We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva CH - 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva) (Mont-Blanc)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY IN JULY, SAVE 15%!
Ranked #20 of 104 hotels in Geneva
Buckingham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Immaculate hotel, foyer, entertainment areas and rooms, friendly and helpful service, great pool and spa, blissfully comfortable beds, perfect insulation for undisturbed sleep, right on the lake, everything you could want. Food and drink very expensive, but quality and service absolutely above reproach!

Room Tip: Our room was great, I doubt there is a bad room in this luxury hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    136
    49
    34
    21
See reviews for
47
86
35
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I like changing hotels and after going for a long time at President Wilson i decided to try kempinski. have been to their hotels in prague and abu dhabi and they were both very good. this is no exception. staff very helpful and polite. little glitches were sorted out efficiently and quickly. location very good like all 5 stars in geneva, all on the lake strip. very quiet at night. terrible pillows but just before leaving i noticed i could have asked for harder ones. pricewise slightly cheaper than wilson, not cheap. i was there yesterday monday and it was the only day the spa was undergoing maintenance. bad luck i guess.i will go back.

Room Tip: my room was the 4476. very quiet. fourth floor.swimming pool view, cheaper rooms due to bak view. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location on the promenade by the lake with views of Jet d'Eau and the mountains beyond. The old town can be reached in about 15 minutes on foot and the central train station is 10 minutes away on foot. The breakfast was excellent and the dining area is bright and spacious with wonderful views over the lake. The indoor pool was a good size but a little cold in the winter and the steam room was a welcome relief from the cold. A sauna would be a nice addition to the health club. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are well appointed.
No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Given the price of even the most basic rooms, this is inexcusable. The price is high but Geneva is an expensive city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Madam. Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We take your remark into consideration and are delighted you enjoyed the location and facilities of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

it's a very good hotel, right in the center of the town...overlooking Lake Geneva.
Hospitable individuals, very helpful in getting you around.
The morning buffet is decent as well, the apples with the engraving of the hotel name on it is pretty interesting. Do remember to pick one of them
Over all a decent stay with them.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good, but if u need a room overlooking the lake..u need to pay around CHF80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and make your stays even better.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stopped off after skiing so pleased beds were comfy why do ski resorts have uncomfortable beds?restaurant view is incredible yes hotel is expensive but worth staying in for the brilliant service thank you to the Veronica who checked us in and arranged for sweets for our daughter and backpack
The spa is staffed with very kind ladies and the products are divine sad to say not enough time to have any treatments. Sadly pool was closed so no comment there all in all a very nice stay 10 minutes or so to airport

Room Tip: We didn't have a lake view if you can stretch to it go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and provide you with our complete set of amenities.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel has exellent location and everything in this huge complex that you need without ever leaving. Rooms are comfortable, great gym and beautiful swimming pool and very good restaurants. The Floortwo lounge offers beautiful views of the lake and changes into happening night scene. Night club Java is prominet scene of Genevas and international jetsetters. I was little bit dissapointed as I expected hight class of luxury that Kempinski hotels offers in other locations.
This hotel is bussiness oriented and its the overall feeling you get here.

Room Tip: Rooms with the lake views, the inside rooms are small and average
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The room itself is nice, modern and has everything you need (ask for a view on the lake). We had lunch at the Floor Two restaurant. The food was 1) expensive 2) not cooked properly 3) the service was rude. One of the waiters kept complaining about his Job to another colleague but right in front of us ... Not very professional.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your experience at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We apologize for the inconvenience and would like to reassure you that your remark will help us improve to guarantee a constant 5 star service delivery. We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities and amenities we provide for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva CH - 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 104 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.