We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work trip accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Rue de la Fleche, Geneva 1207, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Work trip accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed at Sagitta for 7 nights in December. I was booked here by the company i work for, and I also had reccomendation from one of the colleagues at work.
Things i was happy with:
1. Good breakfast, although not all the staff serving breakfast speaks english, this was a bit of an issue for me, since i only speak english and german. at the end of the day, it is breakfast not a talk show, so i managed.
2. Free Internet - they have good internet coverage, i was on the 1st floor, and had 2 access points to choose from.
3. Clean bathroom, staff always made my room clean.


Things I was less impressed with:
1. some of the furnishings in the room did seem a little worn, some of the chairs and bed covers.


Overall I had a good stay, the hotel is probably less than 10 minutes from the "Jet d'Eau" and ferry boats taking you across the lake geneva. Also trams run 100m from the hotel door, so it is really easy to get around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
31
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've stayed in this hotelfor about 3 weekd in august while on business trip and at the first days i was really shoked. It's definetelly not 3 star hotel, but seems more like a dorm (it reminded me my dormitory back in university), while the price is rather high (in aug 2011 it costed 165 CHF/ night), but probably is average for geneva
The room looks gloomy and everything , including bed, bed sheets, furniture is very very old, bed sheets are grey and i think they change it maximum once a week, there are stains on the table, lavatory etc.
They have a very small kitchenette, which is good (and actually was the only reason why i didn't move away immediatelly), but it doesn't have a kettle for water boiling and all the untensilies are without covers (so difficul to cook). Fridge is small (80 cm) but it's ok for one person.
Althoug it's named a 3 star hotel they don't have a minibar, neither the bathroom is well provided with higienical staff (only a low quality soap and shampoo).
Cleaning is ok (even thoug being very old and smelly it's difficul to clean well), they also wash your dishes if you leave any.
The reception personal is friendly (they smile on you) but not very helpfull at all. They also made a huge mistake with my payment and didn't even try to help me to solve it. Generally be carefull with returning you "security deposit under arrival" - it's never returned fast and automatically (as it always happens in other countries) to your bank account.
There is a free wi fi, but it doesn't work properly and the signal level is not very strong.
Breakfast is rather poor and from warm staff they only have bolied eggs. The variety of frits, cheeses, yougurts etc. is also very limited.
I also tried to iron my clothes in te room (they provided me with the iron), but after 1 minute the electricity went away.
The second advantage is a location - it's very close to the lake, to the city center, shops etc. And also close to the tram station.
So, I can reccomend this hotel only if you are intended to stay long and really need a kind of "appartment stay" and kitchen to cook (because it's exepnsive to eat out in geneva).
If you are for short trip you definetelly can find a better (really 3 star) hotel for more or less the same price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Geneva and were very pleased with Hotel Sagitta. The hotel is located very close to the old town and getting around was very easy with the free city transportation pass they provide you. The room was very nice, clean, air conditioned and had a small kitchen. The front desk staff was very helpful both in solving problems (we had with our train tickets) and, most important, giving us excellent advice about getting around Geneva, what to see, good restaurants, etc. The breakfast was a good continental type buffet. I highly recommend this hotel and would have given it 5*s except that the public spaces needed a little upgrading to make them as first rate as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed at this 3-star hotel for 5 nights in September 2011. The price, which is bewildering in US standards, is not exceptional in this VERY expensive country.

Location: it is located 1 km east of the central shopping area of Geneva, Rue de Marche, in a nice neighborhood. Various food, grocery and other shops can be found around. Just 500 meters from the Jet d'Eau. A tram stop is 100 meters away, served by 3 lines, to city center, the railway station etc.

Room: The double room has a size of about 25 square meters. It has a kitchenette with a fridge, stove, dishes and pots. No micro, no coffee making machine. The furniture is basic, not antique, just plain and old-looking. No radio or clock. Color TV. It is kept clean. No extra pillows or sheets and covers. Maybe you can ask for them. The A/C is very poor, the first 3 days were hot and the A/C just didn't make a big difference.

Breakfast: Good. Cereals, yoghurts, bread, croissants, juices, eggs, jelly, salami. No vegetables or cream cheese.

WiFi: This is a major problem. The bandwidth is very small so communications are VERY slow. Don't rely on being able to make contact when you need it. The staff at the front-desk is friendly but couldn’t help.

To summarize, I would define this as a "below average" when comparing to US hotels' standards. However, I heard from colleagues who stayed on the same days in other hotels, that many suffered from the same problems: high prices, very bad WiFi, bad air-conditioning, so maybe this is the Swiss way to make tourism business.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

we stayed here twice. Rooms were shabby with mould on shower curtain, and holes in bedspread. On second occasion had to move because of strong cigarette smells. All rooms have ashtrays - eventhough we were told there was no smoking allowed. Eventhough there are kitchenettes, these do not come equiped with kettles or toasters. Some staff tried hard.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed at Hotel Sagitta for 2 nights in Sept 2010. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apt, which has a living area (with 2 single beds), dining area with a dining table, a small kitchenette, one bedroom with a double bed, and a bathroom. It is one of the more affordable hotels I can find in Geneva that's NOT located in the red light district.

Location:
Convenient and safe. It's about a 7-min walk to the English Garden and lakeside. Geneva is so small that you can practically walk to most tourist sites. There is a tram stop just around the corner from the hotel, where you can take Line #16 directly to the train station (where you can connect for the train to the airport). Just 1/2 block from the tram stop is a Migros supermarket where you can pick up groceries to cook in the room.

The hotel is on a small street with little traffic, so one can sleep well without much outside noise.

Room:
We thought the 1BR apt is of a very good size. The kitchenette is small (mini-fridge, 2 cook tops), but we were still able to make simple dinners using the available facilities.

There is an in-room safe which we used without any incident. Free wi-fi worked well in our room.

Breakfast:
Buffet breakfast is included in room rate. It has a decent selection with cereal, cold cuts, breads, cheeses, jams, juices, yougurts etc.

Overall, we were very pleased with Hotel Sagitta and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniard in UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

I was looking for a not very expensive hotel in Geneva and as central as possible and I came across the Sagitta hotel. The reviews were a bit mixed, but a lot of them said that it was what you would expect for the price paid, so I decided to go for it.
I booked a standard room, but on arrival I was upgraded to an apartment as they didn't have any standard rooms left.
The apartment was enormous! One bedroom, a huge living-room, kitchen and bathroom. I have to say that the decoration is not very modern, but I've been to 4-5 star hotels that didn't look much better... Having said that, it was clean and clutter-free, and the whole wall was covered in windows, which made it also very light.
The man in reception was very professional and helpful, can't find anything to complain about.
Breakfast was good, in a small room, but no problems getting a table at all... Also lady serving breakfast very nice.
Finally, the tram is around the corner, and you can walk to the jet d'eau in 10 minutes.
All in all, a very positive experience. Next time I need to go to Geneval I'll definitely check this place again :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: 6, Rue de la Fleche, Geneva 1207, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagitta Swiss Quality Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.