We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good shared areas and food but cleanliness is lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President Wilson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President Wilson to your Saves list
Hotel President Wilson
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Wilson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good shared areas and food but cleanliness is lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with work for a conference that my company hosted in the hotel. The communal areas are very good and the flowers were beautiful. The staff were also very welcoming. My room was good, and the bed was very comfortable; the chocolates on arrival and at the turndown service were a lovely touch but the shower was confusing and actually didn't really work very well. I also found that the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have expected for a hotel of this calibre.
The conference room was slightly dated and there needs to be an update to make power sockets available.
Location was good and the food was excellent but I think the price for the rooms is too high based on the cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    112
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
38
93
31
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of the few hotels i would say i will ever come back to. It is expensive but worth paying every penny for! Thank you for making this an enjoyable trip for me =)

Pros
1) Extremely comfortable bed
2) Duper awesome staff
3) Superb breakfast spread
4) The lake is just a few steps away from the hotel
5) Room was extremely clean
6) Hotel interior was just gorgeous
7) Toiletries were top notch


Cons
1) Away from other shops / cafes / restaurants but no big issue, really

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMHPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your kind words !
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room and amenities as well as our breakfast. Indeed, the main shopping area is a few minutes walk but this location enables us to offer our guests an unobstructed view of the lake and the mountains.
We sincerely hope to welcoming you back soon and invite you to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram to receive our lates news and offers.
Warm regards,

Nicolas Taravella
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upmarket midern hotel, right on the lake at Geneva and not too far to walk back to the main railway station. Our room had a great view of the lake and the mountains beyond. Comfortable bed, good bathroom and very helfpul and attentive staff. Minibar prices were extraordinarily high, strangely. But the room service food was very good, including the breakfast which would be ample for two.

Room Tip: It would be a pity to miss out on a room with a view of Lake Geneve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMHPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to see that you had a pleasant stay with us in Geneva and enjoyed the view over the lake and the mountains from your room !
Be sure that we will also share your comments with our staff as well as the F&B team.
We hope you had a safe trip back and that we will have maybe the opportunity to welcoming you back should you come to Geneva again.
Don't hesitate to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram to receive our latest news and offers.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Taravella
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room was spacious and had a complimentary power converter so we could use U.S. plugs on our various devices. The staff and concierge were very knowledgable and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Geneva.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMHPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are happy that you liked your room and had a nice stay with us.
Wealso took the liberty to forward your comments to our Concierge team as they are always pleased to assist and happy to hear about guests' experience !
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future and we invite you to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram to keep updated on our latest news and special offers.

Warm regards,

Nicolas Taravella
Room Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's been few years since I've been there but I can definitely say that it was a pleasant experience. The rooms are really great, clean and nicely furnished, those with the lake view are much better, of course. The only not so comforting thing, which you see outside the window is the pool, because it's the city hotel at the first place and you are not willing to watch the pool ambiance if you came with a different purpose. Plus, since they have some parties around the pool it's not the best option to open the window because it may get a bit loud.

What I really enjoyed is that hotel is very self-sufficient, there are few restaurants, and they are really good: we've tried the one near the pool and also since I'm a big fan of Lebanese cuisine - I was very happy with the restaurant called Arabesque - not a single regret, the food and service were up to the high level. Breakfasts are very good too, btw! Since it's french part of Switzerland the approach to the breakfast is very often also french, which means - not so much to eat )) Also there is a beauty salon there, which though is not the best in city, I died my hair there and I should say the hairdresser was not the most professional one.

Overall, I also like the location because I lived and Gva and know the city pretty well, the hotel is not in the very city center and is on the other side of the old city, but it's right next to the lake, it's a pretty safe area (the scary stuff is higher, closer to the train station), there is Kempinski right in 200 meters, where there is one of the most well-known night clubs in the city.

It's not a poshy hotel, but it's a good 5 star hotel, which from my point of view is perfect for weekend stay in the city or business trips.

Room Tip: Higher - the better and don't open windows if there is pool party downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMHPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to hear that you liked your room and have the opportunity to try some of our restaurants. This is actually our aim to offer a wide range of food and beverages options through our 3 restaurants and 2 bars and we hope you will have the opportunity to try the other ones maybe during a future stay.
We also well took note of your comment regarding the pool and the noise. Although we are lucky to have this little oasis in the middle of the city, the calm and well-being of our guest is very important to us, this is why we always fix a reasonable time to turn the music down when it happens that we have some events, but this is not that often as we have a great ballroom downstairs especially for that !
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back and in the meantime, don't hesitate to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram in order to receive our latest news and special offers.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Taravella
Room Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just checked in to our room a couple of hours ago. Although we came around 7.30 am, they said that our room is ready and available for us which was a blessing after a long intercontinental flight. You can see elegance in the entire place including staff's attitude towards guests. I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMHPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We always do our best to accommodate our guests' needs and we are pleased that you had a relaxing and pleasant stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay and in the meantime, don't hesitate to follow us on Facebook, Twitter oor Instagram to receive our latest news and special offers.
Warm regards,

Nicolas Taravella
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This definitely one of the best hotels in Geneva.
As one would expect the service is exceptional, the rooms are fairly large by European standards as is the bed. The bathroom is also quite large and the amenities include Hermes products.
Most rooms have a lake view which makes it all the better.
The breakfast is very expensive and offers very little in terms of buffet items, the service though is very good.
My only dislike was that the location is a bit out of the way when walking to the centre - albeit much closer than the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amélie V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Google Translation
Cher(e) Client(e),
Nous vous remercions pour vos agréables commentaires à propos de l’hôtel Président Wilson et nous sommes heureux que les chambres ainsi que la qualité de nos services aient été à la hauteur de vos attentes.
En ce qui concerne le prix du Petit déjeuner, nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérince. Votre commentaire nous permet d’améliorer la qualité des services que nous proposons à notre clientèle.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir très prochainement à l’Hôtel Président Wilson afin d’y découvrir les diversités culinaires entre mets libanais et cuisine gastronomique signée Michel Roth.
En attendant, n’hésitez pas à suivre nos actualités sur facebook ou twitter.
Avec nos sincères salutations,
Nicolas Taravella
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Address: 47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#5 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from one of the most beautiful parks in Geneva, ideally located facing the magnificent panorama of the lake and Mont-Blanc, the President Wilson is the city's most contemporary hotel. With exceptional views of the lake, the hotel's outdoor pool or Geneva city, the 180 rooms and 48 suites of the renovated hotel are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President Wilson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.