We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Geneva!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Metropole Geneva to your Saves list
Swissotel Metropole Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Quai General Guisan | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Geneva!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Checked in from 14-16 August. Was welcomed the moment I drove my rented car onto the door step. Took the car key and brought me to check in, assuring that it will be well taken care off. Upgrade me to suite, and Stefan and his team never fail to mesmerize me with their very friendly and wonderful service. Made me felt so welcome and never want to leave. Highly recommended, when in Geneva - staying in this hotel will make your trip even more enchanting! My wife and I were treated like king and queen and were truly amazed by the service this hotel has to offer!

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Director of Sales at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback further to your stay with us at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva. The team always appreciate to receive feedback from our clients.

I was happy to read this beautiful comment and also that we made your stay an enjoyable one with a nice upgrade in Suite and a team who took care of yll yours needs.

I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    94
    45
    11
    8
See reviews for
65
76
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent location facing Geneva lake , Near from the Geneva flower clock and a walking distance from many of Geneva tourist attractions. The Geneva lake is 2 minutes walk and a spectacular view of Geneva faonten . I had a nice suit with 2 rooms , the suit was nice and large but the connected room were less than the normal 5 star hotel size. Breakfast selection was poor and the restaurant food was less then normal. For the price you pay it is to much over priced for both hotel and restaurant. I think you are paying for the location only and I would not rate this hotel as a 5 Star hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and the Suite.
Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Regarding your comments on our rates, please kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed here for a few nights, but it was a very pleasant stay. We arrived to Geneva via train from Paris and this hotel was so convenient because it was very close to the station, .
This hotel is located right in front of the Lake Geneva. Great location for strolling around the lake and visit shops, restaurants located right behind the hotel
We took the breakfast package and thier buffet breakfast was very nice. The dining room was lovely too. We reserved a Jr. suite since we had 3 people staying in one room. So, our room was a good size and very comfortable. Modern equipment, as well as free drinks and even some sweets without extra charge. Our room also had a beautiful view of the lake which we enjoyed. The hotel staff were all helpful and the concierge gave some good recommendations for local restaurants. The rooftop has a magnificent view and you can enjoy dining there as well.
Overall, our stay here was very delightful with great service and we had a great time. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Geneva.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback further to your stay with us at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva. The team always appreciate to receive feedback from our clients.

I was happy to read that in general you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Junior Suite face to the lake.

I sincerely hope you had a nice trip in Europe.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Amazing service with incredibly friendly and caring staff (from receptionists to concierges to restaurant staff). Great location (very central, facing Geneva Lake and easy to access). Comfortable and functional room with all amenities (including an extensive pillow menu to chose from!). Excellent breakfast. Only downsides - in stark contrast with the luxurious feel you get from the lobby, the standard room is small, dark and without charm, and the fitness room is basic. A bit disappointing given the very high room rate.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Very good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Concerning the room size, we also have bigger size category available if we will have the chance to welcome you back, we will have the pleasure to offer you a free upgrade to try it.

We have also taken good note of your remarks on the rate, please kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you back to the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sannanikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight for the wedding of my daughter held at Hotel Parc des Eau Vivres.
The experience was a delight in all aspects. Helpful and friendly staff, quick and efficient service, charming, tasteful accommodation.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir,,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel for this beautiful special occasion.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

We would like again to congratulate your daughter getting married in the incredible location Parc des eaux-vives.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

extreme care and quality service 7/24 : the hotel is in the middle of the downtown and is in a very convenient place. rooms are always in excellent hygiene condition and comfortably furnished. the hotel crew has a very caring approach and responds all requests in a timely manner. would like to come back :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this beautiful comment on trip advisor further to your stay with us here at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel location, services and staff efficiency.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Following group policy I stayed at this hotel for a conference that was taking place there on the next day.
Pros:
Good location opposite the lake and the fountain
Terrific views from the roof top terrace (unfortunately without any bar service)
Within walking distance of the shopping streets and close to financial centre
Excellent (but pricey) breakfast

Cons:
Rooms are small (mine was the basic room to the side street). I got a soit-disant upgrade which consisted in a bath-tub, but did not increase the size of the room.
Rooms are dark (not convenient if you are trying to work in the evening)
Quite expensive for what is offered

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel services, the staff and overall the hotel location.

Regarding your comments on our rooms, we area actually renovating most of them and for rates, pease kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Metropole Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Address: 34 Quai General Guisan | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Metropole Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Swissotel Metropole Geneva is a boutique hotel overlooking lake Geneva. Ideally located on the left bank of the lake, in the heart of the central business and shopping districts and a short walk from the Jet d'eau and the old town, the hotel offers 111 beautifully appointed guest rooms and 16 luxurious suites. Completely renovated without compromising on comfort and exclusive design, each room offers the latest technology for today's business travellers and the best in amenities to make every stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Metropole Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Metropole Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.