We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Geneva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 20 rue du Cendrier, Geneva CH 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Sofitel Geneve)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 Enjoy 3 !
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I spent 3 nights, this small hotel has everything you need at the good level, nothing outstanding but good enough for Geneva. Well located in the center 10 minutes walk from train station, internet was good, breakfast very small but you get all you need, rooms are small but cosy, clean, the only disappointment was a bit the restaurant which obviouskly they dont care too much, cook is like few salads and few meals which look more from microwave, not really good there, coffee is instant and not from a proper coffee machine. But overall good enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    292
    79
    25
    7
See reviews for
100
203
79
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is close to the trainstation, you can easly walk. There are resturants and coffee houses on both side when you walk to the hotel. Also there is tourist information in the post office.
Busses and trams are located otuside the trainstation so it is easy to get around. You can easy walk to the old town and the catherdal.

The hotel have only a few rooms with canopy bed, I have no idea why i got one of these. The sound from the TV can also be heard in the bathroom, there are laudspeakers there.
I did sleep well, no noise from the street at all. I didn't had breakfast at the hotel, instead I went to Starbucks close by.
You get free wifi at check-in. Check-in and check-out was quick no problems at all. At check-in I was given a card to public transport during my stay.

I will stay here again if I get back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A mixture of the old and the new, the Rotary is quite typical of the McGallery brand. I suppose this is the point of branding, you know what to expect. The location near the train station is good and it is just a short walk over the bridge to the old town. The staff was the really greatest asset of this hotel. Literally everyone with whom I have come into contact has been friendly in an unforced kind of way, knowledgeable and efficient. There was a problem with the electric outlet in the room. Most modern hotels have multifit outlets nowadays but the Rotary has the three-pin Swiss configuration. No problem at all to borrow an adaptor but perhaps the reception could ask already at check-in whether an adaptor is needed, especially when one mentions that internet access from three devices are needed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here just as a layover between towns on vacation. The service was good. Room had a nice new bathroom, but the rest of the room was very old with barely functioning furniture. It was a bit weird.

It's fine for a short stay, but that's it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Responsable réception at Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to publish your review. Each hotel from the MGallery collection has its own style and its own atmosphere. It is true that the Rotary hotel is an old style but cosy hotel with modern amenities.
We are also pleased to announce you that a refurbishment is already planned by the end of this year and this is our hope to welcome you again at the hotel for your next stay in Geneva.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First of all, we arrived to the hotel early (like 9am), and when we tried to check-in, we were told that a room for us was not yet available so they would upgrade us. This was super awesome! Whenever we travel to Europe, we are only normally there for 2 days so having to wait for a room to shower take a lot out of our trip. This was so greatly appreciated!

The hotel itself is quite classy (perhaps a bit outdated) looking but the living space of the rooms is quite large by European standards. The staff was very pleasant and very informative.

Its location is only a 5 minute walk from both the main train station and the lake. It really couldn't have been much better. The neighborhood felt safe, unlike a nearby neighborhood, which seemed to have many prostitutes and pimps in the street; they didn't really bother you, but its still a little uneasy.

The only cons of the hotel were that general dusting was not done well, which would sometimes agitate my wife's asthma.

Overall, though, I think this hotel was fantastic. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I Stayed here last year in January on a short trip in January. The price was very reasonable and the location was very close to the train station and convenient. The furniture is a little dated but you're in Europe so unless you're willing to pay and stay at Ritz or some top of the line place you'll get dated. By no means this equals to dirty or unpleasant. Breakfast was included and was also very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel does a wonderful job of maintaining the attractiveness of tradition while updating those items that can be improved by modern technology. The rooms have wooden furniture, but plenty of electrical outlets, air conditioning and good wifi access. The breakfast was excellent, and runs until about 1 pm on the weekends. The location is very convenient to the train station, and just a short walk to the old town across the river. Amenities included a mini-bar, hot water pot with tea and instant coffee, safe (a small laptop might fit, iPad was no problem), hair dryer, and bathroom scale (!) We ordered room service dinner the first night, as we had gotten in rather late. The service was prompt and the meal was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Responsable réception at Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Rotary.

Every day the whole staff makes his best in order to let our guests feel comfortable, and we are very pleased to see that it is appreciated, and we are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit in Geneva.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection

Address: 18 - 20 rue du Cendrier, Geneva CH 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Sofitel Geneve)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Geneva
#7 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#21 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#22 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotary Hotel Geneva
Accor Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.