We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-world comfort is sometimes better than modern style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 20 rue du Cendrier, Geneva CH 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Sofitel Geneve)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PAY 2 ENJOY 3 !
Ranked #25 of 104 hotels in Geneva
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old-world comfort is sometimes better than modern style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

First impressions are deceiving. The dark woodwork and stone floor in the lobby seem hopelessly old-fashioned, but the staff is young and super friendly, the room was enormous and spotlessly clean, the bathroom recently updated, and free WiFi for guests. Although it's in the basement, the breakfast room is very pleasant, and the buffet ample. The hotel is an only about five blocks from Geneva's main train station. This part of the city lacks the charm (and shops) of the Old City across the lake, but for travelers it is ideal. One can easily cross the entire city on foot from the Rotary.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    282
    78
    24
    8
See reviews for
95
200
75
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travel to Geneva six or seven times a year, from a few days to a couple of weeks each time. I have stayed in several different hotels, but I find Rotary Hotel the best option for a business traveler. It's centrally located but not in messy Paquis, affordable, small and private.
The service is generally friendly and personal, with all the necessary amenities.
What I like in particular is the bar. It's nothing fancy but after work it's quite a sanctuary. Florence, the Food and Beverage Assistant Manager is especially commendable. She is personable and courteous, always makes me feel comfortable like home. She holds down the fort of the bar and the kitchen. I have yet to assess her cooking, but she certainly makes the best cocktails in Geneva!
If you have a chance, visit this hotel, and have a drink at the bar during your downtime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great hotel staff.. particularly at the front desk. I was having phone issues and they helped me by calling and making dinner reservations for us in Paris... The best. Rooms very very good, but not great. Still, it's hard to find a good hotel room that doesn't cost a fortune in this city, so it reflects the market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a great hotel for my stay in October 2012! It's a block away from the lake and all the tourist sites. The bus and train station is close by and easy to utilize. The staff was very friendly. The room size is fantastic! Especially for Europe. We stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip and one night when we came back from our travels. The staff was able to give us the same room on both visits. A couple of added bonuses: Swiss chocolates on your bed each night and great toiletries! Plus, Geneva is very expensive, but this hotel was reasonably priced for this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This quiet, reserved and sophisticated hotel is in a great location- near enough the rail station to access the airport easily, yet minutes from the shopping streets and Old Town. Staff were polite, everything was clean and we look forward to returning next time we visit Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A very nice hotel, excellently located in central Geneva close to the main attractions, shopping and transport links - 5 minutes away from the main train station for links to the airport and day trips away.

The decor of the hotel is dated, including antique pieces and artwork in the rooms, but this only adds to its charm. It felt unique, rather than some of the characterless design of some modern hotels.

Bed was very comfortable, with large bathroom and areas for storage. Bar and lounge areas were very pleasant in the cold evenings.

Geneva is very expensive and this place is no different. Albeit, for the location and quality, it is fairly good value for money. We were lucky enough to find a deal for a three-day break that more than half the priced of the rack rate. Highly recommend searching for deals if you want to stay here too.

Room Tip: Our room was 314, which was a very large room close to the lift and with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I spent two nights at the hotel. While the price was rather higher the service provided was of very good quality. The staff were very responsive to any needs or requests. I liked the location of the hotel. Located in the center of the city, a few minutes from the lake and the old town, but still in a rather quiet place. I didn't hear any traffic or any other noise. Breakfast was simply remarkable, service very fast. Nice selection of food. There are many other places too it in the neighborhood as well.
My room was very nice, clean. The only thing needs to be repaired - the cupboard's door is very, very creaky. A few drops of oil will make a difference. I made a very nice experience and will return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection

Address: 18 - 20 rue du Cendrier, Geneva CH 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Sofitel Geneve)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Geneva
#7 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#22 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, ACCOR, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotary Hotel Geneva
Accor Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.