We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad my usual hotel was full!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 quai du Mont Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Glad my usual hotel was full!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

In Geneva for a business trip and the usual company hotel was full, so we booked in at Beau-Rivage.
Upon arrival I was greeted by a friendly and professional reception team, who continued to provide great service throughout my stay.
If you want a modern hotel this is not the place for you (take a look at their website which is a true reflection of the rooms) however it is luxurious, clean and well presented. The location is perfect to explore Geneva and is situated right on the lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    32
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
48
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

...but all the better for it.

Where most hotels in this category are Peter Perfect, the Beau Rivage isn't...but doesn't suffer for it. A great front of house team and a lovely 'faded glory' colonial feel make any Brit feel at home.

If you stay on the 6th floor, the arrival of the hot water must be measured in glacial units and the water pressure will be less than an asthmatic rabbit with a length of hose and a cup of water, but just go with it. If you want chi chi, there's certainly plenty of choice in Geneva, but this place is in a great location and isn't as stratospherically expensive as many other places. And that's saying something.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have just stayed there for 3 days and I was just amazed by the precision and the quality of service. The concierge department is extremely professional and you can almost ask them everything and anything.
the breakfast was delicious and I really enjoyed the variety of delicious jams. I had breakfast delivered by room on one occasion and everything was just perfect as well.
I know that it could be very difficult to find a good hotel with the perfect staff...Well... the Beau-Rivage team is far above all expectations you may have.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the Leman, that is just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Modern, sleek hotels are more my cup of tea, so I was fully prepared to dislike the Beau-Rivage. Boy, was I wrong. From the fantastic staff to the fresh flowers in the room to the delicious breakfast to the immaculate housekeeping to the unparalleled view, there was not a flaw. I was only sorry I had to leave. Well done, Beau-Rivage. You've won a convert.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed there on business for one night. I have to admit that I prefer modern hotels, so this place is not for me. Service was good, but the room screamed for a makeover. The bathroom smelled a bit weird as well. Overall not my cup of tea - maybe I just got unlucky with the room but I can't say I liked the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. One enters a large home. In front of you is a small sitting area surrounding a small fountain which forms "the lobby". The reception desk and concierge desk are at the side and side by side underlining the importance of the concierges. Don't be shy to use them and make sure you reward them well as they deserve it. Once you have checked in, everyone addresses you by your name, now isn't that like being in a home and in the tradition of the grand hotels of yesterday?

The lift is quaint and a joy to use. But truly, it would be silly not to walk up and down the staircase to your room as this adds again to the ambiance of being At Home. The atrium must be the predecessor of those modern hotels with huge atriums - none have the charm of this one!

The room assigned to me was large, bright, well furnished in a the classical French style and had 2 large windows with good views of the street and a glimpse of Jet D'Eau. The bed is comfortable. The desk facing the window is comfortable to work from. Separating the toilet from the bathroom is a great idea. The bathroom offers a tub and a shower stall. Elegant and spacious. Wifi is available in the room and throughout the hotel for free. There are sufficient plug points for all one's devices

The bar is a gem. The larger area has the most comfortable seats that one just doesn't want to leave them. When the singer starts to play in the evening, its worthwhile to watch her and listen. She is excellent. The food at the bar is simply excellent.

The French restaurant is superb and highly recommended as well.

I highly recommend hit his hotel. It's well located. The public areas are beautiful. The rooms are superb. Service is faultless. Food is excellent. And it has the ability to create the ambiance of being At Home.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend at the Beau-Rivage and must say that I was delighted at the exquisite hospitality from check-in to check-out.
Simple personal touches make this hotel an experience.

To give you the simplest example upon checking out I receive : " We would like to thank you for having given us the opportunity to serve you " - Can anything top that ?

Location obviously amazing ... everything was just PERFECT !

Room Tip: Obviously if you can afford it .. do stay with the Lake view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Address: 13 quai du Mont Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1865, the family-owned Beau-Rivage continues to welcome the world’s well known personalities in total discretion. The hotel is situated on the lake front and boasts views of the city harbour and the Alps. It stands in the heart of the city, only a stone’s throw away from the Old Town, elegant stores and business quarters. The hotel provides charm and savoir vivre that makes it one of the most distinguished addresses in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.