We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Pâquis-Temple)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 105 hotels in Geneva
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff and a and comfortable stay. The room was a good size with also a good sized bathroom for the price. The breakfast was on the expensive side but we did have fresh fruit, pastries and there was a nespresso machine. There was a cooked breakfast for those who wanted it. We liked the oriental decor and everything was very clean

It was convenient for all of Geneva but as many others have commented, the surrounding area is not very nice. One needs to stick to the main roads. Once on the lake it is delightful.
The free transport pass was a great bonus and we used it a lot. We enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park which is very quiet. There are also rooms with a small kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    266
    40
    15
    4
See reviews for
45
227
48
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is a 3 star hotel and has the amenities associated with the rating. It has every conceivable cable TV channel available! However, the neighborhood gets VERY IFFY within only a block....I was glad to have been with my husband, because if I had been on a business trip on my own, I would have been very uncomfortable walking around alone. The staff is knowledgeable about local eateries but are relatively clue free about dining in the Old Town or in the business district. Our room was spacious for Europe although the bathroom facilities were a bit strange. The toilet sat in a separate room with no sink (so to wash your hands was a trip across the room) and it was the only hotel during our stay in Switzerland and Italy (from 4 stars to simple Inns) that did not have a bidet....which was disappointing! The property is a bit tired as the wallpaper in our bathroom was peeling as was the paint on the bathroom wood trim, there was a cigarette burn hole in our carpet which was also pretty stained... There is parking outside for 30CHF or inside for 35CHF per nite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel and staff were excellent. It was very clean and comfortable.
The only downside to this hotel is the area it is in, it's very safe but not the nicest looking area. Other than that, couldn't be happier!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend for only one night. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the main train station, but a good 20 minute walk from the main shopping area and the old town.
Its quite a nice walk along the lake though.

The area where the hotel is located is not great, i didnt feel unsafe, but there were guys selling drugs and prostitutes a few streets away. So maybe if you are a young family you might think of another hotel.

The hotel itself is really nice. With Indian inspired interiors and incense burning. Rooms are really nice, comfy bed and large bathroom with a bath.
Noise insulation could be better...we couldnt hear our neighbours but the maids made so much banging.
Another thing that could improve is the state of the corridors when the maids clean. They have trolleys, laundry and towels in the hallway, which means it is like an obstacle course to get to your room!! Also not good if there was a fire.

Breakfast was good. But i think the staff could be a little better. Everytime i wanted something i had to go and ask for it. They seemed to be a little lost doing their job....i mean its not like its a big breakfast room. It only seats 20 people!

Overall, a nice hotel but could with some small improvements. But no complaints about the room or cleanliness or service. All were very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everything excellent as a typical urban 3 star hotel, with the room well equiped and much bigger than expected. Provides parking at pretty good price for downtown (30 CHF for overnight til next 16:00, in backyard).
The location, although very convenient for eating, shopping and commuting by train, but didn't know it's kind of nightspot and a area that african and indian immigrants gethers. My wife feels unsafty walking outside in eveningtime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this hotel as a party of 7 adults. The hotel is very clean and the rooms (we all agreed) were very comfortable and well equipped for our stay. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but McCafe 2 minutes walk away had delicious freshly baked croissants and good coffee. The area is a little seedy, had not realised we were so close to it. But it in no way affected our stay. As expected everywhere was expensive. We took advantage of the 15% discount on the sister hotel Edelweiss on the Saturday night. It was typical Swiss cottage style with fondue food. With traditional Swiss entertainment. We had a great time. An advantage of Geneva is the free transportation card issued at the hotel. Use the boats, trams and buses to travel around the city and the train to the airport. Don't forget to pick up your free travel voucher in arrivals for your journey into the city centre.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel offers good quality at a reasonable for price. Room and bathroom were clean, size reasonable and bed was comfy. Hotel is conveniently located near the train station and public transit (public transit pass provided by hotel). My husband was working and with directions from the front desk staff, I walked to the old town (bit of a walk - some people may prefer public transit) and took public transit to the UN & Red Cross as well as CERN. While the neighbourhood is not as grand as the waterfront area (closer to the old town), I felt safe and it was very easy to get around. In the evening we either ate at the old town and walked back to the hotel or found a good local restaurant near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva
Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Pâquis-Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Geneva
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. City centre, near the Geneva lake and main station. 62 rooms and suites with air-conditioning. Kitchenettes. Minibar, Interactive TV. Business center free of charge. WiFi and internet connection free of charge. Laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Fastbooking, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.