We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 20 rue du Cendrier, Geneva CH 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Sofitel Geneve)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 Enjoy 3 !
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Kloten, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful at check-in, check-out, and in between. It's minutes away from the railway station and from the Mont Blanc bridge. The old house has been stylishly and beautifully renovated and reconditioned, and it is cozy and quiet. Next time we're in town, we will definitely book a room at the Rotary Geneva.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    308
    82
    25
    7
See reviews for
100
219
79
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in February. The hotel is in a great location 5 minutes from the main train, bus and tram station and one road over from the lake. Its just a short walk over the bridge into the old town.

We were greeted in English on our arrival and the staff were frindly and helpful throughout our stay. They gave us travel passes and maps. We had booked an superior room and it was a good size with an entrance area containing a mini bar and coffee machine . The decoration was fresh and the bathroom and separate tiolet were fitted out to a excellent standard with nice tioletries. The bed was comfortable. The room had good heating and we were not cold infact had to turn heating down.

Breakfast in the morning was pleantyful with a good selection on offer including freshly prepared eggs and bacon cooked to order. Staff were attentive and friendly.

The only thing i would say is that we were on level 4 of the new wing and there was no lift. Only one for bags. The 4 flights of spiral stairs were a bit of a slog at times and could be a problem if you have a mobility problem but there are other rooms where lifts are available.

Would recommend this hotel and would stay here agian if we revisit Geneva.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a long stay at this hotel during winter of 2011-12. The best part of the hotel was the location.Geneva Lake is right next door, both the train station as well as the bus stations are within 5 min walk, Old city is a 10 min walk (approx), lots of eating options nearby - Chinese, Thai, Indian, Italian, local etc.. A major supermarket Manor is just 2 min walk away from the place.

Staff was professional, never had any issue.Rooms varied greatly in sizes for the same price.. Tip - If you need bigger rooms, opt for the ones opposite to the direction of the main entrance. These rooms were much larger than the ones facing the main road.. I stayed in both the smaller as well as the bigger room and apart from the size, there were no other differences.. Hotel decor is of classic style and the wardrobes, chairs etc. follow the overall look and feel of the hotel.. No bright lights in the room(wasn't a problem for me). In house restaurant served basic local food but I never tried it..
Free Internet (Still a big deal in most European hotels!)
No Gym and Swimming pool
Overall typical Swiss hotel - Functional, efficient and accessible..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I staed here for one night in January 2013. The hotel is in a fairly nondescript modern looking building. The interior of the lobby is quaint, with a nice rustic stone or tile floor. I went for a superior room, it was unexpectedly large, with a separate entrance lobby, bathroom, toilet, bedroom. The decor was pseudo-baroque, a bit dated but nice. The bed was super comfortable, haven't slept this well in a long time!

My room faced the back courtyard, not the front street. It was quiet because it was cold and rainy outside, but on a summer night there is a patio pub that could be noisy. Then again, a patio pub behind your hotel means you will be in that pub in the evening, not sleeping right away, correct ? :)

Very nice staff in the reception, great bartender.

Practical info: 100 m or so from Lake Geneva, shops and restaurants within short walking distance, ATM 50 m away on the corner to the right from the front entrance. Taxi ride from airport ran me about 50 CHF.

Not the best hotel in the world, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night early January, arrived to a warm and comfortable little hotel. Very friendly staff who assisted us with all our queries. Great value for its central location. The room was large and homely with its olden day feel. Very close to the train station, lake and restaurants.
Definitely worth a stay for longer..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

2 adults stayed at Rotary for 1 night in early Jan 2013.
We found the hotel to be of an excellent standard and extremely conveniently located. We took a train from Geneva airport to Geneva main train station (5 min train ride). Note train ride from the airport to the Main train station is FREE (just get a free ticket from the machine at the Arrival hall). The hotel is literally 5 min walk from the Main train station following Rue Mont Blank until it crosses Rue Cendrier. I had a suitcase with me and it was easy to roll it all the way to hotel. Geneva is different to other cities where a close proximity to a central train station is associated with an 'undesirable' location full of rubbish, drunks, drug addicts and homeless 'elements'. Geneva is relatively small city where everything (at least in the city centre including train station) is very close. Clean, quiet and pleasant location of the hotel also benefits from 3 min walk to the lake and if you cross the lake to the 'old' part of Geneva, you will find plenty of shopping, restaurants and historical sites in a very close proximity from each other.
The quality of the hotel room was very good - looked recently renovated, spacious (unlike Paris city hotels if you have experience to compare), comfy bed with good quality bed linen and beautiful bathroom with marble finishes. Buffet breakfast was impressive with large selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, baked pastries, eggs, juices, etc. Front desk service was excellent and very helpful with all typical touristy questions like directions, shops, restaurants etc. Needless to say that Swiss working in tourist industry are fluent in 4 to 5 languages :) Impressive above all! Overall we had a very positive impression about the hotel and i would definitely recommend it for a stay in Geneva.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection

Address: 18 - 20 rue du Cendrier, Geneva CH 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Sofitel Geneve)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Geneva
#7 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#21 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#22 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotary Hotel Geneva
Accor Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.