We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served differently than what the menu said” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Montreux Jazz Cafe

Montreux Jazz Cafe
oute de l'Aeroport 13, | Genève 15 Aéroport, Geneva 1215 , Switzerland
+41 22 817 46 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #614 of 1,226 Restaurants in Geneva
Restaurant details
Walt Disney World, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Served differently than what the menu said”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

When a menu indicates something, this is what you should get served, both in quality and content

Some dish components were missing and basics where not cooked right (precooked and served cold)

Dismal for a pkace that claims this level of prices

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best modern bistrot in the Geneva airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since I work just opposite the Geneva airport, I always go to have lunch here. The service is always good. The people are really friendly. And the foods are always excellent!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

really great themed restaurant with live music some evenings
really nice food with a good variety
even if you jut want a drink its a cool bar

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Great music- decent service- quality OK- quantity laughable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

As a Geneva local (and huge MJF fan) I always liked to drop in here for a bite or coffee as I wait for people arriving or grab a quick bite before catching a flight....but my last visit with colleagues was pretty pathetic.

First of all, the decor is starting to look worn out (and I noticed this last time I was here). Has Claude eaten there lately? This is seriously low budget and nasty to see holes in the seats...not cool.

Moving on to the food. One colleague went with the burger which looked decent and the other with a salad. In both cases the food was acceptable- so I guess two out of three is good!

I opted to go for the salmon tartare as a dish- not a starter but a dish- I kid you not, I got in some odd looking ice cream cup alot of guacamole and enough salmon to fit on a soup spoon. For 30.- a spoonful of salmon is insulting.

Then i noticed a funny taste. So I went to see the chef and the staff (and here's where it gets amusing)- THEY AGREED WITH ME on the portion size!!! I just returned the food and told them to forget it. So I had bread and water for lunch.

To the management- your staff cares about its customers. Your lack of investment in the infrastructure is hurting the image of the MJF and while a few of the dishes are acceptable, trying to screw customers with small portions and high prices is a great way to eventually go out of business.

I'll be back I'm sure one of these months. Looking forward to see if the manage can improve.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delivious, EVERYTIME.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I first tried the food here last month and was really impressed with the food quality and freshness. My colleagues also always rave about this restaurant and now I know why.

Today I ordered the Linguine aux Truffes from the Winter Menu and it was DECADENT!
The Crème Brulée a la Clementine was yummy too!

Service is friendly and word of advise if you're going for lunch, RESERVATION is recommended, otherwise you'd find yourself waiting!

I will go back again and again and again!

^_^

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montreux Jazz Cafe also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Cointrin, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Montreux Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreux Jazz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.