We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41-43 rue de Lausanne, Geneva 1201 CH, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“New Year stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights from New Year Eve. Excellent facilities and very helpful staff. First night room was on second floor a little noisy from trains but acceptable being so close to station. It rained in the night and the noise was horrendous as it fell off the roof onto window ledge. Phoned reception at 4am but thankfully rain did eventually stop. Moved to fourth floor for second night and had a great nights sleep. Rooms very comfortable good wifi and clean and tidy. Didn't use the restaurant and opted for breakfast out. A little expensive but plenty of other options. Can walk to station or use tram from outside hotel just one stop and free with hotel travel pass. Would use again but avoid second floor.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    225
    94
    22
    8
See reviews for
82
125
21
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A well appointed hotel one tram stop from the station and thus the excellent local transport system. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was very comfortable with all facilities one would expect. We dined in the Bistro and while we found the food to be of a high standard it would be repetative if you were staying more than a few nights.

Room Tip: We has a room to the rear so there was no noise from outside to disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel was very nice. Our room was great! It was a suite. So we had a king size bed, a sofa bed, a kitchenette, an expresso maker, and a mini bar. Sometimes we had to ask for more coffee. They didn't charge for it but didn't always replenish. The entire staff was very helpfull and polite, and everyone at the front desk spoke English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here one night for business before Christmas. It is smart, relatively grand and with helpful staff. My room was spacious and comfortable and although located above the street on the 6th floor there was no noise from outside. Breakfast seemed rather expensive for what it was (or maybe that is just Switzerland) and if I was staying on my own account I would certainly think again about taking it.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk away from Lake Geneva and I gather within easy reach of the old town. Perhaps due to its proximate location to the train station, there were a few unsavoury characters in the nearby streets late at night. However, it was perfectly pleasant during the daytime.

We used their meeting facilities which were fit for purpose.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lovely hotel, old fashioned classy decor, lovely room dressings, comfortable beds (at last). Not cheap but worth it.

Breakfast is lovely, expensive but nice to stay in hotel rather than finding a local cafe.

Near to Station so good for trundling your suitcases. Shops close by, short stroll into Lake, Centre and Cartier!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I usually stay at the Autieul down the block, but they were full so I was moved to the Royal. It is an excellent example of high efficiency and quality Swiss hotel management. We had a double room that was very large by local standards without paying the grand hotel prices down by the lake. It is very convenient - about 2 blocks from the train station and the tram stops right in front. Given that all hotels in Geneva provide free tram cards for the duration of your stay, this is a positive.

From a work perspective, the desk space is adequate and the free wifi is great. The staff are very helpful and efficient.

The restaurant is fine. Full breakfast is VERY expensive, but also very complete. When you book, see if you can get a discount on the breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are a train freak, ask for a room facing the train yards. Otherwise, ask for a room in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Solid business hotel less than five minutes walk from main train station, shops and 10 minutes to old town.

Several reasonable but not fancy restaurants nearby. Good transport options and connections. Very good service and assistance from staff. Free wifi reliable and on the room.

Two flaws: expensive 30 francs breakfast. And rear section rooms can definitely hear the low rumble from passing trains. Other comments hear suggest front rooms have traffic noise, but I think that would have to less significant (and normal for Europe) than the train noise. While not too loud, would definitely suggest front rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Address: 41-43 rue de Lausanne, Geneva 1201 CH, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. City centre, between the lake and the United Nations. 202 rooms and suites. 2 business corners, WiFi and Internet connection, free of charge. Restaurant Le Duo and cosy bar with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.