trams, city center for shopping couldn't be better. Look for the free tram ticket to the hotel issued at the airport / bus station, (I was"t aware of this visitor perk, but now I know!) When you check in you will be issued with a visitor card for free public transport for the duration of your stay at Bel Esperance Hotel a super big plus!!! The whole hotel has free wireless Internet also. This hotel takes the stress out of finding a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
45
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The singles are very small (but not atypical for Switz). Small bed.

Glassed shower with imperfectly functioning removable handle and head. Very good water pressure though.

Bread and croissant at breakfast are really magnificent; also the tangerines. (The coffee is acceptable but not remarkable.)

Convenient location.

Extremely helpful and gracious staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Looking for a affordable location in the heart of Geneva this is the place! I stayed three nights for business. As stated previously the rooms are small but very clean. There was some street noise and you can hear the church bells but the location is downtown so nothing too out of the ordinary. The breakfast was good. I really appreciated the transit card -- the major bus and tram lines very close by. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Considering that a private room in a youth hostel costs the same as a 3 star hotel in expensive Geneva, my partner and I opted for this quaint, centrally located little hotel, owned by the Salvation Army no less, It is situated on a little alley just off one of the main streets of the old town. We had a simple, but spotlessly clean, modern & comfortable room and the receptionists, especially Etienne, were very pleasant. Included in the price was an excellent buffet breakfast. My only complaint would be that it is right next to an apartment building and there is not a lot of distance between the two buildings, so loud conversations in the apartments next door could be heard late at night, but that is hardly the hotel's fault. Highly recommended if you are not looking for extreme luxury, but a cut above basic accommodation.

Room Tip: to avoid noise from the next door apartment and in the alley below, ask for rooms that do not face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I found this hotel after searching on the trip advisor. Yes, it is basic , but it hasa great location, its clean and has a nice old charm in the lounge area. Charlotte took my booking over the phone and I have never received a quicker confirmation via email before !
As another reviewer mentioned , there is a church nearby and I did have big problems from the bell tower of the church outside, as it ringed its bell every 30 minutes. I could't not sleep at all , but I am a very light sleeper, so hopefully other guests would not have the same problems.
The room was quiet big, lots of channels on the TV and its a free PC for internet downstairs in the lounge area. Just down the road at your right side, there is a Starbucks 300 meters walk from the hotel. Good connections with tram just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nothing special to expect. It is clean, rooms are smallish, and breakfast what you expect.
There is free wireless that works well enough.
It is conveniently located, at the end of bus line 10, which comes from the airport (Stop Rive).
Note that when you exit the luggage area in the airport, there are machines giving you free tickets to ride public transport during 80 min.
Since you are paying a tax in the hotel, the hotel will also give you a travel card.
In Swiss, they use different plugs, you can ask an adapter to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When you are looking for a simple, no frills place to stay in Genève, this is good value for money. We stayed for three nights. Breakfast was decent, although I missed some eggs. Only the first day we found some hard boiled eggs at the buffet. The buffet offered a limited choice, but everything was nice and fresh.

The room was ok. The bathroom was basic but the shower was very good, nice hot water and the water pressure was very good! The last day of our stay room keeping forgot to give us clean towels, but we quickly got new ones.

It was a bit too hot in our room. We couldn't switch off the radiator because the control was broken. We mentioned this the first evening at the reception, but they couldn't get the problem fixed, which was too bad. We had to sleep with the windows open to get the room cooler. Because of the open windows we had some noise from the bell tower of the church nearby.

Location was very good, close to the lake and on the edge of the old town. Very nice to go for a walk in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Esperance

Address: 1 rue de la Vallee, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Bourg-de-Four
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel'Espérance is a very charming hotel situated in a perfect place - in the city centre at the door to the old town and only some steps away from the lake.The Bel'EspéranceA pleasure to stay,happiness to come back! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Esperance Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Esperance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.