We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Small and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

One of the Manotel hotels in Geneva. Very nice for a short stay in Geneva.
Good location, friendly staff and nice rooms.
Parking quite small, but it seems there is allways some free space.
Do not expect much for breakfast. Decent coffe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    298
    47
    14
    5
See reviews for
55
269
57
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel Kipling Manotel in Geneva, and it was a very good choice. We were to leave the next morning by a rented car to cross the Alps and end up in the Northern Italy lakes region.

We arrived in Geneva by train at around 6:30 PM and took the ten minute walk to the hotel. If you are unfamiliar with Geneva (as we were), you should ask a local for the direction to rue de Lauzanne (it's a main street) in order to take the correct exit from the train station. From rue de Lauzanne, turn right on rue de la Navigation, and it's about an extra thirty second walk to the Hotel.

We were warmly greeted by the reception, and properly briefed on breakfast, dinner, restaurants, etc, and were given tickets for the public transport and discounts to certain nearby restaurants. Then we were shown to the elevator to our room. The room was very clean and well furnished, and the beds were comfortable. Quite nice. The hotel has no restaurant (other than the "coffee shop" which is only used for breakfast, or drinks), but that's no problem because there are plenty of restaurant on rue de Lauzanne. The breakfast the next morning was quite adequate and the service was excellent. Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Travelled to Geneva with my family for 3 nights. Arrived late and went straight to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and the room was magnificent. The breakfast was minimum. The hotel is within walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here for my last business trip and really liked it! Like the "colonial" decor, the service and, for Geneva standards, reasonable price.

For a business traveller like myself it ticked all the boxes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Only spent the night but was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, comfort (great mattress!) and quality of the rooms. Front desk staff (two young men) were exceptionally (and genuinely) friendly and helpful. Paid extra for breakfast and glad I did: mango lassi to start, amazing coffee, and a great variety of cold options (overheard Americans complaining about lack hot/fried options though). I had asked for a quiet room and was dismayed to find myself on the first floor overlooking the entrance but the windows are quite soundproof. The area, as others have mentioned, is probably not the most savory for after-dark strolls - I wasn't particularly concerned but wold suggest caution for female visitors to the area.

Room Tip: I expect that rooms facing the back of the hotel would be quieter. There are no views to be had in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is okay - rooms a bit on the small side but nice. The area the hotel is in is not great but is near the main station which is useful. Didn't try breakfast so cannot comment there. Peanuts etc served with drinks from the bar were terrible. The general feeling between my colleagues and I was that the hotel was a bit overpriced for what it was - but then again this was Geneva! I slept very badly but not sure if that was the beds or what I had for dinner.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the 5th floor have a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Went there with our 2.5 yo, had a good time in the city and the hotel was all what we hoped and payed for. Very clean, not too much noise, convenient location if you're coming/departing by train or plane.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#9 Family Hotel in Geneva
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. City centre, near the Geneva lake and main station. 62 rooms and suites with air-conditioning. Kitchenettes. Minibar, Interactive TV. Business center free of charge. WiFi and internet connection free of charge. Laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.