We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41-43 rue de Lausanne, Geneva 1201 CH, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for about a week, and reading other tripadvisor reviews helped me to get a very good room: I followed the advice of other travellers and asked for an upgrade which was kindly given and got a room on the 6th floor facing the courtyard, nice and quiet. Excellent service at the reception from everyone, particularly Rossella at the front desk and Romain at the bistro'. Good and quick service with a smile. Got a very good rate for the hotel, around EUR 140 per night. Checkout was quick and precise. I even liked the food in the Bistro while I am normally not keen on hotel food. Good location, walking distance from the main train station (gare cornavin) which is about 5 minutes' walk. Tram stop is just outside. 4 stars all very well deserved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    263
    110
    28
    8
See reviews for
106
147
25
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights from New Year Eve. Excellent facilities and very helpful staff. First night room was on second floor a little noisy from trains but acceptable being so close to station. It rained in the night and the noise was horrendous as it fell off the roof onto window ledge. Phoned reception at 4am but thankfully rain did eventually stop. Moved to fourth floor for second night and had a great nights sleep. Rooms very comfortable good wifi and clean and tidy. Didn't use the restaurant and opted for breakfast out. A little expensive but plenty of other options. Can walk to station or use tram from outside hotel just one stop and free with hotel travel pass. Would use again but avoid second floor.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A well appointed hotel one tram stop from the station and thus the excellent local transport system. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was very comfortable with all facilities one would expect. We dined in the Bistro and while we found the food to be of a high standard it would be repetative if you were staying more than a few nights.

Room Tip: We has a room to the rear so there was no noise from outside to disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel was very nice. Our room was great! It was a suite. So we had a king size bed, a sofa bed, a kitchenette, an expresso maker, and a mini bar. Sometimes we had to ask for more coffee. They didn't charge for it but didn't always replenish. The entire staff was very helpfull and polite, and everyone at the front desk spoke English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here one night for business before Christmas. It is smart, relatively grand and with helpful staff. My room was spacious and comfortable and although located above the street on the 6th floor there was no noise from outside. Breakfast seemed rather expensive for what it was (or maybe that is just Switzerland) and if I was staying on my own account I would certainly think again about taking it.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk away from Lake Geneva and I gather within easy reach of the old town. Perhaps due to its proximate location to the train station, there were a few unsavoury characters in the nearby streets late at night. However, it was perfectly pleasant during the daytime.

We used their meeting facilities which were fit for purpose.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lovely hotel, old fashioned classy decor, lovely room dressings, comfortable beds (at last). Not cheap but worth it.

Breakfast is lovely, expensive but nice to stay in hotel rather than finding a local cafe.

Near to Station so good for trundling your suitcases. Shops close by, short stroll into Lake, Centre and Cartier!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I usually stay at the Autieul down the block, but they were full so I was moved to the Royal. It is an excellent example of high efficiency and quality Swiss hotel management. We had a double room that was very large by local standards without paying the grand hotel prices down by the lake. It is very convenient - about 2 blocks from the train station and the tram stops right in front. Given that all hotels in Geneva provide free tram cards for the duration of your stay, this is a positive.

From a work perspective, the desk space is adequate and the free wifi is great. The staff are very helpful and efficient.

The restaurant is fine. Full breakfast is VERY expensive, but also very complete. When you book, see if you can get a discount on the breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are a train freak, ask for a room facing the train yards. Otherwise, ask for a room in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#8 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#20 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Address: 41-43 rue de Lausanne, Geneva 1201 CH, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.