We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President Wilson

Save Saved
You added Hotel President Wilson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel President Wilson
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1211, Switzerland (Wilson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Every time I visit Geneva either for business or pleasure I stay at President Wilson. Its a very nice hotel, super nice and professional service, I love the location on the Lake and its only 10 minutes walk from the city center, shopping, banking and business area. The rooms are very expensive and not luxurious, I always take the lake view rooms and they are not bad, but neither luxurious for the price. Wifi is free but extremely slow, the food is very good but also expensive. The biggest disappointing thing for me is the breakfast buffet, the variety of food is poor, the quality is so-so, and the salon where is located is not inviting at all. The hotel restaurants and bars are very good. Overall is a very good hotel for Geneva standards.

Room Tip: Lake View-Swimming Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear AlejandroAlcaraz,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your earlier stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied our enthusiastic service, exceptional location of our property as well as your loyalty to our company.

In term of the price of our hotel room and restaurant, we can assure that rates are constantly evaluated and we offer the same range of price as other comparable 5 stars hotel in Geneva.

We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay concerning the Internet service, please note that our technical teams always remain at your entire disposal for any problem at 24 hours.

As for the choice of our breakfast buffet, we have passed your opinion to our F & B department for further discussion.

Should you wish to receive any news and happenings, we invite you to follow our Facebook or Twitter page.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson either for business or leisure stay.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    104
    35
    15
    25
See reviews for
40
97
52
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxon
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a good quality hotel with professional staff , lovely views over the lake towards the mountains , an excellent if very expensive restaurant , and rooms with all you would expect . WiFi was included and worked well. The main issue was the cost of anything beyond the room charge , extras cost a lot here from bar to restaurant etc

Room Tip: rooms which open onto the pool area are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear HilltopOxon,

Thank you for taking time to express your comments through Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are extremely happy to read that you found the service provided excellent and appreciated the splendid view of your room.

In term of the price of our bar and restaurant, we can assure you that the price is frequently evaluated and we offer the same range of price as other comparable 5 stars hotel in Geneva.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.
In the meantime, I remain,


Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed there this week for two nights. Had a wonderful time . I was in Geneva on business but really enjoyed the attentiveness of all the staff and the attention to detail.

Would definitely recommend to anyone going to Geneva whether for work or pleasure . I look forward to staying there again very soon

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Laurie C

Thank for having chosen the Hotel President Wilson and additionally having taken the time to share your previous experience through Tripadvisor.

It is our great pleasure to receive your appreciation to our recently renovated room, restaurant and service, as we always do our best to deliver the contemporary comfort to the demand of luxurious traveler. Indeed, Michel Roth – World Famous Chef, has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive chef at the Bayview restaurant.

Despite the unique location of the hotel, a free transportation card is offered to each guest during the check-in, to make their visit in Geneva more convenient.

Should you wish to be updated about the latest news and happenings please follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.
Once again we would like to thank you for your kind words and recommendations and look forward to seeing you again at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was a very good hotel for Geneva. The only over shadowing experience was at check in. My flight from the states arrived in the AM and I made it over to the hotel at around 10am with extreme jet lag. i just wanted to get to bed but they had me waiting around the lobby with no set time while they said they were getting the room ready. The hotel was very dead so there was plenty of rooms. The receptionist reminded me that checkin was at 3pm. In all my world travels I have never been l told about check in times (especially a ridiculous 3pm time) , non the less a 5 star had me waiting around for a room when they had plenty available. I am Diamond at Marriott and Hyatt and do not have high status at Starwood hotels so not sure if that would have mattered. This experience definitely overshadowed my whole time here.

Also in the pictures of the hotel it shows a nice shower. Believe it or not one of the items I look for in a 5 star. A little bait and switch, These rooms have the old "european" bath tub showers that the water sprays out everywhere because there is no door and you have to step up a foot or so to get in the darn thing. Bed and Bed linens were the highlight of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear MrLDDA

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor concerning your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We deeply show our apology about any inconvenience caused during check-in. We have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the Reception manager and would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service.

In term of the room facilities, please noted that our hotel has undergone some extensive renovation, in order to create an atmosphere of comfort and luxury that a customer would expect from a 5 star property.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Michelen 2 star chef Micel Roth has now taken the position of Chief Chef at The President Wilson Hotel, Geneva. If you wish to taste the very best of foodand dine in the beautiful Bay View Resteraunt you must visit this hotel as soon as possible. The food is out of this world but not the prices. Really it is a "must" for lovers of fine cooking supported by the best selection of top quality wines from all arouind the world.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those overlooking the lake but even the rooms on the back of the otel are of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments through Tripadvisor concerning your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are very delighted to receive your admiration regarding our new chef – Michel Roth, indeed he is very famous for his creative culinary talent. As you said, Bayview restaurant is about to be considered as one of the best table in Geneva.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with excellent staff, very well presented rooms, view of the lake what more can you need.

Stayed only for 1 night on business, apart from sleeping there I had about an hour in my room which was a shame and did not get to use any of the facilities, however Paula on reception was very welcoming and ensued check in was quick and painless while still explaining everything the hotel had to offer.

The room was fairly large by Geneva standards with a superbly comfortable bed and luxury bedding, good bathroom and the expected extras for a five star hotel.

Look forward to staying again and experiencing everything it has to offer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Msav1975,
Thank you for sharing your valuable experience through Tripadvisor regarding your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are very delighted to learn that you appreciated the authentic hospitality offered by our staff, as we always expect to make our guests a memorable stay with us.

We are also happy to know that you found your room spacious as well as up to your expectation. The hotel has been entirely renovated in order to meet the expectation of our luxury traveler.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon in our property to explore the gastronomic delight of our new chef – Michel Roth - at the Bayview restaurant.
Should you wish to be updated on the recent news and happenings, we invite you to follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is very nice. A short walk to the train station (10-12 minutes) or a nice walk along the park area along Lac Léman. Maybe 15-20 minutes walk to the Old Town area.

Check in was quick and efficient. The room was lovely and CLEAN! The bathroom was exceptionally nice, and the personal toiletries (shampoo, etc) were awesome.

The hotel included bus/transportation passes for the duration of our stay. The 1 bus line runs right past the door, so very easy to pick up for a ride to the train station or connections elsewhere. Some boats are included also, but the weather was chilly enough we didn't want to be out on the lake.

The breakfast buffet area was superb. The selection was enormous and service was very quick. The bar area (Glow) is beautifully decorated, and we had "dinner" (lighter selections) there on our last evening in town. We did not have dinner in the main restaurant (Bayview).

We we placed at this hotel for business, but if the price fits your budget, we would recommend this hotel for a stay in Geneva!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Donhuns,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts through Tripadvisor regarding your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are extremely happy to read that you enjoyed the perfect location of our property right on the Lakeshore.

Also we are very delighted to learn that you were satisfied with our efficient service, in-room facilities and the decoration of restaurants.

We sincerely hope that you will discover the gastronomic cuisine by Michel Roth during your next visit to Geneva.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson either for a business or a leisure stay.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Address: 47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#5 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#7 Family Hotel in Geneva
#13 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe face au lac Leman et a quelques minutes des plus beaux parcs et des boutiques de la celebre rue du Rhone, notre hotel est l'une des adresses les plus contemporaines de Geneve, offrant en toile de fond une vue imprenable sur le Mont-Blanc. Nos 180 chambres et 48 suites entierement renovees allient confort et haute technologie, leurs grandes baies vitrees offrent une vue unique sur Geneve, la piscine ou le lac Leman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President Wilson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.