We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel F6

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel F6 to your Saves list
Design Hotel F6
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ferrier 6, Geneva 1202 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Design Hotel F6. The good news is that the service is really good. The front desk staff arranged a (very early) check-in, booked cabs which came immediately, and were generally quite helpful. The hotel is situated in a good location to get to the World Health Organization and Geneva-based diplomatic missions. The bad news is that it was incredibly expensive for a very small, dark room. The room was serviceable -- clean, comfortable, basic necessities (including large tv) -- but certainly not worth $650 a night (in any city!) You can walk to the lake and the old town from the hotel, but the streets around the hotel itself are a bit sketchy and nondescript. A dog had done his business right outside the hotel, and it sat there all day. I would look for a different alternative next time I'm in Geneva.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    110
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
20
75
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

You can't fault the design hotel f6 for a pleasant stay in Geneva. Comfy rooms and beds for a great price, and we got breakfast. I dare to say we haven't stayed in a hotel of this comfort that includes breakfast in South Africa where we live. We stayed 2 nights a week apart. Only gripe was that we payed a taxi driver 37 francs on arrival when we simply could have hopped on the tram at Cornavin station. They get us tourists every time!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The design of this hotel, not surprisingly, is modern, sleek, and quite nice. It is also fraying around the edges, however.

The hotel is a tram stop away from Gare Cornavin on the line toward the Palais des Nations, and therefore an easy connection from the airport. It is nestled between a main street (Rue Lausanne) and the train tracks in a nondescript location, but it is convenient.

The hotel's spa, sauna, and fitness center are terrific. Breakfast is not distinctive but certainly adequate. The wi-fi internet is free but can be a bit spotty. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The room itself was nice, though the "design" element here was just satisfactory. Not a problem, but not as precise or high-quality as the marketing materials or the public areas of the hotel might imply. And the bathroom facilities were fine, but rusting and wear around the fixtures suggest that the place could deteriorate quickly.

I've stayed at other locations in the area before, and did not find Design Hotel F6 to be remarkable, and it wasn't a great comparative value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The facility is recently renovated, the decor is great and still has a fresh feel. The staff is extremely helpful - they kept the reception desk open beyond work hours to accommodate our late arrival. breakfast quality was quite good considering that it was included in room rate.
Overall I was very pleased with my choice of this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Designhotelf6, General Manager at Design Hotel F6, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As a matter of fact we just undertook the renovation of the rooms and we particularly worked on the design of the rooms and the technology part within the rooms. More specifically, we integrated the latest Samsung LED 46" TV and (soon 55") TV with 150 channels provided by Naxoo in Geneva. We can offer now HD TV and like 40 English channels with superior viewing experience, which is really unique in Geneva. At the end we are trying to offer our guests a 5* experience at the price of a 3*. It is hard work but more and more customers are coming back to the f6, maybe for the super equipped fitness, or for the interior design, or for the overall atmosphere and central location.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The interior is very new in a 'boutique hotel' style. Its not lavish obviously for the price but my room was immaculate, well designed and everything looked new. The bathroom was perfect and totally clean, sheets were good quality and there was a huge TV at the end of the bed plus a mini bar, hairdryer, Nespresso machine etc.
Breakfast is simple but very fresh and the dinning area is, again very trendy and well designed. The staff were super helpful and even called up to my room when I didn't know how to work the Nespresso to make sure I had worked it out. Towels were changed daily and the area is perfectly safe and only a 5-7 min walk to the train station. I always stay 4-5 star and I know what I am taking about, I don't know how you can fault this hotel for the price ! It also has gym what more do you want!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great. We had a lovely room on the top floor which felt very cosy.

Pros: design of hotel is nice, homey but modern, the temperature in the room was perfect, comfortable bed, well equipped room, great buffet breakfast, nice staff, located very close to main station and walkable distance to the old town, a lovely gym with brand new equipment, sauna and other extras like umbrellas, a public computer and coffee/tea machine in rooms and in the common area

Cons: Internet sometimes had too many people online so we couldn't access it, small bathroom - but that didnt bother us, and the location is not very picturesque but I don't think that matters as everything is in walking distance!

Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Extremely small rooms with non-functiuning amenities. Repairmen showed-up half a dozen of times to fix TV/lights and check electric cables for neighbouring rooms. Personnel could not care less. Extremely uncomfortable bed as well. Avoid if you can!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Design Hotel F6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel F6

Address: Rue Ferrier 6, Geneva 1202 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel F6 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the center of Geneva, between the Cornavin railway station and the "Place des Nations" (United Nations main square), close to the lake, 10 minutes away from the Cointrin International Airport, at walking distance of the International Organisations. To make your stay enjoyable, the hotel offers:- Business center (freely available)- 2 conference rooms with advanced technology- Fitness Center with private coach (appointment)- Wellness Center with Sauna and Hammam- Massage room with masseur (appointment)- Free Wifi in the hotel- High speed Internet and color printer- iPhone / iPod loader / alarm clock in all the rooms- Nespresso coffee machines in all the rooms- Underground Garage- Free public transport cards. A state of the art video surveillance system (24/24) ensures the guests safety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Design Hotel F6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel F6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.