We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYING AT THE CORNAVIN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cornavin Hotel Geneva to your Saves list
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 blvd James Fazy | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (James-Fazy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“STAYING AT THE CORNAVIN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Brilliant location and views from our high floor room. Nice, clean, staff effective and friendly, they seem able to do 2 things at once. Food OK - no more. My wife and I paid about £300 per night including breakfast and dinner,good value in one of the world's most expensive cities. For a value, good mid range hotel, look no further.
Taking a taxi fro the rank outside, we were relentlessly abused by the driver - apparently our ride was too short for his liking, but then I've had a New York cabbie ask me if I'd left my brains at home and a London one if I didn't just hate them all - I think he meant Jews. Perhaps one has to expect abuse or racial rants from cabbies round the world, with Hollywood's finest. So if you take a cab, specially for a short trip, from outside the Cornavin, prepare to take flack.

Room Tip: Stick to the higher floors, the extra charge is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    238
    116
    40
    23
See reviews for
70
110
44
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

good news: just next building to the railway. rooms are big. price is ok. reception is nice.
bad news: hotel is not new, and you see'll it. you'll see marks of time there =)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of our tour - a great location in Geneva. Right next to the train station so very very easy to get to especially with luggage!

The free transport cards given at reception are a great bonus and all our appointments were an easy tram ride away and once we got our bearings we walked everywhere.

Rooms were large and well appointed - internet was down all weekend which was an issue for most of our group as we were traveling for business and needed to be in touch with our own hotels/resorts back in Fiji.

Staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. Amazing hot chocolate at breakfast.

We ended up hiring a car and heading to Mt Blanc for the day, a must if you have time whilst in Geneva. We did breakfast in Switzerland, lunch in Italy and Dinner in France and then back to the hotel by 9pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOREST HILLS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I normally write my hotel reviews after checkout, however, i have seen enough of this Hotel, to be able to give them great reviews. The hotel is situated right across the Cornavin train station. At the reception we were given free Transport cards to ride the trams. Our room is modern, sufficient with stunning views of the lake, and Mt Blanc. We have kettle with free tea and coffee in the room. Unless you plan to stay by the lake side, this will be an excellent choice for Geneva. As they say the fish smells from the head, well, this fish smells good.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, commencing 06/04/12.
We took the train from the airport to the station in Geneva ... only one stop. The hotel is conveniently situated beside Geneva train station ... and easy to get to once you’ve established a route negotiating the various sets of escalators and the maze of underground shops.
Upon arrival ... the reception staff were friendly and the check-in process quick. We received a Geneva Transport Card, providing free use of the city’s bus and tram network, for use during our stay.
We were allocated a room on the 9th floor, looking out across the train station. The double room, with ample storage space, was clean and comfortable. The bathroom set-up was okay for a couple, as only a coloured frosted glass partition separated the bathroom area from the bedroom area.
The continental buffet breakfast wasn’t really my cup of tea, but did provide a good selection (... we had booked up for bed and breakfast)
Although our room that over-looking the train station (... room number 919), we had no issue with noise during our stay (... windows closed during the night).
The hotel is well situated in the centre of the main tourist attractions. Would use it again.
Switzerland doesn’t open on a Sunday!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We travelled to Geneva by car as we live in Switzerland however this hotel is more suited to people arriving by train or plane as the hotel has no parking. There is the train station parking right infornt but it is very very expensive. We had to park our car in a public parking around 1.5 km away from the hotel in order not to be charged too much for parking.
Otherwise the hotel is situated in the centre and within easy reach, by foot, of the main tourist attractions. Rooms are quite spacious and clean. Breakfast is continental but enough variety to get you going for the day. It is also served on the 8th floor so you can see the Jet d'Eau and if the visibility is good you can get a good glimpse of the Mont Blanc.
As for Geneva it did not impress us much as a city. Nearby Lausanne is nicer and if you have a car you could also visit the French city of Annecy which is very worth seeing (for one day) and only 20-30 min drive.

Room Tip: The higher the room you get the better view of the city you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

If you are staying in Geneva and need easy connection to the station then this is the hotel to stay in. Its opposite the main Geneva station. We were on the top floor room with amazing view of the Jet D'eau and the city - this is one of their best rooms so be sure to book this if possible. The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast room is also well placed, though very less choices in the hot food section.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor room with amazing view of the Jet D'eau and the city - this is one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Address: 23 blvd James Fazy | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornavin Hotel Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.