We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva CH - 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very courteous staff. Excellent breakfast. Great business facilities. Stayed here for a meeting last week for 2 nights. Overall, would recommend it.

Location was only around 15 mins from the airport. Nice rooms. The mini bar is somehow monitored. I was intrigued by a box which turned to be a Swiss Army knife, and was charged but they happily took it off the bill.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a comment on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We apologize for the small inconveniences concerning the mini bar. All the same, we are delighted you enjoyed our service, breakfast and facilities tailored for our business clientele.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    154
    54
    39
    25
See reviews for
54
94
37
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Immaculate hotel, foyer, entertainment areas and rooms, friendly and helpful service, great pool and spa, blissfully comfortable beds, perfect insulation for undisturbed sleep, right on the lake, everything you could want. Food and drink very expensive, but quality and service absolutely above reproach!

Room Tip: Our room was great, I doubt there is a bad room in this luxury hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I like changing hotels and after going for a long time at President Wilson i decided to try kempinski. have been to their hotels in prague and abu dhabi and they were both very good. this is no exception. staff very helpful and polite. little glitches were sorted out efficiently and quickly. location very good like all 5 stars in geneva, all on the lake strip. very quiet at night. terrible pillows but just before leaving i noticed i could have asked for harder ones. pricewise slightly cheaper than wilson, not cheap. i was there yesterday monday and it was the only day the spa was undergoing maintenance. bad luck i guess.i will go back.

Room Tip: my room was the 4476. very quiet. fourth floor.swimming pool view, cheaper rooms due to bak view. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location on the promenade by the lake with views of Jet d'Eau and the mountains beyond. The old town can be reached in about 15 minutes on foot and the central train station is 10 minutes away on foot. The breakfast was excellent and the dining area is bright and spacious with wonderful views over the lake. The indoor pool was a good size but a little cold in the winter and the steam room was a welcome relief from the cold. A sauna would be a nice addition to the health club. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are well appointed.
No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Given the price of even the most basic rooms, this is inexcusable. The price is high but Geneva is an expensive city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Madam. Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We take your remark into consideration and are delighted you enjoyed the location and facilities of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

it's a very good hotel, right in the center of the town...overlooking Lake Geneva.
Hospitable individuals, very helpful in getting you around.
The morning buffet is decent as well, the apples with the engraving of the hotel name on it is pretty interesting. Do remember to pick one of them
Over all a decent stay with them.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good, but if u need a room overlooking the lake..u need to pay around CHF80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and make your stays even better.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stopped off after skiing so pleased beds were comfy why do ski resorts have uncomfortable beds?restaurant view is incredible yes hotel is expensive but worth staying in for the brilliant service thank you to the Veronica who checked us in and arranged for sweets for our daughter and backpack
The spa is staffed with very kind ladies and the products are divine sad to say not enough time to have any treatments. Sadly pool was closed so no comment there all in all a very nice stay 10 minutes or so to airport

Room Tip: We didn't have a lake view if you can stretch to it go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and provide you with our complete set of amenities.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel has exellent location and everything in this huge complex that you need without ever leaving. Rooms are comfortable, great gym and beautiful swimming pool and very good restaurants. The Floortwo lounge offers beautiful views of the lake and changes into happening night scene. Night club Java is prominet scene of Genevas and international jetsetters. I was little bit dissapointed as I expected hight class of luxury that Kempinski hotels offers in other locations.
This hotel is bussiness oriented and its the overall feeling you get here.

Room Tip: Rooms with the lake views, the inside rooms are small and average
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva CH - 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.