We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 place de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Wilson)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
weymouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hoel Edelweiss with a friend in Nov 2012 overall we were very impressed the reception staff were very helpful and friendly and the whole place was spotless. The only thing letting this hotel down is the lack of a bar as the only way to get a drink is to eat in the restuarant. Beware as unless you have a main course you are charged a 15chf surcharge each which soured our experience of our stay somewhat. We asked several times if we could just have a starter as we had eaten earlier and were asured we could only to be given a bill with the 30chf surcharge on it. After a discussion with the manager this charge was removed and we were given a complimentary glass of wine with our dinner the next evening and the food was lovely. The transport pass was a big bonus and we made full use of the water taxi etc.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the square that was very pleasent and not at all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    220
    69
    13
    5
See reviews for
86
172
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Price is excellent
Room is excellent
Staff is excellent
I've stayed for 3 nights there and really it was very good experience. The check in was very fast. Room is clean. There is facility to make tea and coffee in room. Also, there is a very elegant restaurant for dinner inside the hotel, and if you are a guest you get 30% off the total invoice at restaurant. The employees are very professional and giving you that warm welcome. I even got a free public transport ticket to use during my stay. They arrange for shuttle bus to airport with only 15CHF. Definitely I would recommend it and will go there again when in Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Overall really enjoyed our stay.

The exterior of the building is not what I expected based on pictures of the interior. The area between it and the railway station and around is urban and multi-cultural.

The staff gave us a good welcome, complete with maps, restaurant discount vouchers and transit passes (take the boat across the lake even if you don't need to, quite special). The elevator is tiny but there is also a nice open staircase.

The room had the wall paneling and quaint swiss look. It also had plenty of counterspace, table and closet.

We could see the lake from our window and slept very well. Kids on good quality sofa bed us on a "King" (two singles). Bathroom appeared newly renovated, grey tile.

The price was relatively expensive but very reasonable compared to everything else around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

There were chocolates on the pilows. :) The hotel resturaunt was pretty good, the live band was very entertaining and enteractive. The elevator was pretty small, only big enough for one man. There were no ceiling lights there were only lamps. Over all quaint and peacful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaca, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Three adults stayed in this hotel for two nights. I choose it because I was looking for something with a “Suisse” flair. I realize that Geneva is a very expensive city and I am used to paying prices quite different in the United States, but paying $450 a night for this hotel was ludicrous. Yes, it is near the lake; probably about two or three blocks behind the hotel. However the small courtyard in front of the hotel had some questionable people mulling around. In fact there was a sofa about ten feet from the front door of the hotel. Also, during the entire day and night there were odd characters sitting outside the hotel with their laptops. I am assuming they were using the free Wi-Fi. When we entered the front desk staff was very kind; offering any assistance. We made reservations for dinner at the restaurant for the next evening. I was wondering why nobody offered to assist us with our bags. For that rate, you would think they would have a bellman. When we went to use the elevator, we were shocked to see how small it was. One person went to the top, the second person filled the elevator with bags and pushed to button to go to the seventh floor. The first person emptied the elevator and dragged the bags down the hall while the other two took turns coming up the elevator. For $450 a night . . . . really?? The room was as pictured on the internet. Wood paneling, etc. Two twins pushed together to make a king and a sofa bed for the third person. We opened the bathroom door to find quite a surprise; we went from charming wood to ultramodern brown tiled bathroom. Very pretty, yet the décor didn’t match the room at all. We then went out for the day and returned to this horrendous smell. I had previously read someone said their room had a sewer odor. Well it isn’t the sewer; it is the odors wafting from the restaurant downstairs. We all agreed we would cancel the reservations for the next evening. All in all, I would probably say this is a three star hotel at best. Location is iffy, would probably stay in the Old Town area if I would return to Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Veru good location close to the lake and far way enough from the red light district. Rooms are big, very nicley decorated, with very comfortable bed (although a bit small), good TV channel selection. The restaurant is very popular - we went there on a Mondey and it was fully booked - and offered some good show and entratainment besides very good traditional swiss food ( I had a delicious cheese fondue) with a very fast and careful services. Definetly I'd reccomend it to everybody travelling to Geneve

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is a nice enough hotel and I would probably stay again primarily because of location and value. Given the name Edelweiss, you have to expect a certain level of kitsch. ☺ You get that with the chalet décor, stuffed Saint Bernards and the restaurant experience. We went to the restaurant on a Saturday evening without making reservations. Little did we know that this place is a hot ticket and luckily there was a table for available for the two of us. All other seats were reserved. The fondue was tasty and we appreciated the 15%-off coupon we received from reception upon checking in. There is also live music that included some yodeling and cowbells. The two excellent musicians played, of course, an accordion and a variety of “horns”. The guys are fun and friendly and engage the patrons without making anyone feel silly. Make an effort to go to the restaurant one night. It is a lot of fun if not a little cheesy (excuse the pun).

The multi-lingual staff is very friendly and helpful. All Geneva hotels provide a free transportation coupon valid for the entire length of your stay in a hotel. Be sure you have it with you when using transport and you need to show it only if the “controleurs” are verifying that you have a valid pass. We needed to go to the UN area as well as explore the old town so this location was ideal, being in the middle between the two destinations, all 10-15 minutes away.

The room and bathroom were clean but a little worn. The bathroom stall is cramped but there was good water pressure and hot water. The bed was very comfortable and touted “ONREV pillow top mattresses”. Our double bed was smallish, about the same as an American full-sized bed. The room was street-side and a little noisy during business hours, quiet at night. However, the hotel itself was somewhat noisy due to other guests in the halls. There were a couple of groups staying--apparently one was a choir--and when the groups returned to their rooms it was a bit noisy.

The first night we went out for dinner and upon returning we were hit with the cheese smell and as another poster shared, it is a bit off-putting. (To avoid this experience, just go to the restaurant for dinner!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Address: 2 place de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Alps in the heart of Geneva. Come to the Hotel Edelweiss and delight in the warmth of an authentic Swiss chalet. - 42 Soundproofed, air-conditioned guest rooms - Non-smoking floors - Swiss restaurant << l'Edelweiss>> offering entertaining programs (open for dinner) - Breakfast (served from 07:00 to 10:30) - 24-h room service - 1 business centre, available free of charge (1 - PC with hi-speed internet access and printer) - Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel - Dry cleaning service - Iron and ironing board available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Edelweiss Geneva
Manotel Edelweiss Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.