We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 quai du Mont Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So so ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very warm welcome by front door staff and reception. Suite impeccable although no fruits, no flowers, but great view. Breakfast buffet not up to 5-star standards: not very appetizingly presented, meats and cold cuts not fresh (it was very hot but that does not excuse it), bred selection below average. Service not very accommodating and slow (it took 20 minutes for omelette and eggs). Instead of pancakes they brought crêpes. Evening bar service efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go4ital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel using a free night voucher from the Leading Hotels of the World. We expected the smallest room with no views and no LHW member privileges, especially because it was a weekend night. We were very surprised to see our beautiful suite with the view of the lake. The room was as elegant and comfortable as it can get. Not only we had been upgraded, but we even got a little gift and breakfast the next day! Very generous!

The road below is quite busy, but the room was very well insulated and we didn’t hear the outside noise. The room had a little corridor and double doors which perfectly screened out all the noise from other guests. One guest had a party on our floor and decided to leave the room door open, but we didn’t hear much in our room.

The only thing we were not totally happy with was the fact that some very aggressive birds were freely roaming the breakfast outdoor area (with beautiful lake views), including the area where the food was displayed. We mentioned it to the staff, but they didn’t seem to be very worried about that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatainOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved the location of the hotel. Close to everything right in front of the jet d'eau. Breakfast was very nice in the terrace. Emannuel at concierge was wonderful, very helpful. I was fighting a cold and he offered me a tea that really helped. The Thai restaurant right in the hotel was very good. The room was spacious clean and the best toiletries I had ever received from a hotel. They offer Clarins products!!! Truly great... The shower is quite large and the tub offered a comfortable soaking. The hotel bar area was quite lively and Thursday nights there is a DJ. The one thing not to over look is how expensive Geneva is. The taxi ride from the train station to the hotel under 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We are a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teenage-adult children) stayed at the BR for two days in June. The hotel was very well set out, but it was certain aspects were very expensive, all things considered.

The rooms were lovely and the staff went to a considerable effort to ensure that we had two rooms next to each other. Breakfast was not included and was a complete rip off at 48 francs per person. It's worth noting that the breakfast was of incredibly low quality at that price (tinned fruit served, cheap meats and cheeses).

Room Tip: Don't waste your time eating breakfast at this hotel. Check out your other options in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think, the best hotel in Switzerland, great food and service in every department. A tad old fashioned but steeped in great heritage. Not the cheapest but its very special and class, with a great location.

Be sure to get a lake facing room, a little more expensive, but so much better. Looking forward to many more future visits !!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good but not great. Classic design. Very friendly service.
But the hotel is very expensive.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 372STOP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Family of 4 making a one night stop in Geneva; had two connnecting rooms. Beautiful and comfortable. Hadn't been in Switzerland for years but they always do it right at these top tier hotels in this country. No complaints, other than the $37.00 hamburger my son ordered from room service. Front desk and concierge were excellent too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddavis130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel De La Paix Geneva
#29 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Mont-Blanc
Swiss Luxury Apartments
Swiss Luxury Apartments
#3 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Address: 13 quai du Mont Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1865, the family-owned Beau-Rivage continues to welcome the world’s well known personalities in total discretion. The hotel is situated on the lake front and boasts views of the city harbour and the Alps. It stands in the heart of the city, only a stone’s throw away from the Old Town, elegant stores and business quarters. The hotel provides charm and savoir vivre that makes it one of the most distinguished addresses in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing