We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in a Glacier Mint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristal Design

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cristal Design to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Design
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Pradier, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Cornavin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Staying in a Glacier Mint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel had a major upgrade a couple of years ago and is now seriously stylish. However frosted glass walls and furniture (pale green) coupled with a glass effect floor, ice blue soft furnishings and many mirrors give the impression of staying in an ice cube or mint sweet. It is warm and comfortable and has all amenities. Contrary to previous reviews, I found all the staff pleasant and helpful. Free wi-fi, a free Geneva bus pass and a central location surrounded by places to eat make this a good choice. Much better than other hotels nearby. Access to the gym at sister hotel the Cornavin.

Room Tip: Try and get a rate which includes breakfast as this is expensive when paid separately...alternately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    136
    43
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
68
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room itself was nice enough with the exception of the glass bathroom doors which were a bit strange but the staff were the rudest most unfriendly staff of any hotel that I have ever stayed in. The Asian man and the blonde woman were the two worst and so rude. The owners of the hotel need to have a word with them as they have certainly put me off every staying at the hotel again and apparently according to other guests we spoke to while staying we aren't the only one's who won't be back because of how rude they were.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family of six had three rooms at this hotel on an overnight in Geneva last week. The location is just outside the main train station so it was perfect as we arrived on a train and then took a train back to the airport to fly back to the US. The location is also very close to the lakefront in Geneva, a 5 to 7 minute walk. The only issue is that the rooms are small. The front desk person was extremely helpful and suggested three restaurants one of which we enjoyed. I wouild stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great hotel...10 mins walk from Cornavin Station.
Reception staff let us check-in early 10.30am.
Stylish,functional rooms..very clean.
Lots of bars,cafes and restuarants within a few hundred metres.
Great value..excellent !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had been there 5 years ago and the hotel was awful. They closed the place down and remodeled it. It is now a design hotel. Once you get in you have the feeling of a deja vú.... but when I opened the door to the room, what a delightful surprise. Modern desing, use all the space in the room. Nice to the eye. Breakfast is OK for Geneva. Central location. Near everything one can need in Geneva.
Not to mention service: recpetion desk great, cleaning great etc...

Room Tip: Even the single rooms are not bad. But if you can get a nice rate for a double, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here because of a special offer on a booking site but this place is expensive for what you get.. but it is geneva! . the location is great just 5 minutes from the train station and 10 minutes to the lake. This 'hotel' is more like a grown up hostel. I had a single room which was tiny with a single bed. The 'design' is cool, in that its ultra modern and futuristic but in may ways to me it resembled college dorm rooms that were dressed up. The staff were helpful at check in. Printers and computers are available downstairs which is helpful. Theres a star bucks next door for all your coffee needs too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is my first tripadvisor review. I am not a complainer. But I am willing to spend a few minutes so you can avoid unpleasant experience in Geneva. My husband and I have many many countries and stayed many hotels. The front desk staff in this hotel needs some help!

1. The guy at the front desk told us to go to bus 8 at the train station to mount veyrier for cable car. When we got train station, we found out bus 8 has two destinations. My husband got back to the hotel to ask the gentleman. He refused to tell him. Here is his words " you just like the other customers who stayed in this hotel, you guys don't listen. I told you one time and I am not going to repeat myself".

2. Our daughter is 3 and we paid a baby cot. We found she only has a very thin blue blanket. We asked if we can get some towel or anything. The lady with long curly hair at the front desk said " the cleaning lady has gone home and I don't have the key." No further word and not even look at us. Colder than the room at night.

3. Breakfast. Again the curly hair lady. She said " I worked a few hotels in Geneva, if you book through booking.com, then your breakfast is not included". She wants to charge us 16-17 dollars per person. Why no one ask us room number when we get to breakfast area? Why no one tell us anything when we check in? Breakfast is very simple. Cold cheese and ham, no egg. We used booking.com to book more than hundreds hotels. Never heard one time that because of booking.com so breakfast is not included. Because we know there is breakfast option when you book a hotel.

This hotel has a great location. Room is simple but it is fine. But front desk people need some customer service training. So you will have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristal Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Design

Address: 4 Rue Pradier, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Design 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel located 50 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cristal Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristal Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.