We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva CH - 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I like this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have stayed here frequently for business and have always been comfortable. The hotel itself is a bit gaudy, but the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is great. Balcony rooms are a nice touch if you can get one. The bathtub is deep- watch out, it's a potential slip-and-fall death trap. Le Grill has a nice menu. The service in the lounge is awful.

Room Tip: Stay away from front corner room on 3rd or 4th floor. The lounge is very loud on the weekend and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you indeed for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
We are sorry to learn that the Hotel's interior & exterior architectural features
are not to your taste, although you generally liked your guestroom and bathroom
interior design. With regard to your preference for a room on the 8th floor (with
balcony), should you not have indicated this to our front desk staff, we suggest
that you do it when you make your next reservation. As for the potential danger
of our bathtubs, thank you for pointing this out. Glad to hear that our Grill menu
choice met with your approval, but sorry to hear that our FloorTwo Lounge service
fell short of your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    176
    58
    40
    25
See reviews for
60
103
40
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

A delightful stay of four days in a very lovely city. Location is perfect - on the lake, near a shopping district, many colourful and varied local (and reasonably priced) restaurants. The rooms were spacious and modern with great bathrooms, an endless supply of fluffy towels and as comfortable bed as one would ever hope to find. The concierges were splendid - kind and accommodating. My only criticism (rather than a complaint) is that the restaurant/s were overpriced. Breakfast is extraordinarily (maybe not for (Geneva!) expensive - choose the continental over the full, and enjoy a gorgeous sunny room overlooking the lake, with excellent service. However, as an alternative, step back a few blocks and enjoy cafe au lait and a delicious marzipan-filled croissant, opera music and ambience francois for less than CHF 8!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we met your expectations.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed the lakeview, the spacious rooms, the comfortable bed, the fluffy towels and the friendliness of our concierges.

I am personally looking forward to your next stay with us.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Location is very good, walking distance to the best of Geneva. Rooms are very well decorated and size is fairly good. I have not had breakfast in the hotel but it seemed to be very good quality however a bit crowded.
Overall, very good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we met your expectations.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

In my opinion the worst choice among the better hotels in Geneva . Very impersonal , like a cruise ship , made for the masses. Room was large and clean but very generic.
Breakfast area was crowded , buffet not kept fresh and gave a messy impression.
The bar at night was terrible , I have not seen so many working girls in one place before , amazing how a hotel of this standard can allow it self to be the venue for this. Was traveling with business colleagues , some female , embarrassing .

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva for your recent stay.
I am deeply sorry to read that our hotel did not match your taste nor meet your expectations.
Your comments about the bar have been seriously taken into consideration, and I sincerely apologize about this uncomfortable situation. Please rest assured that strict measures have already been set into place.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

OK, the place definitely hits the 5* mark. Amazing decors, great restaurant with an impressive full view of the Jet d'Eau and even a better brekkie, spacy rooms with comfy bed, friendly and professional staff. All this for CHF 600 / night, almost thought to consider it a bargain in a city with sky-is-the-limit prices...

If I ever hit a jackpot, than would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Make the most of your stay by choosing the lakeside room, the Jet d'Eau (fountain) view is intox...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we met your expectations. I highly appreciate your comments about the decor, the bed comfort and the friendly and professional staff. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of service possible and your invaluable comments help us to reach our goals and serve as encouragement to our staff.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

It is a high end hotel and things work, staff is trained etc.
I stayed in a deluxe lake view room, stunning view (lake, alps), with little balcony.
Thought to mention- I like to sleep window open for the fresh air, so it got little noisy, especially in the morning as that side is by the street. City should lower the speed limit on that street :) -just if you happen to have the same habit.
At first I was put to 3rd floor, non-smoking room, but it had smell and I asked for change. Minutes later I was changed to 5th floor room- fantastic. Room like the picture on the website, huge bed, plus you can choose what kind of pillows you prefer to sleep. Hotel has swimming pool with leisure area, hammah- which was unfortunately closed that day, gym, well equipped bathroom. All you need and more. :)
Breakfast superb.

I most definitely enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms can be little noisy as its a busy street between the lake and the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we met your expectations.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast, our choice of pillows and found our large bed comfortable. Guest satisfaction and comfort is our primary aim.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva and this time try our hammam.

With warmest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided everything we needed for our delegation to stay at the standard rooms, junior suite and presidential suite. Very flexible with our official requests for setting up a secretariat/meeting room, which was very important to us. They worked fast without us having to repeat ourselves - this means they communicate with each other internally quite well, despite the managerial work shifts. If the rooms were not too expensive, we would place our delegations there more often.

Room Tip: Great location - 10 minutes walk to train station, 15 minutes drive to the UN, ILO, WHO and ITU. 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. I am delighted to read your lines regarding the efficiency and friendliness of our staff as well as the professionalism on how we communicate internally. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you personally on your next stay with us.

With warmest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva CH - 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.