We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, in an excellent location, a classical hotel with bags of class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Metropole Geneva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Swissotel Metropole Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Quai General Guisan, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Rues-Basses Longemalle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #15 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, in an excellent location, a classical hotel with bags of class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

One of my favourite hotels, superb location with fabulous access to the shops and city centre. The hotel in itself has fantastic classical door with marble and fresco ceilings. The staff always happy to help and meet and greet every customer. This time th forgot my early morning call, could have been an issue if I had not had a back up!!

Room Tip: a high floor, over looking the sides as the front and back over look busy streets,unless of our you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to express yours comments with so many details further to your stay here at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us from start top the end, we are constantly trying to deliver the Swiss hospitality at its very best.

I apologise again for the missed early morning call.

Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team

Thanking you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    72
    40
    11
    8
See reviews for
47
59
22
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I always stay here when visting Geneva.
The staff are very polite, the rooms have everything you need, and the location is excellent.
Breakfast is great, and the general ambience is welcoming.
The concierge guys are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to fill in our internet satisfaction questionnaire further to your stay here at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team

Thanking you again

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed there for a couple of days in late October. Had stayed a few times in the past and the hotel is clearly in dire need of refurbishment. The rooms were tired, the doors of the rooms were badly in need of a coat of paint and in general, with the exception of the ground floor, the situation was more reminiscent of an old Soviet hotel than a top of the line Swissotel which it pertains to be. The keys did not work and that was only fixed after having repeatedly been issued with additional keys that did not work.
Despite leaving the proper notice requiring room cleaning, I invariably returned to a room that had not been cleaned.
The common areas are nice, but when I once ordered a sandwich my table was invaded by small flies. I could dismiss this to the proximity of the lake but this is the only place this occurred during a ten day stay in the city.
The only positive from my trip was the breakfast which still offers a good (not great) buffet at a reasonable (for Geneva) price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was sorry to read your disapointment with reference to the hotel appareance as we are constantly upgrading our landmark building - New rooms will be launched in November.

I was also concerned with yours comments relative to the room cleaning and flies. Rest assured that this will be shared with the team for actions - I hope you will accept my apology for that.

Regarding key, it could happen that electronic devices such as cell phone could demagnitized it.

Many thanks for your good note on the breakfast.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you back to the Swissôtel Métropole.

I will personally take care of your stay.

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing



Thanking you again for your feedback and comment

Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

When visiting Geneva, it is clear that you must stay here. There is no comparison with any of the many other hotels that I have stayed in when in Geneva over the past 10 years. As with most things in life, if you able to pay a modest premium over the others then you will be amply rewarded with a level of an excellent level of comfort, service and space. It is always exceptionally useful to have a fast internet connection in your room. The restaurant has top class cuisine, whilst for a late night drink and snack the bar is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room if you want a spectacular view. But for more peace go for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to fill in our internet satisfaction questionnaire further to your stay here at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team

Thanking you again

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have just recently returned from Geneva on a business trip. Was booked into the Swissotel Metropole by my colleagues and was delighted with the welcome and service that I received. The reception staff were very helpful and indeed brought me to my room and showed me around. Luggage arrived at my room within minutes of my getting there. The room, although a little small was very comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was also very good. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was the first time I stayed at the Swissotel Metropole Geneva and what a surprise. On checking in I had one on one service all the way to my room with the receptionist leading the way. Before I could close the door as the receptionist was leaving my luggage arrived. This location is excellent and just minutes from all the high-end shops and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the rest of the city and night life. Yes, rooms may not be as large as other properties but you must remember this property is a historic restoration. Besides most Europeans are outside at the bars, cafes, etc. Why are you spending so much time in the room? Of course the room accommodations are the top of the line. The hotel bar provides great ambience and again great service . I not only experienced the bar but the restaurant in the evening. The dinner prices at the hotel were better than the high-end restaurants that I reviewed in the area. Last but not least, my breakfast was included, again with great service and food to start the day. Would I stay here again, absolutely if you want to be pampered... this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to express yours comments with so many details further to your stay here at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us from start top the end, we are constantly trying to deliver the Swiss hospitality at its very best.

Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team

Thanking you again

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

All pretty average. Even the experience was kind of blah. Not bad, just nothing that stood out or that I would write home about. The location is great and the lobby is very nice, but the EOMs are terribly small for a luxury European hotel at this price point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and public the lobby architecture.

Regarding your comments on room size, please kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva.

Should we have the chance of welcoming you back soon, I will invite you to book another room category with more space to make your stay a better one.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Metropole Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Address: 34 Quai General Guisan, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Rues-Basses Longemalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#14 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Metropole Geneva 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on rue du Rhône, the most luxurious shopping street in Geneva, the five-star Swissôtel Métropole overlooking the lake, is also in the heart of this peaceful city.A short walk from the Jet d’eau and the old town, right next to the business district, the hotel is the ideal place to stay for your excursions in Geneva and for your business travels. The Swissôtel Métropole with 111 beautifully designed rooms and 16 stunning suites, offers a modern comfort with the latest technology.It is also a paradise for gourmets with a lavish breakfast buffet offering a wide range of choices to energize your day. In a relaxing atmosphere, the restaurant Le Grand Quai features a refined dining where you will enjoy either a quick business meal or a gourmet menu with mouth-watering patisseries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Metropole Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Metropole Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.