We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, good service, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President Wilson

Save Saved
You added Hotel President Wilson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel President Wilson
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1211, Switzerland (Wilson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 105 hotels in Geneva
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, good service, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had never stayed here before, but understand that the hotel has recently been refurbished. The room I had was a very high standard - somewhat typical of good places in Switzerland. The breakfast was also very good, and the staff were helpful and pleasant. The only real issue is the cost, which isn't cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear JonathanKlein,

Firstly, Thank you for the time spent on sharing your experience on Tripadvisor regarding your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are extremely happy to know that our room and service particularly fulfilled your expectation, as our propriety always put efforts in creating an unforgettable moment for all of our guests.

It is our great pleasure to share with you regarding Michel Roth, one of the most well-known chefs in the world has recently managed the Bayview restaurant as Culinary Advisor and Executive chef.

In regard to the rate of our hotel, we can assure that we regularly make en evaluation and please note that we offer the same range of price as other 5stars hotels in Geneva.

Should you wish to know all the news and happenings in the hotel, you can follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.

We are looking forward to welcoming back at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain.


Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    84
    30
    13
    25
See reviews for
33
80
51
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has it all right : service,food,location,rooms.We had a really great stay.Make sure to book a room with a lake view,it makes such a difference.If we visit Geneva again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mirious g,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

It is with great pleasure that you were very satisfied in term of our location, room and cuisine, as our property always aim to create an exclusive moment to our guest and make sure they enjoy a unique experience

We would like to share our recent news regarding one of the most famous chef in the world – Michel Roth, who has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive chef at the Bayview restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you soon to discover Michel Roth first Genevan menu and enjoy his creative culinary concept,

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
518 helpful votes 518 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great rooms specially the ones with a lake view , PAY the extra and get a lake view , It is worth it . The hotel is a view steps from the lake and around the corner is the bus top which is only 4 stops away from the main train station . An all public transportation ticket is about $20 for one day is a great buy . so many good restaurants are on the way to the main train station including HALA restaurants .

Room Tip: A room with a lake view is a must . A high floor room will give you a better view and quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear M O,
Thank you for having chosen the Hotel President Wilson and additionally having taken the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read that you were fully satisfied with the breathtaking Alpine panorama in your room. Our propriety is very convenient to move around by public transportation and every guest will receive the Geneva pass card during their stay with us.

Also, it is our great pleasure to share our recent news with you regarding one of the most popular chef in the world – Michel Roth has taken over as Culinary Advisor and and Executive Chef at the Bayview restaurant.

In the mean time, should you want to be updated on the latest news and happening, you can follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location, excellent service, and definitely high quality hotel. This place was beautiful. Our bed was so comfortable, and the room was gorgeous. There was even a silver platter (literally) of Swiss chocolates waiting for us along with a complementary bottle of Evian water when we entered our room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sage C,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience regarding your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We would like to share our latest news with you, Michel Roth has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive Chef at the Bayview restaurant.

If you wish to be updated with our latest news and happenings, you can follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page.

We are looking forward to welcoming back at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Beautiful view of the lake.
Loved the hotel location as it is walking distance from the Old Town. Beautiful hotel, clean comfortable room, excellent food. Meeting rooms are adequate. 10 mins walk away there is an excellent Swiss restaurant. Will stay here again. Pricey though.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Amyless2909,

Firstly, thank you for taking time to express your experience via Tripadvisor regarding your earlier stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are extremely delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and your appreciation to our location, room, cuisine and facilities.

Also, It is our great pleasure to share our latest news with you regarding one of the most famous chef Michel Roth has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive chef at the Bayview restaurant.

Should you wish to be updated on the recent information and happenings, you can follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Visited the President Wilson last weekend as part of a trip to Geneva with my parents. Generally really enjoyed the hotel. It has all the same virtues Geneva itself: beautiful, friendly, high quality of everything, convenient and easy to get around. It also has the same negatives as Geneva: expensive and fairly tiny. I love Geneva though and thus was also generally pleased with the hotel.

The pool area looked quite beautiful (you look right out onto Lake Geneva). The fitness center was small, but nicely appointed with cardio and weight machines. The spa and shops also looked quite nice, but we did not use either. The rooms are pretty small, but nicely appointed.

The property is located within a 20 minute walk from most anything in Geneva and a 10 minute cab ride from the airport, so if you are there for business, it is extremely convenient. You also get a free public transit card covering the duration of your stay, which makes getting around even easier.

If you do not have breakfast included in your room rate, avoid it. It costs 47 CHF for a modest buffet. That is highway robbery, even by Geneva standards. You can step outside and walk 100 yards to a multitude of cafes serving similar fare for 1/2 the price or less.

Wanted to give a special thanks to Julien at the concierge desk, who was extremely helpful and just an all around nice guy. All other staff we dealt with were great as well. Had a loud neighbor the first night and they actually opened another room for me to sleep in and avoid the noise.

As I mentioned, the price is high, but all hotels are outrageous in Geneva and the Wilson seemed to priced commensurate to its value.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the views of the lake from the top floor suites are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear NicDC33,

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel President Wilson Geneva during your previous visit in Geneva, also having taken the time to share your comments via Tripadvisor. Your words are regarded as precious feedback, allowing us to keep up to the standard.

We are extremely delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with your family in our propriety. To make sure you left satisfied, we always dedicate our best to offer an unforgettable memory to our guest.

Despite the unique location of the hotel, a free transportation card is offered to each guest when they arrive the hotel, to make their visit to Geneva more convenient.

Regarding the hotel facilities, our propriety has been renovated entirely in order to cater to the needs of a modern traveleras we keep on trying our best to enhance our guest’s expectation.
As for the breakfast we can assure that the content and price is constantly evaluated and well-adapted to the high standard of this hotel and to the offer of comparable 5 star hotels in Geneva.

It was with delight that we found out you particularly appreciated our professional staff as you kindly mentioned.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's a very clean hotel, close to city center, next to the lake where you can take a beautiful stroll, and close to all major lake excursions docks. Staff is very friendly, and the ground level bar has Avery wide variety of drinks and the staff is knowledgeable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Dr_Saad,

Thank you for your very kind words and the time spent in sharing your recent experience at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are extremely happy to learn that you appreciated the ideal location of our propriety, where is easily accessible from the central shopping areas. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our service, recently we have been working with Michel Roth who is one of the famous chef in the world, it would be a great pleasure if you can experience his culinary creation.

We are extremely happy to learn that you appreciated the ideal location of our propriety right on the Lakeshore and close to the shopping center.
We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our services, and we would like to share with you our latest news. Indeed, Michel Roth, World Famous Chef, took over as Culinary Advisor and Executive Chef at Geneva’s Hotel President Wilson.

We hope to welcome you very soon to discover his first Genevan menu and culinary creation !

In the meantime, I remain.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva
Address: 47 Quai Wilson, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#7 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe face au lac Leman et a quelques minutes des plus beaux parcs et des boutiques de la celebre rue du Rhone, notre hotel est l'une des adresses les plus contemporaines de Geneve, offrant en toile de fond une vue imprenable sur le Mont-Blanc. Nos 180 chambres et 48 suites entierement renovees allient confort et haute technologie, leurs grandes baies vitrees offrent une vue unique sur Geneve, la piscine ou le lac Leman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President Wilson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.