We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but a matter of taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President Wilson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President Wilson to your Saves list
Hotel President Wilson
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Wilson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent, but a matter of taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel offers a solid overall package. It is located on the lake shore, a bit out of the city center, but still okay to walk in the evening (public transport connection is also good). The room I had was fairly small for this category of hotel, but made up for that with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good standard, the room service food was also decent and, considering the generally crazy Geneva price standards, not even overpriced (you pay the same in the restaurants in town).

Biggest plus for me was the staff, which really went the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay. Unfortunately, they appeared a bit understaffed at times - I experienced a considerable queue especially for check-out, which is problematic if you are on a tight schedule.

Not my cup of tea, however, is the design of the place - the exterior is an ugly '60s concrete block, and the interior is in part very nice, in other parts however, well, a matter of taste. To me personally, the green marble and the pink-and-purple-backlit Svarowski-style crystals are more Wayne Rooney than tasteful luxury - a bit tacky (ManUtd supporters, accept my apologies for the analogy).

Overall, I have no reason to be dissatisfied with the President Wilson, but for a better rating, it's somehow lacking the real highlights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very grateful for your detailed feedback, thank you for having taken the time to share your review with the online travel community.

It was our great pleasure to delight you during your stay and to introduce you to our convivial services and luxury. As we continuously strive to deliver immaculate guests services and a one-of-a-kind hotel experience, we are very happy to receive such compliments and our whole team would like to thank you again for this.

We already look forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.

Warm regards

F. Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    115
    36
    15
    25
See reviews for
40
101
54
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our team has come here twice during the World Health Assembly in May. The hotel charges an exorbitant price during the WHA, and management is very inflexible and difficult to work with.

The hotel is new and has a very modern feel. It lacks the Old World glamour of some of the other Sheraton Luxury Collection hotels we've stayed in, but it's quite comfortable.

Highlights:
- Great food (for a price)
- Lindt truffles for turndown service
- View of the lake (though my rooms have always faced the street)
- Easy access to the 1 bus
- Nespresso machine (although they are stingy on the capsules)

The hotel is not located in the old town so we always took the water taxi to the other side of the lake.

Overall, a nice hotel but probably not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

What a pleasure to see that you mentioned all the special highlights that made your stay comfortable during the WHA. Indeed, the water taxi is a perfect transportation choice to enjoy the breathtaking view over the Lake Leman facing the Mont Blanc. Despite the fact that we are not in the city center, it is very convenient to move around town with the excellent public transportation system, as the Geneva Transportation Card is offered during your stay at the President Wilson Hotel.

Regarding the design of the hotel, please note that our hotel has undergone some extensive renovation a few years ago, including rooms. This is the reason why the choice of the architect was to design sober and comfortable rooms. We always try to make you feel “home away from home” while staying at the President Wilson Hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the President Wilson Hotel.

Warm regards,

F. Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

There is nothing very wrong with President hotel. It is a nice , clean hotel with good food. The best thing is the views from the all window rooms, as the building is new and faces the lake. It lacks excellent service and unusual touches to be really excellent. For the price paid we expected the super 5 star service of the rest of the hotels on that side of the lake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our most sincere thanks for sharing your impressions with the travel community. We are very grateful to read that you had a nice time at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are equally pleased to read that you were satisfied not only with the magnificent view over the Lake Leman and the Mont-Blanc but with the cleanliness of the hotel. We are also very happy to read that you had a pleasant gastronomic experience.

We already look forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.

Kind Regards

F. Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

it was the second stay of a very long honeymoon trip ,you cannot think about anything goes wrong , but after that its really hard to compare any other hotel with the service and the care been provided . the location is great and you can walk to the city center and the bus station if you planning to discover the beautiful Switzerland. thanks lot to the management team for what they done.and finally regarding spg reward program its recognized with a lot of respect and since i was a platinum member and i gained all the benefits .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to express your comments through TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are very delighted to read that you chose our hotel for your honeymoon trip and appreciated our professional service, as we always expect to offer our guests a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in Geneva.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

By the lake with lovely rooms , a nice pool area and good standards of service there is much to commend the Hotel President Wilson . At this level of hotel I would expect tea and coffee facilities in the room , and they were not. However my main annoyance was the price of any extras ordered in the hotel, whether at the bar , breakfast or ... these are simply too high . Over SFr 105 for coffee and croissants + water for 3 people as an example . It's set a bit out of the main down town area so most restaurants etc will be a 10 - 15 min lakeside walk

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to express your comments through TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are truly happy to know that you were satisfied with the location, the lovely room, the nice pool area and the service provided. Our entire team always aims to offer a high quality of service and product to our guests in order to fulfill their expectation.

In term of the price of our restaurants, we can assure you that rates are constantly evaluated and we offer the same range of price as other comparable 5 stars hotel in Geneva.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Hotel President Wilson during your next visit to Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Without a doubt, the Hotel President Wilson gets a lot of things right. The beautiful lobby is a maze of marble, fresh flowers and art. Some of the staff showed the kind of professionalism you can only find in luxury hotels.

But, in my view the hotel falls short of luxury. The guest room furniture would not be out-of-place in a midscale hotel. For instance, our room had a cupboard with a large open space designed to hold a box-sized TV. Flat-screen TV’s have been standard in hotels for many years, meaning the rooms are overdue for a renovation. The lack of artwork on the walls and dreary carpet failed to give me the feeling that I was staying in luxury hotel. After a room renovation, my view will probably be different.

As mentioned, some of the staff were excellent. Other times, I found them slow to respond.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are truly happy to know that you were satisfied with the lobby and the service provided. Our entire team always aims to offer a high quality of service and product to our guests in order to fulfill their expectation.

Please note that our hotel has undergone some extensive renovation a few years ago including rooms. This is the reason why the choice of the architect was to design sober and comfortable rooms. We always try to make you feel “home away from home” while staying at the President Wilson Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Hotel President Wilson during your next visit to Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel (if you can afford it) which leaves you speechless from the moment you enter it! The room was very comfortable and had a nespresso machine. The toiletries in the bathroom were luxurious products and smelled like heaven. Finally, the service was also great, staff was very kind and the room was made twice a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time spent on posting this awesome comment on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I would like to personally thank you for your positive comments and am delighted to read that you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us.

I sincerely hope to welcome you soon at the Hotel President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Address: 47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#5 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#7 Family Hotel in Geneva
#13 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from one of the most beautiful parks in Geneva, ideally located facing the magnificent panorama of the lake and Mont-Blanc, the President Wilson is the city's most contemporary hotel. With exceptional views of the lake, the hotel's outdoor pool or Geneva city, the 180 rooms and 48 suites of the renovated hotel are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President Wilson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.