We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for non French speaking persons” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Musee Rath

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Musee Rath
Place Neuve, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Hollande)
(0)22 418 33 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 65 Attractions in Geneva
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not for non French speaking persons”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent 10mins there and clueless what the exhibition was about. It was a collection of fabrics, maybe is about dying?
The locker is CHF2 but is refundable just like any museums in Switzerland

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Missed opportunities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This museum houses temporary exhibitions. At present (until the end of March) it is showing a collection of material about the history of Lebanon. On show are a variety of artefacts, from pre-history up to the 17th century.

We find that prehistoric items generally work most effectively in a museum when the organisation and explanatory boards tell a story which those objects illustrate and illuminate. They can then hold greater meaning for a visitor, even if they may at first sight appear puzzling or unprepossessing. But the explanations here are all in French only (not even in Lebanese Arabic, spoken today in the Lebanon). And we did not find them to be as informative as we would have liked. On the lower floor there was a video of excavations which could have been highly informative. But the sound was so low that it was mostly unintelligible. And the screen was squashed in a corner, making viewing difficult and uncomfortable.

On the upper floor the layout was a little easier. Three mosaics from the Roman period were better-displayed, as was some beautiful clothing. But again here, when there was an opportunity to illuminate for visitors the purple dyes for which the Phoenecians were famous, the explanations sadly left much to be desired.

Altogether we felt that a wonderful opportunity was largely missed by those who presented this exhibition. We are very interested in early Lebanon and the Phoenecians in particular, so you could say that we were an ideal audience. But we learned very little and did not enjoy our visit as we had hoped to.

If you look online at publicity for this exhibition you will find a far greater emphasis put upon the curators and contributing institutions, and much lesser attention to the content of the exhibition from a visitor's point of view. We think that this apparent self-absorption of those who set the exhibition up is reflected in its result — one that does not focus on the visitor as it should.

For the only time in visiting many museums in Geneva, we found staff here to be less than pleasant or efficient. My partner uses a mobility scooter and the access for her to the museum was rickety and quite unnerving. Some staff operating the system lacked necessary knowledge; others were far too gung-ho. We felt neither safe nor welcome.

A missed opportunity to inform and delight.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afula, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small, has potential; could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great location near the Grand Theater. Major complaint: no explanations in English; really unfair and diminishes from the exhibit's educational impact. Service and explanations by reception were kind of unpleasant. There are lockers for a 2 Swiss Franc deposit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Small Art museum with temporary rotating exhibits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is an art museum situated in a beautiful setting, right next to the Grand Theater and close by the reformation wall. It is pretty small and thus not large enough to house permanent collections. When I went, there was a temporary contemporary art exhibit. It was really ugly stuff. No offense, but I think my 3 year old could have done better. :(

Because of the temporary nature of the exhibits, I'd encourage you to decide for yourself if you like it. Entrance is free if you have the Geneva pass (which can be purchased from the Geneva Tourism center.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Musee Rath also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Le Musee Rath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Musee Rath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.