We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel, near everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Longchamp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Drake Longchamp to your Saves list
Drake Longchamp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Butini, Geneva 1202, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“decent hotel, near everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had quite a long stay in Drake for business. Rooms are decent with a place to cook, great for saving money in ultra-expensive Geneva. Walls are very thin though. Breakfast is ok, though after some time you'll swear off eating croissants. There are surprises sometimes like the miraculous day they served sausages and eggs ( why can't it be everyday?). Staff are efficient and helpful, though not very warm (is it a Swiss thing?). Loved that it was a short walk to the park, the lakeside and the tram station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    59
    59
    26
    13
See reviews for
21
34
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Drake Longchamp is a comfortable, nicely situated, reasonably priced hotel in a very expensive city. The room decor may be a bit dated, if a cutting edge aesthetic is one's sole criterian in this matter, but it was hardly the fashion disaster other reviews would lead one to believe. The lobby/corridor and breakfast room recently have been renovated, which would lead one to think that a general floor-by-floor renovation might be forthcoming. Everything was clean (the housekeeping staff was extremely conscientious) and the beds quite comfortable. One reviewer mentioned the "silly" pillows, and indeed they were, hardly more than an inch think. We asked for two more for each of us, and four nicely proportioned pillows were delivered. A real plus, we were given a Geneva Transport Card upon check-in that gave us free passage on all forms of transportation during our stay. Given that the hotel is just a block from the Butini tram stop on Rue Lausanne, we had unlimited access to convenient transport to any destination we wanted. Or, we could walk just a hundred yards or so to the Quais for a leisurely stoll long the lake down to Pont du Mont-Blanc. Speaking of the area, I would be remiss not mentioning a delightful surprise we encountered one rainy day on our way back from the Palais des Nations. Boulangerie Butinoise at 18 Rue Butini, is not just a splendid bakery, it's a little restaurant with about 8 or 9 tables where one can get a really delicious meal at almost unbelievable prices in this expensive city. It stays open until 7:30 in the evening so getting one's evening meal there is also a possibility. All in all, the Drake Longchamp is a hotel well worth considering for anyone looking for a nice three star hotel in Geneva.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lovely hotel in Geneva, great price considering how close it is to the actual lake. The kitchen in the room is a god send considering how very very very very expensive it is to eat and drink in Geneva!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid - Barcelona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Drake Longchamp at least a dozen times in the last 3 years and it makes a great base in Geneva. Value for money is very good in a city which is horribly expensive. Another characteristic of Geneva is that average hotels (3 stars and the like), in general, are not precisely renown for great decor and comforts, but are rather more old and tired that one would expect.
That said, the Drake Longchamp is perfectly comfortable and extremely well situated within 3 min walk from the lake (you can even get a room with a view), in the district of Paquis which is full of restaurants and bars, a walking distance to Gare Cornavin (or you can take the tram) and very near Palais des Nations and the bus route 5 which takes you to Palexpo and the airport.
Rooms are functional, although nothing special when it comes to decor, and most have a small kitchenette (there are several supermarkets close by). Breakfast is rather Spartan but its enough to get you fueled for the morning.
The service is very good and I have always found staff extremely helpful and attentive.
I would, of course, stay there again when I am next in Geneva.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

At the time of booking it looked very expensive but the hotel was quite worth of value.
Rooms- room is very spacious infact I have not seen such big room in Europe tour. Balcony is added advantage.It has all amenities like lcd tv, separate wardrobe, fridge etc. Rooms are well maintained and cleaned.But no safe locker is provided and also no tea or coffee maker.
Bathroom- bathroom is exceptionally very spacious and luxury for residents as it has bath tub and shampoo is provided everyday.All bathroom necessity like soap, shampoo was available.
Kitchen- Kitchen is wonderful; part of this room as It has every utensils and crockery to cook food.Every thing was clean and in order.
Breakfast- it was typical European style break fast with no hot buffet.But menu was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here with a group to visit the UN. Convenient tram access to the Nations, only 3 stops away. Same tram (15) also takes you to the city easily. Hotel was a bit dated, but quiet and friendly. They were renovating the lobby area, so maybe will look nicer soon. Rooms have kitchenettes which are handy since it is not a cheap city to eat out every day! Breakfast was included and was on a better average scale: fresh bread and cheese were nice. Corridors had vending machines with essentials, including beer and wine.

Only complain really was the super hard beds and silly little pillows. I got another pillow very fast when asked, but it didn't help much. Also, internet costs, which for me is always a bit of a disappointment with "modern" hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I had MONEY STOLEN from my hotel room in this hotel. There is no safe in the room and I also was not made aware that there was a safe at reception for my valuables. In fact when I reported the theft to the manager, she simply said that it was not her responsibility and that it was my problem, not hers. She confirmed that only the staff and myself had entered the room (despite the fact that I had a do not disturb sign at the door) but refused to investigate with her staff. When I offered them my police report, they also did not care. I later had to find out that the reception staff was telling other guests in the house that I was wrong, implying that I had invented the theft. I have travelled to many places but have never been treated with such little dignity, professionalism and respect in a hotel. I will at all cost avoid this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yannickGeneve, Front Office Manager at Drake Longchamp, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Could you please send us the name of this person

Mrs Taylor
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Longchamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Longchamp

Address: 7 rue Butini, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Longchamp 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the lake, international organisations and the United Nations, offers you modern and comfortable rooms, in the heart of Geneva. Our location is near the railway station and has been created to satisfy the needs and expectations of today’s travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drake Longchamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Longchamp Hotel Geneva
Drake Longchamp Geneva
Hotel Drake Longchamp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Longchamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.