We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Geneva Location and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Hotel Geneva to your Saves list
Eden Hotel Geneva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 rue de Lausanne, Geneva 1202, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Geneva Location and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our 2nd to last night in Europe was spent at the Eden Hotel which is a short taxi ride or bus from the main train station. Bus # 1 or 25 will drop you within a block or so of the hotel.

We checked in late and they had the room ready for us to include a sofa bed for my youngest. The room was small, but very clean and well appointed. They provided us with passes for city transportation which includes local metro/buses/trams as well as the water taxi.

Geneva is a very expensive city, and the fact that breakfast was included was awesome. It was a good buffet spread with eggs, breads, fruits, cereals, muesli (yum), and pastry. Tea and coffee was served by the friendly restaurant staff. This meal alone would probably be 30-40CF per person out in town. We'll definitely stay here again if our travels take us to Geneva.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours
Léo Stadelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    74
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
29
12
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel Eden is well situated in Geneva; not in the city centre, but with the free public transport cards, 10 minutes away from the centre. The hotel provides good services, offers a clean room (also family room) and has mainly very attentive and friendly staff (one receptionist is a little to straight-forward in her commenting), all for a decent price (if you can say that for non-Geneva standards). All in all, a very OK breakfast, good room with good shower/bathing facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, which I have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We also recognise that we have to integrate your comment on our next training session and we apologize for your unpleasant experience with one of our staff members.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours
Léo stadelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Eden on our way to Italy and were very impressed by the location, amenities and exceptional staff. The lady on reception couldn't have been more accommodating or friendly, even ordering us take away pizza on the first night as we arrived quite late, she then provided us with cutlery and napkins and we ate our pizza's in the foyer lounge, such a thoughtful gesture and so appreciated (and the pizza's were delicious!) We had booked a triple room for us and our 2 dogs and were advised on arrival that we had been upgraded to adjoining rooms (a single and double with a small entrance/hall area in between) as this would give us more space with our two dogs, and the extra space was perfect. The rooms were spotlessly clean with everything we needed including Air Con which was welcome after a day in 32 degree Geneva heat. The Park opposite is beautiful, and we opted out of using the free public transport pass that the hotel provided us on arrival, choosing instead to walk into Geneva. We thoroughly enjoyed our walks along the lake and even had an evening swim with some of the locals who appear to come from work for a swim en-route home, the lake is clear and surprisingly warm. For those travellers with dogs, we found several restaurants in Geneva that were more than happy to allow our dogs to sit with us outside while we ate, even bringing them bowls of water etc. There are numerous water fountains situated along the lake and in the old town which are suitable for drinking so we used these to fill up our own and our dogs water bottles which saved us having to buy more water. Generally dogs need to stay on leads so we took extendable leads with us to allow them some freedom and which worked well in the park.
We have been very impressed by the service at this hotel, even before we arrived the email correspondence was informative and very prompt. We chose to reserve a parking space in a secure underground facility a few metres from the hotel at a cost of 28 CHF a day. There is parking on the road outside but this is charged at 20 CHF a day and always seemed to be full so we were pleased we had reserved a space.
Overall this is an excellent three star hotel and in our opinion, in one of the better locations in Geneva, especially if you are bringing your four legged friend who will require a morning and evening stroll! There is no extra charge to bring your dog as there often is in the UK and also no problem leaving them in your room while you have breakfast. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very detailed review and comments about your stay at the Hotel Eden. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have forwarded your compliments to my team. Four legged well educated friend are always welcome.
Looking forward to your next stay with us when travailing to Geneva
Sincerely yours
Léo Stadelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a lovely but small hotel a short walk from the ferry on Lake Geneva. It is reasonably priced (for Geneva) and clean. An easy walk to the ITU - good location if you're there for meetings. The service is very Swiss - quick, accurate and efficient, but not particularly friendly (the Swiss would wonder why that's even an issue). To find it, take the train from the airport to the main train station, then take a tram or a bus. Be sure to get your free public transport pass before leaving the Geneva Airport baggage area (good for 90 minutes); then get the free pass from the hotel for the duration.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had chosen this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and it's location near the Palais, where my daughter was working this summer. I was very pleased with the well organized and clean room; it was an adequate size for Europe where I have found most rooms to be very small. I was there during a heat wave and the room air conditioning worked very well. The room had a small balcony and, though on a busy street corner, was very quiet when the windows were closed, there was a small view of the park across the street. The two bus stops within a block of the hotel were on major routes which made it very easy to travel about Geneva with the bus pass provided by the hotel. I found the breakfast to have enough variety with great cheeses, meats, breads, a nice muesli and yogurts along with fresh fruits. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and spoke very good English which I appreciated with my very limited French. Spending a quiet evening just across the street from the hotel on the lake at the Parc Perle du Lac was very pleasant after a day of touring. I really appreciated the early check in I was allowed; after 24 hours of travel I was given a room on my arrival at 9 a.m. so I could relax and clean up before starting the rest of my day. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Geneva.

Room Tip: You can request a lake view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your very detailed review and comments about your stay at the Hotel Eden. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again on your future stay in Geneva
Sincerely yours

Léo Stadelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bern
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked this hotel through the Geneva tourist Office as it was a combined price to include city travel and a seat at the truly magnificent firework display.
We were not dissapointed with any aspect of this trip , the service and the room , albeit small , was everything we needed.The room was spotlessly clean with a nice shower room , mini bar , balcony and AC.
Breakfast was buffet style to include all the normal French breads , fresh fruit , large cheese board , ham eggs and salami , we were now set up for the day.
Service is friendly yet proffesional.
Within easy reach of the city by bus (numbers 1 or 25 ) the hotel is opposite the Botanical Gardens which are situated on the lake.
If you get the chance to get to Geneva stay at this great little hotel and check the dates for next years Fireworks , 55 minutes of the best I have ever seen

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the building are nice , but its a quiet area anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to know that you had a nice stay in Geneva at Hotel Eden. We are glad that you found our location convenient during your stay with us.
Hope to welcome you again, maybe for the next firework.
Sincerely yours

Léo Stadelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on recommendations from colleages after staying in a larger and more popular hotel in a previous visit. I was dissapointed of my previous hotel but this one was a definite improvement.

Eden is clean and quiet and has A/C and wifi which are not always available in this city. Business center (UN and ITU) plus a choice of dining places are within walking distance, or a short bus trip (free). The rooms are small but this is standard for Europe; they look very modern and well kept. Bathroom is small but convenient (except that water pressure was somewhat higher than my preference...) and service is welcoming and helpful. They have umbrellas you can use during your stay which is very helpful in Geneva... Cost may seem higher than other hotels, but with the very nice breakfast included, it's definitely not a bad deal.

If I visit Geneva will likely choose Eden again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, which I have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely yours
Léo Stadelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Geneva

Address: 135 rue de Lausanne, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Hotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing one of Geneva's most beautiful parks, the Hotel is situated a few steps from Lake Geneva, close to the city centre, the botanical garden and all the international organizations. With its cozy atmosphere, friendly staff and ideal location, it is definitely the destination for business as well as leisure trips. Every room is soundproofed, air-conditioned and equipped with the latest technology. Free WiFi and Free Buffet-Breakfast. The decoration is elegant and subtle, in harmony with the quiet atmosphere and intimate character of the hotel. Rooms with communicating doors are available on request for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Eden Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Eden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.