We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel N'vY

Save Saved
You added Hotel N'vY to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel N'vY
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Rue de Richemont, Geneva 1202, Switzerland (Le Prieuré)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and were disappointed. The hotel charges five star rates but it falls short. The rooms are fine and the bathrooms a reasonable size but the hotel itself is quite noisy and in a red light location. There was loud music and crazy lighting in the lobby at night. The worst for me was the really bad breakfast buffet. Most food ran out by 8am and there wasn't much to begin with. Also on our last night the room rates doubled because a conference was on which we were not told about and was just blatant extortion. Overall not worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    104
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
105
9
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton keynes
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

A closed GVA caused our unexpected stay at this hi tech funky palace. If you like modern, citizen m or luxury at a good price... It's a winner. Nothing bad to say, love the tech and the plumbing. Great breakfast !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel N'vY, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you you for your great comment. Happy that you could enjoy an unexpected situation. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel - it's two minutes from the lake so you can go for a run - in addition to using their small but adequate gym and two minutes the other way to the tram. The staff were super friendly and the price fairly reasonable for the location and quality of the facilities and room (not always easy to find in Geneva...). I will definitely stay there whenever I return to Geneva.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E.Business Manager at Hotel N'vY, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We thank you for your good comments about our hotel N'vY. Yes, you are very welcomed for your next trips to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hi,

I am a 37 year old Canadian, I booked into this hotel in January 2013 for 3 nights....the hotel was relatively empty and we were on the 5th floor (second from top). The hotel has been redone with upbeat lighting and the room was fantastic. a King size bed and separate washroom....the room was brand new and had all type of plug connections, excellent tv and very clean....the Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful....I give this hotel a 5 out of 5...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel N'vY, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your great comment and 5/5! We woudl be happy to welcome you back for a next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in November just after the reopening but while construction was still underway. We knew about the disruption, lack of services, and noise before we committed, so the hotel cannot be faulted for that. Still, day-long hammering on the 6th floor definitely permeated our room on the 5th floor, and early morning deliveries outside made sleeping late difficult. We often found the room too hot, especially under the down comforters which were heavy enough to use in the Alps, outdoors. However, the windows could open and we used that to cool off even though the street noise was more audible. For white noise, we turned on the fan from the air conditioner (which was turned off for the season).

The rooms are big enough for 2 people to live in comfortably. They're going for an "edgy" style, which means some unique color choices (dark purple and chartreuse, for example, with giraffe-print carpeting). The black toilet in the black-tiled alcove is a bit of a challenge to find in the dark at night if you're trying not to wake your roommate. The shower floor is tiled with cobbles – cool! – and the shower head is one of those new "rain" types with an optional hand wand. There's not much counter space and what is there is cluttered with trays and little bottles that tip over when you so much as look at them.

The TV-sound system is very nice. We had the proper cable to hook up an mp3 player to it so we could use the speakers to play our own music, but there are many choices for both audio and TV stations. There's a color light that washes the wall above the desk that can be changed depending on your mood that was probably expensive and is fairly useless, really. Hint: the hair dryer is kept in the desk drawer.

Buffet breakfast was served and as most people have noted is overpriced at 30 Swiss francs, so we never tried it. Our room had a closet with microwave (not usable yet in November) and mini-fridge (we managed to hook that up and use it), plus a sink. We were given use of it for no extra cost but were told it would be an extra 60 francs per day in future when it was properly functional. If that's correct, at that price, I'd skip it and empty and use the minibar fridge instead (put it all back in when you're done). Everyone also has an electric kettle. I'd usually go to the big dept. store Manor, near the train station, stock up on breakfast and lunch stuff, and eat cheaply and well. There are also tons of good restaurants nearby. One we especially liked was Indochine, across Rue de Lausanne, a few blocks toward the train station.

The staff were delightful. The common areas were very limited in Nov., just a tiny lobby with a desk and a few chairs, plus some oddly fascinating floral arrangements.

I used the exercise room several times. It's small, the treadmill was out of order, but the rowing machine and elliptical were working, and there's a fitball and weights. It was fine for my needs, and I never saw anyone else in it.

The location is wonderful, close to the tram and the lake. All the surrounding streets are fairly quiet - this hotel is not on a main road at all. If you're there for UN meetings like we were, it's perfect. We're headed back this year and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My previous review applied to Hotel Epsom, which this place used to be - a quiet, classy little place. The new management has put significant effort into making the new hotel seem like a loud, color-clashing diskotek. I find the concept of a hip hotel in Geneva odd, which has to be the least hip city in the world. If you are here, then it probably involves either banking or the United Nations. Wish they had put as much time into its functionality as appearance. What I liked about the hotel was: (1) good location; (2) nice breakfast although not included; and (3) very helpful staff. What I did not like: (1) mood lighting that turned on randomly in the middle of the night; (2) elevators that at times smelled very strongly of gasoline; (3) plugging in the coffee maker and losing all electricity at four in the morning, needing to call staff to come up and help; (4) poor exercise room; and (5) international channels working sporadically. I know it may not be typical but irons/ironing board in the rooms would have been a nice touch.

Room Tip: One wing of this hotel is under construction, but hopefully you won't hear anything from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel N'vY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel N'vY

Address: 18 Rue de Richemont, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Le Prieuré
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#13 Business Hotel in Geneva
#17 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel N'vY 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel N’vY Manotel, fully renovated in 2012, is centrally located just a stone's throw from the lake and close to the United Nations. Full of spaces where energy and emotion flow freely and where technology merges with life, Hotel N'vY boasts a boho-chic lifestyle. This new concept replaces need with desire.The modern and sophisticated rooms at the Hotel N’vY feature a flat-screen HD TV, VOD, soundbar, a multi-media plug, ambient lighting (chromotherapy). Free Wi-Fi and wired internet are also provided.Tag's Café offers food to take away or to eat in, in a setting with a relaxed New York vibe. Customers can use our touchscreen tables as well as tablet computers. The exclusive design was created by Meres One, the renowned graffiti artist and lends the space an urban, non-conformist feel.At the heart of the hotel sits N'vY Bar - spacious, connected and comfortable – it symbolises the spirit of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel N'vY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epsom Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel N'vY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.