We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard for an Ibis and short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Geneve Centre Gare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Geneve Centre Gare to your Saves list
Ibis Geneve Centre Gare
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Rue Voltaire, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Standard for an Ibis and short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night for a quick trip to Geneva. The hotel is situated very close to the Centre Gare which made it ideal for solo travellers and small groups. The room was a twin bedroom with two small single beds and was relatively small with a small shower room. Highly recommended if you are looking for a place to just sleep in and for a short period of time. The main down side to the room was the lack of electric sockets- only one for the whole room! So if you are looking to stay for a business trip then perhaps an extra socket lead may help. Otherwise good hotel with nice and friendly staff. Perfect for a quick and carefree stay!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    97
    68
    20
    2
See reviews for
45
57
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed in a fair few Ibis hotels, and this one is instantly recognisable as part of the chain. The people on reception were good and I never had to wait long (mind you, I checked out at 7am on a Saturday). However, the room was the smallest I have encountered in an Ibis. Okay for me on my own, but pretty small for two. I was on the road side in wet weather. I sleep quite easily, but I was conscious of the noise coming through the window from time to time. I was also extremely hot, despite having the window open.

I guess the room had been made up by a short person who had not seen the used cotton bud sitting on a high shelf that I could easily see. I also guess that they did not have time to sit on the bed and see the electrical wires and trunking hanging off the underside of the counter under the window.

I didn't have breakfast. I may have had superior wifi because of my loyalty status, but it was very good.

The location is quite good for public transport but there is a big Salvation Army hostel just round the back and you feel rather overdressed in the vicinity of the hotel if you are wearing a tie.

All in all, pretty fair for the money. I might even book again (if the Ramada Encore is full).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road
See more room tips
Green Features: They could help the environment by using less energy to heat their hotel!
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

More than one Ibis hotel in Geneva which is confusing, reception staff very helpful, breakfast basic and too expensive at 16CHF, room too hot, too small, no bar fridge, no kettle, bathroom tiny, too expensive, not great position either for the price

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis2154, Assistant Manager at Ibis Geneve Centre Gare, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments about our staff .

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We do understand your disapointement regarding the temperature in the room, however, please note that air conditioning is not allowed in hotel rooms in Switzerland so we provide air cooling instead. Our breakfast buffet is a brand standard so we are sorry that it didn't meet your expectations.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is very convenient for gare cornavin and the city centre. We had a decent size bedroom. It was quiet and well lit. Breakfast was good. Excellent service. Children enjoyed the stay. The hotel provides a free pass for local public transport for the duration of the stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

This was a reasonable hotel in a good location. Near the main train station, which makes it convenient. Rooms are small and tired and this is an older ibis hotel. However, beds were reasonably comfortable and there was decent water pressure in the shower. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was overheated but opening the windows meant that noise from the outside was potentially disruptive. Despite all this, it's a good choice for the budget conscious, as hotels in Geneva are really expensive.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Geneve Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Geneve Centre Gare

Address: 10 Rue Voltaire, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Geneva
#28 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Geneve Centre Gare 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Geneve Centre Gare is a completely non smoking hotel located in the heart of the city, 200 m from the train station and 5 km from the airport. The Old Town, the Grand Casino, international organisations and Lake Geneva are all within 2 km. The hotel offers 64 airconditioned rooms, including 27 with WiFi and one for guests with limited mobility. Our bar is open 24 hours and there is a pay car park 200 m away. 5 Km from the PALEXPO business centre. Public transport is free for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Geneve Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Geneve Centre Gare Hotel Geneva
Ibis Hotel Geneva
Accor Geneve Centre Gare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Geneve Centre Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.